Volkswagen newsletter 2008-04-20

Central Europe Rally Volkswagen wins first stage of Central Europe Rally The Volkswagen duo Carlos Sainz/Michel Perin (E/F) in their Race Touareg won the first stage of the Central Europe Rally from Budapest (Hungary) to Baia Mare (Romania). On...

Central Europe Rally
Volkswagen wins first stage of Central Europe Rally

The Volkswagen duo Carlos Sainz/Michel Perin (E/F) in their Race Touareg won the first stage of the Central Europe Rally from Budapest (Hungary) to Baia Mare (Romania). On this special stage, which - despite its relatively short, 63-kilometre distance - put extreme demands on the drivers and the vehicle, the current FIA Cross-Country World Cup overall winners set the best time. Third place went to their Volkswagen team-mates Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz (RSA/D). The total tally after the first special stage shows four Race Touareg vehicles among the top six.

Formula 3 Euro Series
No break for the leader of the standings

The Formula 3 Euro Series doesn't permit itself a breather: although the world's most important junior racing series skipped the DTM weekend at Oschersleben, several teams met for tests in Nogaro, Southern France, at the beginning of the week. On the 3.636-kilometre Circuit Paul Armagnac, the Volkswagen Signature-Plus and RC Motorsport teams are among those testing on Monday and Tuesday, primarily focusing on suspension and aerodynamics settings. The next race is scheduled from 02 to 04 May at Mugello, Italy, where Volkswagen driver and leader of the standings Edoardo Mortara will contest his home race.

ADAC Volkswagen Polo Cup
Exploits for Alexander Rambow and Shane Williams at "home round"

Alexander Rambow and Shane Williams are the race winners of the two rounds of the ADAC Volkswagen Polo Cup at Oschersleben. With his first victory in the junior series, South African Williams took the lead in the standings, with Rambow following as the runner-up. In the rookie classification, the two races were won by Ignacio Espinosa (PE) and Jorg Schriek, respectively.

24-hour race Nurburgring 2008
Stuck and Sainz in the Volkswagen Scirocco on the Nordschleife

The two-time Le Mans winner Hans-Joachim Stuck and the two-time World Rally Champion Carlos Sainz are leading Volkswagen's drivers' lineup for the 24-hour race at the Nurburgring on 24/25 May. In addition, Giniel de Villiers and Dieter Depping from cross-country rally sport as well as Volkswagen Junior Jimmy Johansson and the seasoned touring car racers Florian Gruber, Thomas Mutsch and Francois Verbist are part of the squad. Other drivers of the factory-prepared and factory-fielded Volkswagen Scirocco cars are Dr Ulrich Hackenberg, Volkswagen member of the board for technical development, as well as journalists Bernd Ostmann (auto motor und sport) and Matthias Malmedie (Grip - das Motormagazin).

Porsche Carrera Cup
Rast in third place of the standings

After the season's second round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Volkswagen Junior Rene Rast ranks in third place overall. The 21-year-old from Steyerberg (Germany), champion of the 2005 ADAC Volkswagen Polo Cup, on the narrow Oschersleben circuit improved from eighth place on the grid to finish the race in sixth place.

SEAT Leon Supercopa
Podium place for Jimmy Johansson

On the second race weekend of the SEAT Leon Supercopa Volkswagen Junior Jimmy Johansson captured a podium position yet again. The Swede, who won the Volkswagen Polo Cup title in 2006, took third place in the first race at Oschersleben. 19-year-old Constantin Dressler, another protege of Volkswagen Motorsport, collected five important championship points by finishing the races in eighth and fifth place, respectively.

Coming up next...

20-26 April
Central Europe Rally (H/RO) with finish in Balatonfured

21-22 April
Formula 3 Euro Series tests at Nogaro (F) with the Volkswagen Signature and RC Motorsport teams

22-23 April
ADAC Formula Masters training course at Oschersleben (D)

26 April
2nd round of the Polo Cup South Africa at Aldo Scribante (RSA)

27 April
1st round of the ATS Formula 3 Cup at Hockenheim (D)

27 April
1st round of the Jetta TDI Cup in Virginia (USA)

27 April
3rd round of the Formula Volkswagen South Africa at Aldo Scribante (RSA)


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar , F3 Europe , Porsche
Drivers Hans-Joachim Stuck , Carlos Sainz , Dieter Depping , Giniel de Villiers , Jimmy Johansson , Michel Périn , Francois Verbist , René Rast , Florian Gruber , Ulrich Hackenberg , Edoardo Mortara , Thomas Mutsch , Bernd Ostmann , Matthias Malmedie
Teams Williams , Volkswagen Motorsport