Mosport: Race one summary

MOSPORT, ON Pascal Picotte dominated the fourth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway Saturday. The Granby, QC rider burst into an early lead and was never challenged as he claimed his first victory of...

MOSPORT, ON Pascal Picotte dominated the fourth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway Saturday. The Granby, QC rider burst into an early lead and was never challenged as he claimed his first victory of the 2005 season on the Picotte Performance Yamaha YZF-R1.

Brantford, ON's Jordan Szoke claimed second on the Fast Company Honda CBR1000RR and Francis Martin of Rock Forest, QC placed third riding the Snobgirls / Laval Moto Suzuki GSX-R1000.

The race was shortened from an originally scheduled 16 laps to 13 after Clint McBain suffered a big crash at the end of the backstraight while running second on his Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000. McBain was unhurt but lost the Parts Canada Superbike points lead to Martin.

Saturday's race was the first of a doubleheader for the Superbike competitors. A second 16-lap race is scheduled for Sunday afternoon.

Picotte's victory marked a return to form for the two-time defending national champion, who broke his ribs and wrist in a practice fall at the season opener at Shannonville Motorsport Park in May.

"This weekend was important to turn the championship around a bit," said Picotte, who has now won three straight Superbike nationals at Mosport. "If we can do it again tomorrow we can put some pressure on some guys."

Picotte moves to fifth in the Parts Canada Superbike standings with 127 points. Martin now leads with 171 while Szoke improves to second with 159 and McBain drops to third with 152.

Picotte charged into the race lead from pole position and was over a second clear of the pack after just one lap of the 3.9km (2.459-mile) circuit. He was almost five seconds ahead of the field after five laps and set a new track record of one minute, 21.160 seconds, breaking the mark he established in qualifying Friday.

"The plan was to try and break away," Picotte said. "I just decided to put my head down. The bike responded so well and it stayed consistent the whole race."

McBain spent the race leading a furious five-bike fight for second place before his crash. Szoke worked his way up from seventh on the opening lap to take third from Martin on lap 9 and then took over second when McBain fell.

Tom Kipp of Chardon, OH finished fourth, right behind Martin on his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R and Maple Ridge, BC's Steve Crevier completed the top five aboard the Diablo Performance Honda CBR1000RR.

Calgary's Chris Peris won a dramatic Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike Championship feature at Mosport on his Topline Yamaha YZF-R6. Peris just edged fellow Calgary rider McBain on the Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R600 and Kipp riding the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-6RR.

Points leader Crevier faded to sixth on the Diablo Performance Honda CBR600RR.

Bill Card of Wellesley, ON led a Buell sweep of the podium in round 2 of the Canadian Thunder Championship and took over the series points lead. Dave Estok of New Smyrna Beach, FL placed second and North Vancouver's Darren James was third.

Both the Pro 600 Sport Bike and Canadian Thunder classes will run feature races on Sunday.

Action at Mosport also included qualifying for the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike Championship and Suzuki SV650 National Cup.

Oshawa, ON rider Stephan Chabot was fastest among the Amateur 600 Sport Bike competitors with a time of 1:27.333 on his Yamaha YZF-R6. James Collins of Woodstock, ON placed second at 1:28.400 on another Yamaha and Nicolet, QC racer Gilles Biron was third at 1:28.825 aboard a Kawasaki ZX-6RR.

Toronto rider Norm Tang claimed pole for Sunday's SV Cup feature with a time of 1:34.863. Action from this weekend will be shown later this summer in a one-hour show on TSN.

For more series information, visit

Results of Saturday's fourth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and laps completed:

1.Pascal Picotte, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 13; 2. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Honda CBR1000RR, 13; 3. Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 13; 4. Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 13; 5. Steve Crevier, Maple Ridge, BC, Honda CBR1000RR, 13; 6. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 13; 7. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 13; 8. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 13; 9. Brian Nielsen, Edmonton, AB, Yamaha YZF-R1, 13; 10. Rudy Raposo, Mississauga, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 13; 11. Dave Young, Woodstock, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 13; 12. Jean-Paul Tache, North Bay, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 13; 13. Erick Beausejour, Val Senneville, QC, Honda CBR600RR, 13; 14. Larry Orde, Peterborough, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 13; 15. Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 13*; 16. Sean Heydorn, Aurora, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 12; 17. Steve Scott, Manchester, NH, Yamaha YZF-R1, 12 Did Not Finish: Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 11; Michael Ferreira, Kitchener, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 6; Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 5; Jeremy French, Erin, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 4 * -- Placed at back of lead lap for causing red flag

Parts Canada Superbike Championship point standings after 4 of 8 rounds, showing position, rider name and point total:

1.Francis Martin, 171; 2. Jordan Szoke, 159; 3. Clint McBain, 152; 4. Steve Crevier, 128; 5. Pascal Picotte, 127; 6. Kevin Lacombe, 114; 6. Frank Trombino, 114; 8. Tom Kipp, 112; 9. Matthew McBride, 90; 10. Brian Nielsen, 74; 11. Jean-Paul Tache, 60; 12. Andrew Nelson, 29; 12. David Young, 29; 14. Mitch Rathje, 25; 14. Erick Beausejour, 25; 14. Rudy Raposo, 25; 17. Larry Orde, 20; 18. Chris Peris, 19; 19. Sean Heydorn, 18; 20. Stuart Nodell, 17; 21. Tim Easton, 16; 22. Peter Holzinger, 15; 23. Guy Tomlinson, 13; 24. Alan Schmidt, 12; 25. Fergus Warwick, 6; 25. Steve Scott, 6; 27. Mike Zottmann, 4; 27. Dominic Lavoie, 4; 29. Marco Alessandrini, 2; 29. Shane Kuhn, 2; 31. Elie Daccache, 1


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Tom Kipp , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Chris Peris , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Bill Card , Frank Trombino , Peter Holzinger , Alan Schmidt , Darren James , Larry Orde , Jean-Paul Tache
Teams Williams