Marc Coma stage 5 report

Stage 5. Marc Coma continues overall leader

After a very complicated stage, in which the AMV suffered a crash in the KM 80, the pilot has completed the same quite pleased. He lost more than 15 minutes, the radiator of his KTM was bloodied, but in the end the AMV rider learned to reverse the situation.

The fifth stage of the Dakar rally, which connected the cities of Calama and Iquique, has seen the pilot Portuguese Goncalves (BMW) is a relatively easy win. Behind, the Chilean pilot "Chaleco" Lopez and Frans Verheoven (BMW) completed the second and third positions respectively.

In turn, Marc Coma, fourth, suffered a crash in Km 80 of the special, which made the Catalan lost more than nine minutes with the head of the race. Later, Coma was forced to stop, about ten kms later, to make some adjustments to his bike's radiator, which was battered after the fall.

Later, this time to aid Olivier Pain (Yamaha), which had to be evacuated by helicopter after suffering a crash, made the Catalan go down again on his KTM. The organization, at the end of stage they "returned" as long as the pilot AMV had "lost" after the relief of the French driver. For its part, Cyril Despres (KTM) received a penalty of 10 minutes to skip a WP for the stage of yesterday with leaving the rider Marc Coma front overall.

MARC COMA Pilot AMV: "What stage! We passed around. First, a crash in Km 80, then had to stop again in order to solve a problem with the radiator of my KTM, which had been battered after the crash. Then I stopped when I saw the Oliver Pain accident, which was evacuated by helicopter. However, we lost some time but the organization has "returned" the minutes related to the support we have provided to Oliver. Yet we should be satisfied with the final result because the stage was very complicated. Tomorrow, we expect dunes, navigation and "fesh-fesh, so we are facing another difficult day and hopefully we can widen the gap."

-source: dakar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Drivers Cyril Despres , Marc Coma , Olivier Pain