DAKAR 2015: 13 stages, 14 days of racing!

For the first time, whilst the competitors in some categories will be resting, the others will continue racing…

12 cities in Argentina, Chile(*) and Bolivia will play host to the 13 stages of the Dakar 2015 next January, for 14 days of sport in total. For the first time, whilst the competitors in some categories will be resting, the others will continue racing…

The Dakar organisers have devoted their week to a first preparatory tour of South America, with the main aim of announcing the host cities on the programme for the 2015 edition of the rally. A meeting with the Argentinean press was held at the Palacio San Martin in Buenos Aires.

Challenge in DAKAR 2014
Challenge in DAKAR 2014

Photo by: X-Raid Team

They were able to meet around thirty riders and drivers from the country, including the flag-bearer Orlando Terranova, 5th on the last two editions of the Dakar in the car category. The competitors discovered that they will be returning to Rosario, which hosted the start of the Dakar in 2014, immediately before they reach Buenos Aires for the rally’s finish, where they will be acclaimed by the public during a podium ceremony organised in front of the presidential palace, the Casa Rosada.

Next January, the Dakar will also return to Chile, where the presentation conference was cancelled due to an earthquake that affected the region of Iquique, causing human tragedy and material damage, in particular to roads. The Chilean part of the route, which should normally include the cities of Copiapo, Antofagasta, Iquique and Calama, is therefore subject to confirmation, as explained by Etienne Lavigne on conclusion of a meeting with the Chilean authorities: “Naturally, we are adapting to the difficulties that the Chileans are going through at present. They have many problems to deal with and they will then need to assess the precise impact these earthquakes have had before confirming that our project can go ahead”.

At first glance, the Dakar should be able to proceed, and so will the “Iquique festival” that has been planned, since the bivouac will normally be set up the for three days, including two devoted to rest days, in alternation depending on the category. In such a format, Iquique will be directly linked to Bolivia and Uyuni, which will this time welcome the quads and bikes, before the cars and the trucks. During the press conference organised today in La Paz, President Evo Morales expressed his delight at the extension of the Dakar’s stay in Bolivia, the rally having already met with country-wide enthusiasm on its first visit.

The stages of the Dakar 2015:

4/01: Buenos Aires - Villa Carlos Paz

5/01: Villa Carlos Paz - San Juan

6/01: San Juan - Chilecito

7/01: Chilecito - Copiapo (*)

8/01: Copiapo - Antofagasta (*)

9/01: Antofagasta - Iquique (*)

10/01: Rest (cars/trucks); Iquique - Uyuni (bikes-quads)

11/01: Iquique - Uyuni (cars/trucks); Uyuni - Iquique (bikes-quads)

12/01: Rest (bikes-quads); Uyuni - Iquique (cars-trucks)

13/01: Iquique - Calama (*)

14/01: Calama - Salta

15/01: Salta - Termas de Rio Hondo

16/01: Termas de Rio Hondo - Rosario

17/01: Rosario – Buenos Aires

(*) Pending confirmation by the Chilean authorities.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Drivers Orlando Terranova
Article type Breaking news
Tags antofagasta, buenos aires, chilecito, copiapo, dakar, iquique, rest, rosario, salta, san juan, termas de rio hondo, uyuni, villa carlos paz