Mosport: Series race two report

MCBAIN EDGES SZOKE AT MOSPORT BOWMANVILLE, Ont. (July 20) -- Cochrane, Alta.'s Clint McBain scored his second victory of the 2008 Parts Canada Superbike Championship as he edged Jordan Szoke in a thrilling battle at Mosport International Raceway...


BOWMANVILLE, Ont. (July 20) -- Cochrane, Alta.'s Clint McBain scored his second victory of the 2008 Parts Canada Superbike Championship as he edged Jordan Szoke in a thrilling battle at Mosport International Raceway on Sunday.

For the second straight day a lead pack of five to six riders battled for the top spot around Mosport's 3.9km (2.459-mile) road circuit, with three different bikes taking a turn at the front.

Riding the Acceleration Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000, McBain grabbed the lead from Szoke's Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R on lap 10 of the scheduled 20-lap race, and was leading on lap 12 when the race was stopped due to rain.

The results were taken back to the completion of 11 laps, with McBain beating Szoke by 0.306 seconds. Right behind them Kevin Lacombe (Team Toyota Yamaha / Fast Company Racing Yamaha YZF-R1) edged Chris Peris (Team Suzuki / Blackfoot / Picotte Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000) in a photo finish for third.

"It's tough when the weather's like this; it really plays on a rider," said McBain, who also scored a win at Mosport last season. "We made some changes after yesterday's race and that gave us a little bit extra on the back straight."

On Saturday Szoke beat McBain by just 0.058 secs. for the Superbike win but was unable to repeat the feat on Sunday.

"The bike was perfect. I felt really comfortable and I felt like I was having to take the fewest risks," said the Brantford, Ont. rider, who led two of the 11 laps. "But with weather like this you never can tell. I should have tried to lead every lap."

Szoke did manage to extend his lead in the Parts Canada Superbike standings, however. With just three races in the seven-round series remaining the two-time defending champion has 196 points to the 158 of Lacombe. The series resumes with another doubleheader at Atlantic Motorsport Park in Shubenacadie, N.S. Aug. 8-10.

"We have a great points lead heading into Halifax, and that's the main thing," Szoke said.

Lacombe started from pole position and led three laps in the middle of the race before being shuffled back to third by Szoke and McBain on lap eight. The Granby, Que. rider then battled back and forth with Peris, who moved up from sixth on the opening lap.

Francis Martin of Sherbrooke, Que. finished fifth on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot / Picotte Racing Suzuki GSX-R1000 after placing third on Saturday. The top five finishers crossed the line within a second of each other.

Matt McBride of Mississauga, Ont. was sixth on the third of the factory Suzukis, despite receiving a five-second penalty for a jump start. McBride clung to the back of the lead train for the first half of the race before dropping slightly off the pace.

Scarborough, Ont.'s Chris Murray-Audain was a lonely seventh on the One Stop Dealer Services Kawasaki ZX-10R, but behind him five riders battled over eighth spot.

Granby, Que.'s Karl Daigle came out on top of the fight on his Perusse Kawasaki ZX-6R, just ahead of the Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R of Maple Ridge, B.C.'s Steve Crevier. They both passed the Fundy Power Sports Kawasaki ZX-10R of Truro, N.S. rider Andrew Dunlap on the final lap of the race.

In other action at Mosport, Peris led all the way in the rain to win the Yoshimura Pro 600 Sport Bike race on his Suzuki GSX-R600. The Calgary rider finished 2.725 secs. ahead of points leader Szoke on his Kawasaki ZX- 6R. Szoke passed Lacombe's Yamaha YZF-R6 on the final lap and the Granby, Que. rider settled for third.

"I was definitely confident going into the rain," Peris said. "I just put my head down the first few laps. That was kind of the plan. I didn't want to be racing the other guys in these conditions."

Szoke now has 194 points to the 166 of Lacombe with three races remaining in the season.

Valter Bartolini took over the lead of the Canadian Thunder championship with his second win of the year on Sunday. Riding an NCR-Ducati 848 the Bologna, Italy native took the lead on lap 2 of the 10-lap race and held off the BMW Motorrad Canada BMW HP2 Sport of Kitchener, Ont.'s Michael Ferreira for the win.

Darren James completed the podium on the Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R.

Bartolini now leads his teammate Andrew Nelson by two points in the class standings, 157-155, after Nelson dropped out of Sunday's race with a mechanical failure.

Jim Proulx of Ottawa won his third Canadian Sport Twins race of the year on his Buell XB12R and extended his championship lead to 40 points over Bowmanville, Ont.'s A.J. Simiana, who was second on a Ducati S2R/Sport Classic.

Proulx's 17-second margin of victory gave him the Tirox Big Won Award for the largest winning margin of the day.

Jodi Christie of Keene, Ont. scored his second straight win in the Armour Bodies Amateur 600 Sport Bike Championship on his Yamaha YZF-R6 and now has a 44-point lead over Calgary's Patrick Marques with three races remaining in the championship. Marques finished seventh on his Suzuki GSX- R600.

Third place finisher Broady Gavigan of London, Ont. earned the Performance Under Gear Performer of the Race Award for his move up from 19th on the starting grid on his Honda CBR600RR.

John Jarvie won Sunday's Suzuki SV650 National Cup round at Mosport. The Burlington, Ont. rider now has a 24-point lead over Cochrane, Alta.'s Cody Matechuk in the class standings after Matechuk, Saturday's race winner, placed fifth on Sunday.

This weekend's races will be shown on TSN HD and TSN in two separate programs. The first premiers on Tuesday, Sept. 23 at 1:00 p.m. and repeats on Saturday, Sept. 27 at 4:00 a.m. The second episode will premier Tuesday, Sept. 30 at 1:00 p.m. and repeat on Saturday, Oct. 4 at 4:00 a.m.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Andrew Nelson , Chris Peris , Clint McBain , Chris Murray-Audain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Darren James