Shannonville II: Qualifying summary

SHANNONVILLE, ON Granby, QC's Pascal Picotte continued his mastery of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park Saturday. The 2004 series champion dominated qualifying on his Team Yamaha / Picotte Performance...

SHANNONVILLE, ON Granby, QC's Pascal Picotte continued his mastery of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park Saturday.

The 2004 series champion dominated qualifying on his Team Yamaha / Picotte Performance Yamaha YZF-R1 to claim his fifth MPM Array Pole Award of the season.

Picotte shattered his own track record in the 45-minute session with a time of 1:42.820. The old mark, which he set last year was 1:44.079.

"The bike was handling perfectly and we haven't had to make a lot of changes, so it's easy to stay ahead of the game," said Picotte, who clinched his second straight Parts Canada Superbike crown two weeks ago at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. "I tried to get the time done as soon as possible and then wait to see if anyone could beat it."

No one else was able to get within a second of Picotte in qualifying. Maple Ridge, BC's Steve Crevier placed second on his DXS Diablo Racing Team Suzuki GSX-R1000 with a time of 1:44.126 and Frank Trombino of Kleinburg, ON qualified third at 1:44.236 aboard the Brooklin Cycle Yamaha YZF-R1.

Calgary's Clint McBain completes the front row for Sunday's 14-lap race after recording a lap of 1:44.389 on the Coors Light Racing / Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Less than a second separated second place Crevier from seventh fastest qualifier Kevin Lacombe in the session.

In other action at Shannonville, there was no change at the top of the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike Championship standings as none of the main title contenders earned points Saturday. Guelph, ON's Tyler Kennedy was fastest at a record 1:49.756 on his Honda CBR600RR.

Darren James goes into Sunday's race leading Rudy Raposo by four points in the standings and is 14 ahead of Dominic Lavoie. Levis, QC's Lavoie qualified fifth fastest on his Kawasaki ZX-6RR. Raposo, from Mississauga, ON was eighth and North Vancouver's James placed 12th. Both Raposo and James are aboard Yamahas.

Class champion Picotte also qualified on pole for the Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike national support class with a record time of 1:44.770 on his Yamaha YZF-R6. Crevier was second at 1:45.990 aboard his Suzuki GSX-R600 and Matt McBride of Mississauga, ON placed third at 1:46.241 riding the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-6RR.

Feature races in all three national classes will run Sunday afternoon. Practice opens at 8:30 a.m. with the first race set to go at 12:45 p.m.

This weekend's event will be televised on TSN on Saturday, Oct. 23 at 2:00 p.m. EDT and on Quebec's RDS on Sunday, Oct. 31 at 2:30 p.m. Action from Shannonville will also air later this fall on Toronto1 and A-Channel stations in Winnipeg, Calgary and Edmonton.

Starting line-up for Sunday's eighth and final round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park, showing starting position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and qualifying time:

1.Pascal Picotte, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:42.820; 2. Steve Crevier, Maple Ridge, BC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:44.126; 3. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:44.236; 4. Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:44.389; 5. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:44.886; 6. Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:44.937; 7. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:44.993; 8. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:45.195; 9. Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:45.927; 10. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:46.511; 11. Michael Taylor, Toronto, ON, Ducati 999S, 1:46.553; 12. Jean-Francois Cyr, St-Lin Laurentides, QC, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:46.647; 13. Hugo Brisson, St-Sauveur, QC, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:48.315; 14. Stuart Nodell, Ajax, ON, Kawasaki ZX-6R, 1:48.721; 15. Dave Young, Woodstock, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:48.773; 16. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:49.358; 17. Brent Strong, Mississauga, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:49.408; 18. Derek Vammus, Orangeville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:49.474; 19. Bill Card, Wellesley, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 1:49.874; 20. Larry Orde, Peterborough, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:49.987; 21. Michael Leon, Beaconsfield, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:50.161; 22. Barry French, Brampton, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:50.538; 23. Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:52.014; 24. Dean Plater, Ottawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:52.510; 25. Yannick Morin, Repentigny, QC, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 1:53.232; 26. Paul Penzo, Toronto, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, No Time


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Michael Leon , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Hugo Brisson , Steve Crevier , Bill Card , Frank Trombino , Darren James , Larry Orde
Teams Williams