Race City: Qualifying summary

MCBAIN TAKES SUPERBIKE POLE CALGARY, AB Local ace Clint McBain dominated qualifying for the Parts Canada Superbike doubleheader at Race City Motorsport Park on Friday. Riding his Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000, McBain set a fastest lap of one ...


CALGARY, AB Local ace Clint McBain dominated qualifying for the Parts Canada Superbike doubleheader at Race City Motorsport Park on Friday.

Riding his Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000, McBain set a fastest lap of one minute, 16.534 seconds around the 3.2km (2.0-mile) track to earn pole position for both Superbike feature races this weekend. His nearest challenger was almost three-quarters of a second behind.

The first 18-lap race will go Saturday afternoon, with the second on Sunday.

McBain's performance gives him four points toward the Parts Canada Superbike series title and the $500 MPM Array Pole Award.

"That wasn't supposed to be my quickest time," said McBain, who came close to toppling Pascal Picotte's lap record of 1:16.508 set last year. "I think there was more to be had. I would not have been happy with second, and I won't be happy with second tomorrow."

Despite nursing a separated shoulder suffered four weeks ago Steve Crevier of Maple Ridge, BC qualified second with a time of 1:17.214 on the Diablo Performance Honda CBR1000RR. Brantford, ON's Jordan Szoke qualified third at 1:17.233 on the Fast Company Honda CBR1000RR.

McBain's Blackfoot Suzuki teammate Kevin Lacombe of Granby will complete the front row for both Parts Canada Superbike features after setting a time of 1:17.284.

McBain led the hour-long session virtually from the start. He set his fastest time just 20 minutes in, which at the time placed him almost 1.5 seconds ahead of his closest challenger.

Chardon, OH's Tom Kipp will lead off the second row in both Superbike features after setting the fifth fastest time on Friday, a 1:17.544 on the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R.

Despite a heavy crash late in the session, Kleinburg, ON's Frank Trombino set the sixth fastest time of 1:17.688 on his Trombino Yamaha Racing Yamaha YZF-R1.

Parts Canada Superbike Championship points leader Francis Martin will start seventh after recording a best time of 1:17.849 on the Snobgirls / Laval Moto Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Two-time defending series champion Pascal Picotte, who swept both races here last year, qualified eighth with a time of 1:18.085 on the Picotte Performance Yamaha YZF-R1.

In other action at Race City, McBain also grabbed pole for this weekend's two Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike feature races. The 2002 class champion took his Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R600 to a time of 1:19.584. Lacombe was second at a 1:19.690 and Kars, ON's Andrew Nelson placed third aboard the Nelson Racing Honda CBR600RR with a time of 1:20.198.

Karl Daigle of Roxton Pond, QC claimed pole position for the Suzuki SV650 National Cup feature races with a time of 1:29.899.

Pascal Anctil of Laval, QC paced practice for the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike class at Race City with a best time of 1:25.245 on his Suzuki GSX-R600. Vancouver's Olivier Spilborghs placed second with a 1:25.631 aboard his Kawasaki ZX-6RR and Hamilton, ON's Dave Stewart was third fastest with a time of 1:25.869 on his Suzuki GSX-R600.

The Amateur 600 Sport Bike competitors will qualify Saturday for their Sunday feature.

Action from this weekend will be shown later this summer in a one-hour show on TSN.

Starting line up for this weekend's second and third rounds of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Race City Motorsport Park in Calgary, showing starting position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and qualifying time:

1.Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:16.534; 2. Steve Crevier, Maple Ridge, BC, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:17.214; 3. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Honda CBR1000RR, 1:17.233; 4. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:17.284; 5. Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:17.544; 6. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:17.688; 7. Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:17.849; 8. Pascal Picotte, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:18.085; 9. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:18.468; 10. Brian Nielsen, Edmonton, AB, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:18.641; 11. Chris Peris, Calgary, AB, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:19.311; 12. Peter Holzinger, Banff, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:20.197; 13. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 1:20.315; 14. Alan Schmidt, Clearwater, BC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:20.797; 15. Mitch Rathje, Calgary, AB, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:20.834; 16. Jean-Paul Tache, North Bay, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:21.183; 17. Tim Easton, Calgary, AB, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:21.324; 18. Bill Card, Wellesley, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 1:21.776; 19. Guy Tomlinson, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:22.236; 20. Erick Beausejour, Val Senneville, QC, Honda CBR600RR, 1:24.368; 21. Mike Zottmann, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:24.442; 22. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 1:24.575; 23. Rudy Raposo, Mississauga, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:24.629; 24. James McCarthy, Edmonton, AB, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 1:25.975; 25. Shane Kuhn, Didsbury, AB, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:26.023; 26. Alex Lotsov, Edmonton, AB, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 1:26.442; 27. Darren James, North Vancouver, BC, Yamaha YZF-R6, No Time


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Tom Kipp , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Chris Peris , Clint McBain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Bill Card , Frank Trombino , Dave Stewart , Peter Holzinger , Alan Schmidt , Darren James , Jean-Paul Tache