Peru to return to 2018 Dakar programme

The 2018 Dakar Rally will start in Peru and finish in Argentina through Bolivia, it has been announced.

Peru hosted the opening ceremony of the 2013 Dakar Rally, but has been absent from the programme ever since.

The country's government announced it wanted Peru to return to the route soon after the finish of the 2017 rally.

The 2018 route will kick off in the city's capital Lima, and will run through the Andes towards Bolivia.

The rally will run on multiple sides of the famous Lake Titicaca, which is on the border of the two countries, and then approach La Paz, the Bolivian capital.

The rally will eventually conclude in Cordoba, Argentina.

"The 40th edition of the rally will unleash its creativity with the wide range of landscapes on the menu next January," said Dakar director Etienne Lavigne.

"After skimming the waters of the Pacific and a sand-packed start to the race, competitors will tackle an Andean trilogy with a different flavour.

"The Bolivian section of the rally will tackle multiple sides of Lake Titicaca, followed by a rest day in La Paz and a rather different trek through the Altiplano.

"The in-line course will let the 2018 Dakar come into its own in the third part of the rally, where the vast and varied terrain of Argentina will set the scene for the race.

"Many competitors already see Cordoba as the daunting peak they need to crown. The Dakar podium is another one which fits in perfectly."

The 2018 Dakar Rally will consist of 14 stages and will be held on 6-20 January.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Article type Breaking news