Mosport I: Saturday race summary

SZOKE WINS FOURTH STRAIGHT BOWMANVILLE, ON -- Jordan Szoke maintained his 2006 unbeaten streak with his fourth straight Parts Canada Superbike Championship feature win at Mosport International Raceway on Saturday. The Brantford, ON rider on...


BOWMANVILLE, ON -- Jordan Szoke maintained his 2006 unbeaten streak with his fourth straight Parts Canada Superbike Championship feature win at Mosport International Raceway on Saturday.

The Brantford, ON rider on the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX- 10R took the lead from Kevin Lacombe on lap 5 of the 18-lap race and survived constant pressure from the Granby, QC racer to win by 0.160 secs.

Lacombe settled for second on his Picotte Performance / Yamaha Canada / Toyota Canada Yamaha YZF-R1 while his teammate Pascal Picotte of St- Cecile Milton, QC finished third, his best result of the season.

"It was a good battle. I wasn't able to pull away from Kevin," Szoke said. "I just tried to save my rear tire for the last lap."

Szoke extended his Parts Canada Superbike Championship lead to 52 points over Lacombe, 215-163, heading into Sunday's back end of the doubleheader at Mosport. A race win is worth 50 points.

Defending series champion Francis Martin of Rock Forest, QC got the lead off the start but by the end of the opening lap Lacombe was in front. Szoke had a poor start and finished the first lap in fourth but quickly worked his way up to second before taking the lead from Lacombe.

"The first five laps I tried to break away," Lacombe said. "But I saw Jordan coming. I backed off and tried to set something up for the last lap. I didn't have the drive onto the backstraight but I was fast through the Esses. But we caught a lapped guy and I just couldn't do it."

Picotte, the winner of the previous four Superbike races at Mosport, was only seventh after the first lap but was up to third by lap 7 and briefly managed to close up on the two leaders.

"With better qualifying and a good start we could stay with these guys," Picotte said. "Tomorrow we might be in a better position to take the win."

Martin retired with mechanical trouble on lap 7 on his Team Suzuki / Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000. His teammate Clint McBain of Cochrane, AB finished fourth and Mississauga, ON's Matt McBride took fifth after a great battle with the second factory Kawasaki ZX-10R of polesitter Tom Kipp.

In other action at Mosport, Szoke came back from a rough race at the previous round to win his third Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike feature of the year. The class points leader took his Kawasaki ZX-6RR to a 0.186-sec. victory over Kipp of Chardon, OH after a racelong battle. Lacombe finished third on his Yamaha YZF-R6 after also challenging for the win.

Victoria's Oliver Jervis won the Thunder feature on his BMW R1200S.

The Pro 600 Sport Bike and Thunder competitors will also run feature races on Sunday.

Fourteen-year-old Brett McCormick of Saskatoon qualified on pole for Sunday's International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike race with a class record time of one minute, 26.044 seconds on his Yamaha YZF-R6. Hamilton's Ross Millson qualified second on his Suzuki GSX-R600 at 1:27.235 and Tim Chemello of Toronto will start third Sunday on his Yamaha YZF-R6.

Paul Glenn of Keene, ON also set a new class record in qualifying for pole for the Suzuki SV650 National Cup feature with a time of 1:33.946.

Action at Mosport resumes Sunday with practice at 9:00 a.m. and racing to begin at 1:00 p.m.

Results from Saturday's fourth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway in Bowmanville, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, motorcycle and laps completed:

1.Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 2. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 3. Pascal Picotte, St-Cecile Milton, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 4. Clint McBain, Cochrane, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 5. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 6. Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 7. Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 8. Erick Beausejour, Val Senneville, QC, Honda CBR1000RR, 18; 9. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 10. Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 18; 11. Jean-Paul Tache, North Bay, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 18; 12. Csaba Werner, North York, ON, Suzuki GSX- R1000, 18; 13. Larry Orde, Lakefield, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 18; 14. Jeremy Burgess, Hammonds Plains, NS, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 17; 15. Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 17; 16. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600, 17; 17. Andrew Dunlap, Truro, NS, Honda CBR600RR, 17; 18. Sean Heydorn, Aurora, ON, Honda CBR600RR, 17; 19. Alain Campagna, Dorion, QC, Yamaha YZF-R6, 17

Did Not Finish: Matthew Bushe, Castleton, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750, 12; Todd Scott, Bedford, NS, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 7; Terry Steeves, Bathurst, NB, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 7; Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 6; Chris Murray-Audain, Scarborough, ON, Kawasaki ZX-10R, 4

Did Not Start: Guy Tomlinson, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R600; Craig Archer, Whitby, ON, Honda CBR600RR; Andrew Murray, Bedford, NS, Kawasaki ZX-6RR; Stephane Chabot, Oshawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6; Barry French, Whitby, ON, Honda CBR600RR; Gilles Biron, Nicolet, QC, Kawasaki ZX-6RR

Parts Canada Superbike Championship point standings after Sunday's fourth round of the series at Mosport International Raceway, showing position, rider name and point total:

1.Jordan Szoke, 215; 2. Kevin Lacombe, 163; 3. Pascal Picotte, 127; 4. Tom Kipp, 124; 5. Francis Martin, 113; 6. Andrew Nelson, 92; 6 (tie). Erick Beausejour, 92; 8. Frank Trombino, 88; 9. Clint McBain, 81; 10. Jean-Paul Tache, 80; 11. Matt McBride, 56; 12. Larry Orde, 53; 13. Zenon Nelson, 40; 14. Csaba Werner, 34; 15. Sean Heydorn, 31; 16. Elie Daccache, 27; 16 (tie). Jeremy Burgess, 27; 18. Jeff Williams, 25; 19. Jeff Gaynor, 17; 20. Shawn Jones, 13; 21. Yanick Beauregard, 12; 22. Chris Murray-Audain, 8; 23. Matthew Bushe, 6; 23 (tie). Andrew Dunlap, 6; 25. Todd Scott, 2; 25 (tie). Alain Campagna, 2; 27. Terry Steeves, 1

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Tom Kipp , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Chris Murray-Audain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Frank Trombino , Brett McCormick , Larry Orde , Jean-Paul Tache
Teams Williams