Shannonville: Series race report

SZOKE, MCCORMICK WIN BIG AT SMP SHANNONVILLE, Ont. (August 31) -- Brett McCormick scored his first career professional race win while teammate Jordan Szoke locked up his third consecutive Parts Canada Superbike Championship in the final round of...


SHANNONVILLE, Ont. (August 31) -- Brett McCormick scored his first career professional race win while teammate Jordan Szoke locked up his third consecutive Parts Canada Superbike Championship in the final round of the season at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Sunday.

Riding his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R, Szoke scored a sixth place finish in the 20-lap race, presented by Buell American Motorcycles, on Shannonville's 2.45km (1.53-mile) 'Pro Track.' He ended the season with 317 points to the 277 of Clint McBain, who finished fourth on Sunday.

"It was a boring race for me and not the way I want to do it," said Szoke, who now has five Canadian Superbike titles. "But we got the championship and that was the most important thing.

"I want to leave my mark on racing and leave my mark as a guy who won a lot of championships and a lot of races. Winning three in a row is phenomenal."

The 17-year-old McCormick survived a great battle with Kevin Lacombe to win the race. The Saskatoon rider took his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R past the Team Toyota Yamaha / Fast Company Yamaha YZF-R1 in the hairpin two laps from the end and held on to win by 0.113 seconds.

"It was an unbelievable race," said McCormick, who started from pole position and led off the start. "To get my first win in a battle like that is really something. Hopefully I can do more of this next year."

Calgary's Chris Peris completed the podium on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot / Picotte Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000, finishing 4.692 secs. behind McCormick.

McCormick and Lacombe each led 10 laps. The Yamaha rider got around McCormick in the hairpin on lap nine and stayed in front until the teenager managed to repay the favor.

"Brett stuffed me under braking for the hairpin, just like I did to him," said Lacombe, who was riding with a broken wrist he had suffered at the previous round at Atlantic Motorsport Park in Shubenacadie, N.S. "I just didn't have enough time to come back. But to come here, be able to lead the race and almost win is pretty good."

Lacombe finishes the season third in the Superbike standings with 250 points.

Peris initially broke away with McCormick and Lacombe but faded in the second half of the race with tire trouble.

McBain came into the weekend as the only rider with a shot at catching Szoke in the Superbike title chase, but the Cochrane, Alta. rider suffered a setback when he crashed his Acceleration Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000 in Saturday's Pirelli SuperPole qualifying session and had to start from 10th on the grid in Sunday's race.

He then had to recover from a jump start penalty to work his way up to fourth at the finish.

Maple Ridge, B.C.'s Steve Crevier finished fifth on the Deeley Harley- Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R after running as high as fourth.

Former two-time Canadian Superbike champion Michael Taylor was seventh on his series return aboard a ProStar Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000.

The Canadian Kawasaki Motors team picked up the Inside Motorcycles Team of the Year Award.

Despite having already clinched his third straight Yoshimura Pro 600 Sport Bike title, Szoke scored his third win of the year on his Kawasaki ZX- 6R. He took the lead from the Yamaha of Lacombe on lap 6 of 18 and held off his teammate McCormick by 0.211 seconds. McCormick grabbed second from Lacombe on the final lap.

Alex Welsh of Uxbridge, Ont. finished seventh in the Pro 600 Sport Bike race on his Z1 Cycletech Triumph 675 and narrowly captured the HJC Pro Rookie of the Year Award over Truro, N.S.'s Brian Blaauwendraat, who was 10th on his T.R. Petroleum Enterprises / Lougheed's Heating Oils Honda CBR600RR.

Three other national titles were settled at Shannonville. In the Armour Bodies Amateur 600 Sport Bike class, Keene, Ont.'s Jodi Christie survived a fall two laps from the end to clinch the title by two points over Calgary's Patrick Marques. Christie recovered from his tumble to cross the line 17th on his Yamaha YZF-R6 while Marques picked up the race win on his Suzuki GSX-R600.

Montreal's Martin Grande finished second in Sunday's race and Yvan Carrier of Plessisville, Que. completed the podium, both on Suzuki GSX-R600s.

Sean Huffman of Kemptville, Ont. climbed from 12th on the grid to fourth by the finish and picked up the Performance Under Gear Performer of the Race Award.

Valter Bartolini clinched the Canadian Thunder title with the win on Sunday aboard his NCR-Ducati 848. His teammate Andrew Nelson of Kars, Ont., the only rider who could beat him to the title, finished second just 0.120 seconds behind, with New Smyrna Beach, Fla.'s Dave Estok third on a Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R.

Newly-crowned Canadian Sport Twins champion Jim Proulx of Ottawa claimed the race win in that class on his Buell XB12R, and his 5.8-sec. margin of victory earned him the Tirox Big Won Award for the fifth time this season.

Cody Matechuk of Cochrane, Alta. survived a jump start penalty to win the Suzuki SV650 National Cup race at Shannonville and clinch the series title over Burlington, Ont.'s John Jarvie, who finished third in the race behind Rob Busby of Brantford, Ont.

Raphael Archambault of St-Colomban, Que. completed a perfect season in the Honda CBR125R Challenge with his fifth victory in five races this year.

This weekend's action will be televised in two shows later this year on TSN HD and TSN. The first episode premiers Tuesday, Oct. 21 at 1:00 p.m. and repeats on Saturday, Oct. 25 at 4:00 a.m. The second show debuts Tuesday, Oct. 28 at 1:00 p.m. and repeats on Saturday, Nov. 1 at 4:00 a.m. All times are Eastern.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Andrew Nelson , Chris Peris , Clint McBain , Kevin Lacombe , Steve Crevier , Brett McCormick