Shannonville II: Saturday summary

MCCORMICK TOP AMATEUR SHANNONVILLE, ON -- Brett McCormick kept the pressure on points leader Karl Daigle by qualifying on pole for the final round of the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike Championship at ...


SHANNONVILLE, ON -- Brett McCormick kept the pressure on points leader Karl Daigle by qualifying on pole for the final round of the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Saturday.

The 15-year-old from Saskatoon took his Ruthless Racing Yamaha YZF- R6 around the 2.45km 'Pro' track in one minute, 7.931 seconds to earn four more points in the championship standings. The season concludes with Sunday afternoon's 14-lap race.

McCormick's time broke the 'Pro' circuit class record of 1:08.630 set by Eric Warren in 2004.

"Yesterday we got a really good set-up," said McCormick, the winner of three of the five series races this season. "This afternoon we may try to fine tune the set-up, but generally we're going to keep it the same."

Daigle was second fastest at 1:08.766 on his Armour Bodies Honda CBR600RR and picked up three championship points. The Granby, QC ace enters Sunday's race with a 24-point edge on McCormick in the standings, 215-191. He must finish in the top six in the race to be assured of the Amateur 600 title.

"It all depends on the weather tomorrow," said McCormick of his championship chances. "If it's wet tomorrow anything can happen. It's not out of the question, but Karl's a good rider."

Hamilton's Ross Millson qualified fourth riding the Turn 2 Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 and increased his point total to 188. Dany Jourdain of St- Jean Richelieu, QC also has a shot at the class championship after qualifying his Jourdain Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 third, giving him 171 points.

Practice sessions were held Saturday for the remaining four national classes, which all staged their qualifying on Friday. Defending champion Francis Martin of Rock Forest, QC paced the headline Parts Canada Superbike Championship class with a time of 1:05.217 on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000. Chardon, OH's Tom Kipp placed second riding the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R at 1:05.654 and Clint McBain of Cochrane, AB was third with a 1:05.704 on another Team Suzuki / Blackfoot Suzuki.

Mississauga, ON's Matt McBride, who earned the Vicious-I Pole Position Award in qualifying Friday, was fourth in Saturday practice at 1:05.743 on the Riders Choice Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Series points leader Jordan Szoke of Brantford, ON did not practice on Saturday. He will start seventh in Sunday's race on his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R.

Andrew Nelson of Kars, ON was fastest in practice for the Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike Championship with a time of 1:06.442 on the Z1 Cycletech Yamaha YZF-R6.

Pole qualifier Paul Penzo led practice for the Thunder class with a 1:09.463 on his Ducati PS 1000 LE, and championship leader Paul Glenn of Keene, ON was fastest in Suzuki SV650 National Cup practice with a time of 1:12.117.

Fast times were all set in the morning as rain spoiled the afternoon's sessions.

Races in all five national classes are set for Sunday. Practice begins at 8:30 a.m. with the first race set to go at 12:15 p.m.

Starting line-up for Sunday's final round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park, showing starting position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and qualifying time:

1.Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:04.900; 2. Pascal Picotte, St-Cecile Milton, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:05.084; 3. Clint McBain, Cochrane, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:05.166; 4. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:05.294; 5. Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX- R1000, 1:05.300; 6. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:05.440; 7. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:05.487; 8. Tom Kipp, Chardon, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:06.055; 9. Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:06.820; 10. Erick Beausejour, Val Senneville, QC, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:07.296 11. Stephane Chabot, Oshawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:07.315; 12. Jean Paul Tache, North Bay, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:07.504; 13. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:07.550; 14. Sean Heydorn, Aurora, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 1:08.125; 15. Larry Orde, Lakefield, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:08.245; 16. Jeremy Burgess, Hammonds Plains, NS, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:08.590; 17. Matthew Bushe, Castleton, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:08.679; 18. Yoshihiro Hamaguchi, Yokkaichi-shi, Japan, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:08.946; 19. Todd Scott, Bedford, NS, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:09.437; 20. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:09.554 21. Laurent Feuiltault, Mississauga, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:09.746; 22. Jesse Sherstan, Stoney Plain, AB, Honda CBR600RR, 1:10.901; 23. Nicolas Audet, St-Henri, QC, Honda CBR600RR, 1:11.311; 24. Sylvain Grenier, Lasalle, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:14.418

-credit: cdnsbk

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Tom Kipp , Andrew Nelson , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Frank Trombino , Jesse Sherstan , Brett McCormick , Larry Orde
Teams Williams