Dakar 2018, Stage 6: Sainz quickest ahead of rest day

Peugeot driver Carlos Sainz won the Arequipa – La Paz stage of the 2018 Dakar marathon, as the rally held its final test before the mid-event rest day.

Sainz beat teammate and rally leader Stephane Peterhansel by four minutes and six seconds to pick up his first stage win in this year's Dakar.

Taking place at altitude of around 4000 metres above sea level, the marathon's sixth stage marked the end of the opening leg in Peru, with competition moving on to the Bolivian Altiplano.

The timed part of the stage was 313km long and split into two sections, separated by a 238km neutralised zone.

Sainz arrived to the end of the first, 118km-long run with a two-minute lead, having topped the timing sheets at all three waypoints along the way.

He continued to set the pace after the road section, and more than doubled his lead by the time he arrived at the finish line.

Watch video highlights...

Settling for runner-up in the test, 13-time Dakar champion Peterhansel will head into the La Paz rest day with a 27-minute advantage over Sainz.

The rest of the chasing pack continues to be led by Toyota's Bernhard ten Brinke, despite the Dutchman losing time through the stage against his Dakar-winning squadmates Nasser Al-Attiyah and Giniel de Villiers.

Ten Brinke's deficit to Peterhansel in the general classification has increased to 1h21m, with Al-Attiyah a further four minutes down and de Villiers slotting in fifth, 11 minutes behind the Qatari.

Villagra makes inroads

Iveco's Federico Villagra recorded his second stage win in the truck category, taking five minutes and a half out of Kamaz's overall leader Eduard Nikolaev.

Villagra trailed Martin Macik after the first segment of the stage, but picked up the pace to finish almost three minutes clear of his nearest rival, Martin Kolomy.

Reigning champion Nikolaev will thus take a 53-minute lead over Villagra into the rest day, while the Argentine himself is over an hour and a half ahead of third-placed Siarhei Viazovich.

Standings after Stage 6 (Car class, top 10):

Pos. Driver / Co-driver Car Time/Gap

 Stephane Peterhansel

 Jean-Paul Cottret

Peugeot 16h25m2s

 Carlos Sainz

 Lucas Cruz

Peugeot +27m10s

 Bernhard ten Brinke

 Michel Perin

Toyota +1h20m41s

 Nasser Al-Attiyah

 Mathieu Baumel

Toyota +1h24m20s

 Giniel de Villiers

 Dirk von Zitzewitz

Toyota +1h35m59s

Jakub Przygonski

Tom Colsoul

Mini +2h25m16s

Martin Prokop

Jan Tomanek

Ford +2h25m52s

 Khalid Al Qassimi

 Xavier Panseri
Peugeot +2h29m6s

Eugenio Amos

Sebastien Delaunay

2WD +2h30m58s

 Patrick Sireyjol

 Francois-Xavier Beguin

Cummins +3h25m35s


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Event Dakar
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Stéphane Peterhansel
Teams Peugeot Sport
Article type Stage report