Barreda fights back with day win number three

Joan Barreda goal is to catch overall leader Marc Coma and make up those 41 minutes that separate him from his fellow countryman.

Today´s stage seven after the rest day was characterized by rain during the night and a new Dakar country - Bolivia. After an early start at 4:30 in the morning, the first 100 km of the special stage into Bolivia had to be shortened due to rain and poor visibility.

#3 Honda: Joan Barreda
#3 Honda: Joan Barreda

Photo by: A.S.O.

No problem for Joan Barreda, who enjoyed a furious beginning of the second race week. The Spaniard´s goal is to catch overall leader Marc Coma and make up those 41 minutes that separate him from his fellow countryman.

Barreda did a perfect job, passing Marc Coma during the technical first part of the stage and clawing back four minutes and three seconds. Today marks the second marathon stage so no team assistance and external service is allowed. Barreda has to check his bike all by himself tonight, as also his team mate Paulo Goncalves is not in the race anymore to assist him. The riders will stay overnight in Uyuni, at an altitude of over 3,000 metres.

Joan Barreda: "It was a good day today, I could push and gain some minutes back from Marc Coma. It was not so easy, some tricky sections with mud from last night´s rain. I am happy to be able to attack and I am confident for the coming stages."

Provisional result - Dakar 2014, Stage 7:

1. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) 03:28:41 hrs
2. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:04:03
3. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +00:05:35
4. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP, Sherco) +00:06:57
5. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:08:56
6. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHL, Speedbrain) +00:10:04
7. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +00:10:57
8. Mario Patrao (PRT, Suzuki) +00:11:27
9. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +00:11:37
10. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +00:11:57
14. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +00:14:40
20. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +00:18:46
27. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain) +00:26:14

Provisional overall standings:

1. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) 26:40:44 hrs
2. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) +00:38:14
3. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +01:16:03
4. Alain Duclos (FRA, Sherco) +01:16:35
5. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHL, Speedbrain) +01:39:29
6. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +01:50:42
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +01:54:52
8. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +02:08:18
9. David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +02:23:50
10. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +02:26:13
16. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +03:49:05
23. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain) +05:58:29
26. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +06:06:48


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Dakar
Drivers Cyril Despres , Marc Coma , Alain Duclos , David Casteu , Jordi Viladoms , Paulo Goncalves , Helder Rodrigues , Pedro Oliveira , Jakub Przygonski , Olivier Pain , Juan Pedrero Garcia , Paolo Ceci , Joan Barreda , Jeremias Israel
Article type Stage report
Tags barreda, coma, dakar