Mosport II: Race summary

SZOKE TIES WIN RECORD BOWMANVILLE, ON -- Jordan Szoke tied a 14-year-old record with victory in the fifth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway Sunday. The Brantford, ON rider took his Canadian ...


BOWMANVILLE, ON -- Jordan Szoke tied a 14-year-old record with victory in the fifth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway Sunday.

The Brantford, ON rider took his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-10R to a 0.526 sec. victory over the Team Toyota Yamaha / Picotte Performance Yamaha YZF-R1 of Pascal Picotte to complete a sweep of the doubleheader weekend at Mosport and maintain a perfect win record in the Superbike class this season.

Szoke is the first rider since Steve Crevier in 1992 to win the first five rounds of the Canadian Superbike season. He also tied the record for most victories in a season, with two races still to go.

"It's just been a fantastic year," said Szoke, the runaway leader in the Parts Canada Superbike series point standings. "It's almost too good to be true."

Szoke took the lead on lap 6 of the 18-lap race and then held off a fierce challenge from Kevin Lacombe and later Picotte to complete his weekend sweep.

"I felt I could control the pace and save my tires for the end," he said. "Then I put my head down on the last lap and set one of my fastest laps of the race."

The win gives Szoke a commanding 67-point lead over Lacombe, 267- 200, heading into the penultimate round of the season at Atlantic Motorsport Park in Shubenacadie, NS Aug. 11-13. Lacombe placed third on Sunday on the second Team Toyota Yamaha / Picotte Performance Yamaha YZF-R1, just 1.8 secs. behind Szoke. A race win is worth 50 points.

For the second day in a row Francis Martin got the holeshot on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000 and led the first two laps before once again suffering a mechanical failure and retiring from the race.

Polesitter Tom Kipp then took over at the front on the second Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki with Lacombe and Szoke behind, but Szoke moved from third to first on lap 6, and Lacombe also passed Kipp.

After completing the first lap in sixth, Picotte passed Lacombe on lap 11.

"My bike was definitely performing really well," said Picotte, the winner of five Superbike races at Mosport. "Every time I would get close to Jordan he would hold me up a little bit, but his bike accelerated so well off the corners. We just played the elastic game."

In other action, Szoke edged closer to also clinching the Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike title with his second victory of the weekend on his Kawasaki ZX-6RR. In a thrilling 14-lap race Szoke edged the Yamaha YZF- R6s of Granby, QC's Lacombe and St-Cecile Milton, QC rider Picotte.

Fourteen-year-old Brett McCormick of Saskatoon dominated the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike race on his Yamaha YZF-R6. Points leader Karl Daigle of Roxton Pond, QC placed second on a Honda CBR600RR after a good battle with the Suzuki GSX-R600 of Hamilton rider Ross Millson, who finished third.

Victoria's Oliver Jervis won his second straight Thunder twins feature on his BMW R1200S and Paul Glenn of Keene, ON won in Suzuki SV650 National Cup for the second race in a row.

This weekend's races will be shown later this summer on TSN and TSN HD.

Results from Sunday's fifth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway in Bowmanville, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, motorcycle and laps completed:

1.Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 2. Pascal Picotte, St- Cecile Milton, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 3. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 4. Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 5. Clint McBain, Cochrane, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 6. Erick Beausejour, Val Senneville, QC, Honda CBR1000RR, 18; 7. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 8. Jean Paul Tache, North Bay, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 9. Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 10. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 11. Larry Orde, Lakefield, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 12. Csaba Werner, North York, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 13. Jeremy Burgess, Hammonds Plains, NS, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 14. Chris Murray-Audain, Scarborough, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 14; 15. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 17; 16. Sean Heydorn, Aurora, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 17; 17. Matthew Bushe, Castleton, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750, 17; 18. Todd Scott, Bedford, NS, Suzuki GSX-R600, 17; 19. Alain Campagna, Dorion, QC, Yamaha YZF-R6, 17 Did Not Finish: Terry Steeves, Bathurst, NB, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 10; Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 3; Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 0; Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 0 Did Not Start: Guy Tomlinson, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R600; Craig Archer, Whitby, ON, Honda CBR600RR; Andrew Murray, Bedford, NS, Kawasaki ZX-6RR; Stephane Chabot, Oshawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6; Barry French, Whitby, ON, Honda CBR600RR; Gilles Biron, Nicolet, QC, Kawasaki ZX-6RR; Andrew Dunlap, Truro, NS, Honda CBR600RR

Parts Canada Superbike Championship point standings after Sunday's fifth round of the series at Mosport International Raceway, showing position, rider name and point total:

1.Jordan Szoke, 267; 2. Kevin Lacombe, 200; 3. Pascal Picotte, 169; 4. Tom Kipp, 156; 5. Erick Beausejour, 119; 6. Andrew Nelson, 117; 7. Francis Martin, 113; 8. Clint McBain, 110; 9. Frank Trombino, 107; 10. Jean-Paul Tache, 103; 11. Larry Orde, 70; 12. Matt McBride, 56; 13. Zenon Nelson, 50; 14. Csaba Werner, 49; 15. Jeff Williams, 46; 16. Jeremy Burgess, 40; 17. Sean Heydorn, 39; 18. Elie Daccache, 27; 19. Chris Murray Audain, 20; 20. Jeff Gaynor, 17; 21. Shawn Jones, 13; 22. Yanick Beauregard, 12; 22 (tie). Matthew Bushe, 12; 24. Todd Scott, 6; 24 (tie). Andrew Dunlap, 6; 26. Alain Campagna, 4; 27. Terry Steeves, 1

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Tom Kipp , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Chris Murray-Audain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Frank Trombino , Brett McCormick , Larry Orde
Teams Williams