Shannonville: Series qualifying report

MCCORMICK TAKES TWO IN A ROW SHANNONVILLE, Ont. (August 30) -- Saskatoon's Brett McCormick claimed his second straight Inside Motorcycles Pole Position Award of the season during qualifying for the final round of the Parts Canada Superbike ...


SHANNONVILLE, Ont. (August 30) -- Saskatoon's Brett McCormick claimed his second straight Inside Motorcycles Pole Position Award of the season during qualifying for the final round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship, presented by Buell American Motorcycles, at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Saturday.

Meanwhile, his teammate Jordan Szoke of Brantford, Ont. took a major step toward clinching his third straight national title by setting the second best time of the day.

Riding his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R, the 17-year-old McCormick toured the 2.45km (1.53-mile) Shannonville 'Pro Track' in one minute, 4.656 seconds during the Pirelli SuperPole qualifying session.

Szoke was second fastest with a time of 1:04.741 on another Kawasaki ZX-10R and Mississauga, Ont.'s Matt McBride placed third with a 1:04.950 on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot / Picotte Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000.

"It was a pretty good lap," said McCormick, who claimed his first career pole at the previous round of the series at Atlantic Motorsport Park. "I had a little wheelie coming onto the front straight that probably cost me some time, but I've still got to be happy. We'll fine tune things a little bit more for the race tomorrow. If I can get the holeshot at the start of the race I think I have a good shot at the win."

In addition to the $500 Inside Motorcycles Pole Position Award McCormick earned four Superbike championship points.

Parts Canada Superbike Championship leader Szoke picked up three more points in his bid to wrap up a third straight series crown on Sunday. The only rider who can catch him in the standings, Cochrane, Alta.'s Clint McBain crashed his Acceleration Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000 on his Pirelli SuperPole lap and failed to add to his total.

Szoke enters Sunday's race with 290 points to the 245 of McBain, with a race win worth 50 points and a two-point bonus available to the rider who leads the most laps.

"I'm a little disappointed because I had such an awesome lap going," said Szoke. "Going into the Esses I tried to let it roll a little more and got way off line, and that messed things up all the way down to Allan's Corner."

McBain, who was fastest in Saturday morning's prequalifying session, will start 10th on the grid in Sunday's race after he went down in the Esses.

"I can only assume I lost the front end," said McBain, whose bike was written off in the crash. "But I've had such great feel with the front end all weekend, and I didn't feel anything. I braked earlier off the end of the backstraight and I wasn't trying to go at a break-neck pace. I think it would have been a pretty good lap."

McBain needs to win Sunday's race and hope Szoke finishes lower than 16th to take the Superbike title.

"This isn't going to deter me," McBain said. "I've still got to do the same thing tomorrow and get a good start and get to the front."

Granby, Que.'s Kevin Lacombe completes the front row for Sunday's race after setting a 1:05.164 on his Team Toyota Yamaha / Fast Company Racing Yamaha YZF-R1.

Team Suzuki / Blackfoot / Picotte Racing teammates Chris Peris and Francis Martin will sandwich the Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R of Steve Crevier on the second row of Sunday's Superbike grid. Calgary's Peris turned a time of 1:05.387 on his GSX-R1000 while Crevier, from Maple Ridge, B.C., managed a 1:05.509 and Sherbrooke, Que.'s Martin clocked a 1:05.719 in SuperPole.

Toronto's Michael Taylor, making his first appearance of the season on the ProStar Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000, qualified eighth at Shannonville, just ahead of Granby, Que. rider Karl Daigle on the Perusse Kawasaki ZX-6R.

In other action, Andrew Nelson set a new lap record in the Yoshimura Pro 600 Sport Bike class with a time of 1:05.020 on his Nelson Racing Yamaha YZF-R6.

The Kars, Ont. rider qualified over half a second clear of Peris, who placed second with a time of 1:05.577 on his Suzuki GSX-R600. Lacombe just squeaked under the previous lap record of 1:05.637 set by Crevier last year with a time of 1:05.633 on his Yamaha YZF-R6 as did Szoke, who recorded a 1:05.636 on his Kawasaki ZX-6R. Szoke has already clinched the 2008 title.

Nelson also took pole in the Canadian Thunder class with a track record 1:06.424 on his NCR-Ducati 848 and gained a point on teammate Valter Bartolini of Bologna, Italy, who was second fastest at 1:06.804.

Bartolini now leads Nelson by 46 points, 259-213 heading into Sunday's race.

Olivier Spilborghs of Langley, B.C. qualified fastest in the Canadian Sport Twins class on his Buell XB12R with a time of 1:10.885.

Points leader Jodi Christie claimed pole position for the Armour Bodies Amateur 600 Sport Bike race with a track record time of 1:07.493 on his Yamaha YZF-R6. The Keene, Ont. rider takes a 44-point lead, 254-210 over Calgary's Patrick Marques into Sunday's race. Marques qualified his Suzuki GSX-R600 second with a time of 1:08.096.

Cochrane, Alta.'s Cody Matechuk moved into a tie with John Jarvie of Burlington, Ont. for the lead of the Suzuki SV650 National Cup standings at Shannonville. Matechuk qualified fastest at a track record time of 1:10.083 while Jarvie, a native of New Zealand, placed third with a 1:11.407. Matechuk and Jarvie go into Sunday's race even at 283 points.

Lee Kuhn Jr. of Hamilton, Ont. will start from pole in Sunday's Honda CBR125R Challenge race after turning a lap at 1:08.201 on the shorter 'Nelson Track.'

Feature races in all national classes are set for Sunday. Practice begins at 8:45 a.m. with the first race set to get the green at 11:35 a.m.

This weekend's action will be televised in two shows later this year on TSN HD and TSN. The first episode premiers Tuesday, Oct. 21 at 1:00 p.m. and repeats on Saturday, Oct. 25 at 4:00 a.m. The second show debuts Tuesday, Oct. 28 at 1:00 p.m. and repeats on Saturday, Nov. 1 at 4:00 a.m. All times are Eastern.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Andrew Nelson , Chris Peris , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Brett McCormick