Sainz quickest on Day 2, moves into Rally Morocco lead

Peugeot driver Carlos Sainz topped the second day of Rally Morocco to move into the lead of the event's overall classification.

Sainz, driving the new-spec Peugeot 2008DKR16, was quickest at both checkpoints and ended up heading nearest rival and two-time Dakar winner Nasser Al-Attiyah, driving for the X-Raid Mini squad.

Toyota's erstwhile rally leader Yazeed Al-Rajhi was 10 minutes off in fifth and dropped below both Sainz and Al-Attiyah in the overall standings at the end of the 224km stage.

Nine-time WRC champion Sebastien Loeb started the day with a new engine after a mechanical failure had left him stranded near the end of the first stage.

He was sixth quickest on day two, completing the stage within 10m30s of Sainz.

Mikko Hirvonen, winner of 15 WRC rallies, broke into the top 10 overall and now sits 30 minutes off the lead in his X-Raid Mini.

Overall classification after Day 2

Pos. Driver/Co-driver Car Time/Delay

Carlos Sainz

 Lucas Cruz

Peugeot 5h29m27s

 Nasser Al-Attiyah

Matthieu Baumel

MINI 1m24s

 Yazeed Al-Rajhi

 Timo Gottschalk

Toyota 8m13s

 Vladimir Vasilyev

Konstantin Zhiltsov

Toyota 9m47s

Erik Van Loon

 Wouter Rosegaar

MINI 17m14s

Giniel de Villiers

 Dirk von Zitzewitz

Toyota 18m20s

 Leeroy Poulter

 Robert Howie

Toyota 18m26s

 Ricardo Porem

Jorge Monteiro

Toyota 26m02s

 Miroslav Zapletal

 Maciej Marton

Hummer 29m23s

Mikko Hirvonen

Michel Perin

MINI 30m16s
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Cross-Country Rally
Event Rally Morocco
Sub-event Stage 2
Drivers Carlos Sainz , Sébastien Loeb , Mikko Hirvonen , Nasser Al-Attiyah , Yazeed Al-Rajhi
Teams Peugeot Sport
Article type Leg report