Dakar Cars, Stage 8: Al-Attiyah ends Peugeot's victory run as Loeb rolls

Nasser Al-Attiyah ended Peugeot's winning streak in Monday's eighth stage of the Dakar Rally, as Sebastien Loeb rolled.

Reigning champion Al-Attiyah beat Carlos Sainz to victory by just 12 seconds and new leader Stephane Peterhansel by 31 after 6.5 hours of driving.

The stage ran entirely on Argentinean turf - from Salta to Belen - for a total of 767km, 394 of those timed.

Al-Attiyah reached the first control point quickest than anyone, opening a gap of over a minute over Loeb before the cars reached the mid-stage neutralisation point.

Peterhansel, meanwhile, lost over six minutes after suffering a puncture early on.

By CP3, however, Sainz managed to gain on Al-Attiyah and checked in just 15 seconds behind the Qatari, with Peterhansel slightly over two minutes slower as he chased to recover lost time.

Sainz had led by nearly a minute near the end of the stage, but Al-Attiyah fought back to reclaim the top spot and secure his first win of the 2016 edition in the Mini.

Loeb, meanwhile, appeared to lose all his chances of fighting for victory after rolling his Peugeot 510km into the stage.

The French manufacturer reported both Loeb and co-pilot Daniel Elena - who had already hit trouble when they got stuck in a dune before the roll - were okay, but it is unknown if they were able to continue. 

At the time of writing, the Frenchman was waiting for assistance to reach the end of the stage.

The accident means Peterhansel is back in the lead of the rally, 2m09s ahead of Sainz and 14m43s ahead of Al-Attiyah.

Peugeot's Cyril Despres finishes the day in fourth, 4m40s behind the Mini, while Mikko Hirvonen rounded out the top five.

The ex-WRC driver moves up to fourth in the standings, although he is over 36 minutes off the lead.

Spaniard Nani Roma reached the finish in sixth in the Mini, ahead of Orlando Terranova and Toyota's Leeroy Poulter and Yazeed Al-Rajhi.

UPDATE: Despite their Peugeot 2008DKR16 sustaining massive damage in the roll, Loeb and Elena have managed to get the car repaired - and crawled to the end of the stage, dropping down to eighth in the overall standings.

Standings after Stage 8:



1 302

Stephane Peterhansel
Jean-Paul Cottret


2 303

Carlos Sainz

Lucas Cruz


3 300

Nasser Al-Attiyah

Matthieu Baumel


4 315

Mikko Hirvonen

Michel Perin


5 319

Leeroy Poulter

Robert Howie


6 305

Yazeed Al-Rajhi

Timo Gottschalk


7 301

Giniel de Villiers

Dirk von Zitzewitz


8 314

Sebastien Loeb

Daniel Elena


9 307

Vladimir Vasilyev

Konstantin Zhiltsov


10 304

Nani Roma

Alex Haro


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Event Dakar 2016
Article type Stage report