Mont-Tremblant race notes

MONT-TREMBLANT, QC - Tom Kipp scored his first career Parts Canada Superbike Championship win in the Coors Light Tremblant Superbike at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant Sunday. The Chardon, OH racer took his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-7RR to...

MONT-TREMBLANT, QC - Tom Kipp scored his first career Parts Canada Superbike Championship win in the Coors Light Tremblant Superbike at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant Sunday.

The Chardon, OH racer took his Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-7RR to a commanding 13.624-sec. victory over the Picotte Racing Yamaha YZF-R1 of Pascal Picotte in the 15-lap race, which was held in very wet conditions.

Steve Crevier completed the podium riding the Diablo Performance Suzuki GSX-R1000.

"My crew chief Dale Rathwell did some magic just before the race," said Kipp, who becomes the sixth different winner in seven Parts Canada Superbike races this season. "I don't know what he did but it worked. The bike was perfect in the wet."

With his runner-up finish Picotte extended his lead in the series point standings heading into the final round at Shannonville Motorsport Park Aug. 29-31. The St-Cecile de Milton, QC rider has a 17-point lead over Crevier, 277-260. A rider can score 56 points at each Parts Canada Superbike round.

"We switched bikes for the race and that might not have been a good call," said Picotte, who qualified on pole. "It didn't steer and I didn't have any front end bite. I just tried to finish ahead of Steve and stretch my lead a little bit heading into Shannonville."

Australian Robbie Baird led the early laps of the race on his Orion Motorsport Honda CBR600RR with Kipp and Picotte chasing him. Kipp got ahead on lap 6 and two laps later Baird crashed in turn 5.

Clint McBain then moved up to second on the Coors Light Racing/Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000, but the Calgary rider fell unhurt on lap 10. That put Picotte back in second for good.

Baird recovered from his fall to charge back up to fourth, finishing right behind Crevier.

St-Jerome, QC's Benoit Pilon was fifth on the Paquin Yamaha YZF-R1. Jean-Francois Cyr of Joliette, QC charged from the back to place sixth on his CyRacing/Michelin Yamaha YZF-R1 and Rock Forest, QC's Francis Martin was seventh on a Coors Light Racing/Blackfoot Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Martin remains in contention for the Parts Canada Superbike crown in third place with 245 points. Cyr also has a mathematical shot heading into the final round. He lies fourth with 229 points.

In other action at Circuit Mont-Tremblant, Picotte clinched the Hindle Exhaust Pro 600 Sport Bike title with a second place finish in a dramatic battle with Kipp. Riding the Canadian Kawasaki Motors Kawasaki ZX-6RR, Kipp edged Picotte's Yamaha YZF-R6 by just 1.966 secs. after the two staged a tremendous duel. Baird placed third aboard his Orion Motorsport Honda CBR600RR.

Keremeos, BC's Jeremy Leduc extended his lead in the International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Amateur 600 Sport Bike title chase by edging Wellesley, ON racer Bill Card and Derek Bowker of Nepean, ON for the win. Riding a Yamaha YZF-R6, Leduc took the lead on the final lap and held off Card's Honda CBR600RR by 0.558 secs. Bowker was right behind Card on another Yamaha YZF-R6.

This weekend's event will be televised on TSN on Saturday, Sept. 13 at 11:00 a.m. Action from Circuit Mont-Tremblant will also be shown later this year on Quebec's RDS.

The one-hour long Superbike shows premier on the Outdoor Life Network on Sunday, Sept. 7 at 1:00 p.m. and run each Sunday through September and October.

Results Sunday from the Coors Light Tremblant Superbike, the seventh round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and laps completed:

1.Tom Kipp, Chardon, OH, Kawasaki ZX-7RR, 15
2. Pascal Picotte, St-Cecile de Milton, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 15
3. Steve Crevier, Maple Ridge, BC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 15
4. Robbie Baird, Queensland, Australia, Honda CBR600RR, 15
5. Benoit Pilon, St-Jerome, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 15
6. Jean-Francois Cyr, Joliette, QC, Yamaha YZF-R1, 15
7. Francis Martin, Rock Forest, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 15
8. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Honda CBR600RR, 15
9. Chris Peris, Calgary, AB, Honda CBR600RR, 15*
10. Matthew McBride, Toronto, ON, Kawasaki ZX-6R, 15
11. Michael Leon, Montreal, QC, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 15
12. Michael Taylor, Toronto, ON, Honda CBR954RR, 14
13. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON, Honda CBR954RR, 14
14. Barry French, Brampton, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6, 14
15. Larry Orde, Peterborough, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 14
16. Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1, 12
17. Brian Nielsen, Edmonton, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 11; DNF. Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 9
DNF. Jeff Williams, Harrowsmith, ON, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 6
DNF. Jeremy Burgess, Halifax, NS, Suzuki GSX-R600, 4
DNF. Matt Binns, Uxbridge, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6, 3; DNS. Terry MacPhee, Upper Rawdon, NS, Honda CBR600RR
DNS. Jim Proulx, Ottawa, ON, Kawasaki ZX-7RR
DNS. Steve Dufresne, St-Barthelemy, QC, Honda CBR600RR
DNS. Zenon Nelson, Bowmanville, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600
DNS. Dan Durkovic, Ottawa, ON, Yamaha YZF-R1
DNS. John Brundl, Toronto, ON, Honda CBR954RR
DNS. Joel McDonald, North York, ON, Yamaha YZF-R6
*-- Chris Peris penalized five seconds for missing chicane

Time of Race: 32:01
Fastest Lap: Robbie Baird, 1:55.684 on lap 14
Margin of Victory: 13.624 secs.

Point standings for the Parts Canada Superbike Championship following Sunday's Coors Light Tremblant Superbike at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant, showing position, rider name and point total:

1.Pascal Picotte, 277
2. Steve Crevier, 260
3. Francis Martin, 245
4. Jean-Francois Cyr, 229
5. Tom Kipp, 191
6. Clint McBain, 183
7. Michael Taylor, 168
8. Frank Trombino, 167
9. Benoit Pilon, 147
10. Jeff Williams, 136
11. Andrew Nelson, 99
12. Robbie Baird, 95
13. Kevin Lacombe, 89
14. Michael Leon, 84
15. Matthew McBride, 68
16. Darryn Wilbur, 60
17. Chris Peris, 50
18. Bruce McDonald, 44
19. Joel McDonald, 29
20. Brian Nielsen, 29
21. Larry Orde, 26
22. Barry French, 22
23. Dan Durkovic, 10
24. John Brundl, 8
25. Elie Daccache, 8
26. Dale Yamada, 8
27. Steve Dufresne 8
28. Brent Strong, 6
29. Guy Tomlinson, 6
30. Chris Murray-Audain, 4
31. Jim Proulx, 2
32. Alan Schmidt, 2
33. Shane LeGros, 1
34. Brad Gavey, 1
35. Darren Womack, 1


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CSBK
Drivers Tom Kipp , Pascal Picotte , Andrew Nelson , Michael Leon , Chris Peris , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Chris Murray-Audain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Steve Crevier , Bill Card , Darryn Wilbur , Frank Trombino , Alan Schmidt , Larry Orde
Teams Williams