Mid Ohio Results

DYSON CARS BATTLE EACH OTHER TO ONE-TWO MID-OHIO CAN-AM FINISH; SCHUMACHER, REISER/CALLAS PORSCHES TAKE GT2 AND GT3 LEXINGTON, Ohio (June 6, 1999) - England's James Weaver and Andy Wallace captured the U.S. Road Racing Classic Can-Am ...


LEXINGTON, Ohio (June 6, 1999) - England's James Weaver and Andy Wallace captured the U.S. Road Racing Classic Can-Am Championship race at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course after a fierce battle with their Dyson Racing teammates, Butch Leitzinger and Elliott Forbes-Robinson. Larry Schumacher and John O'Steen, both of Cincinnati, Ohio, won in the GT2 class, with England's Johnny Mowlem and David Murry, of Lilburn, Ga. winning in the GT3 class. Weaver, who started from the pole in the No. 16 Goodyear/Hella/Bosch Riley & Scott Ford, got the jump early on Leitzinger, driving the No. 20 team car. Over the next two hours, with Wallace taking a stint in the No. 16 car and Forbes-Robinson in the No. 20, the two cars paraded around the 2.25-mile circuit, swapping the lead occasionally, but never being more than three seconds apart. With 18 minutes remaining in the two-hour, 15-minute contest, Weaver made a bold move heading into two, darting to the left then right before moving inside Leitzinger, bumping him several times before taking the lead. With two laps remaining, Leitzinger responded by diving inside Weaver in turn one, bouncing over the curb and into Weaver. Neither car missed a beat, with Weaver maintaining the point to the finish, 0.591-second ahead of Leitzinger. Weaver and Wallace averaged 90.396 mph over the contest, covering 204.75 miles. "I thought that I had it covered until two laps from the end," said Weaver. "Then I tripped over a backmarker and I had my hands full. My tires were going off and Butch took advantage of my delay. He got alongside of me once, but I wasn't going to let him pass!" "It was great to race James (Weaver) like that even though we got caught out on the short end when it was all over," said Leitzinger. "I almost caught him because it looked like his tires were gone. I got alongside him once two laps from the end, but I couldn't get past. He had a bit left." Scott Schubot and Henry Camferdam teamed to finish third in their No. 8 Support Net Riley & Scott Ford for the second-straight week. John Mirro and Simon Gregg finished fourth in Can-Am followed by Jon Field and Ryan Jones. Despite qualifying second in GT2, nearly five seconds behind the polesitting Mosler Intruder of Joao Barbosa, the No. 99 Schumacher Racing Porsche 993 GT2 of Larry Schumacher and John O'Steen took the class win. The team led from the 40-minute mark and never looked back, winning by eight laps over the next-closest car. The No. 30 Mosler was plagued by mechanical problems throughout the race and eventually finished third–41 laps behind. Taking their first win in GT3 was the No. 02 Reiser/Callas Rennsport team of Mowlem and Murry. The team led flag-to-flag despite stiff competition from the No. 07 Jennifer Fund Porsche RSR of Cort Wagner and Darren Law and the No. 51 Aspen Knolls BMW M3 of Shane Lewis and Andy Pilgrim, who finished second and third, on the same lap. The No. 02 car won by only 3.752 seconds. "There were some really tough cars out there today, but the car ran flawless and I had a great co-driver," said Murry. "This is a new team, and its great to be able to run so competitively and so fast this year."

LEXINGTON, Ohio - Results from Sunday's two-hour, 15-minute USRRC Can-Am and GT Championship race, part of the U.S. Road Racing Classic at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, with finishing position, starting position in parentheses, drivers, hometowns, class, car, laps and reason out (if any). 1. (1), Dyson Racing Team Inc., Andy Wallace, England, James Weaver, England, CA, R&S Ford, 91. 2. (2), Dyson Racing Team Inc., Elliott Forbes-Robinson, Sherrils Ford, N.C., Butch Leitzinger, State College, Pa., CA, R&S Ford, 91. 3. (3), Support Net Racing, Henry Camferdam, Indianapolis, Ind., Scott Schubot, West Palm, Fla., CA, R&S Ford, 90. 4. (8), Intersport Racing, Simon Greg, Jacksonville, Fla., John Mirro, Bath, Pa., CA, R&S Ford, 84. 5. (11), Schumacher Racing, John O'Steen, Cincinnati, Ohio, Larry Schumacher, Cincinnati, Ohio, GT2, Porsche 993 GT2, 84. 6. (9), Reiser/Callas Rennsport, Johnny Mowlem, England, David Murry, Lilburn, Ga., GT3, Porsche 911, 84. 7. (10), G & W Motorsports, Darren Law, Phoenix, Ariz., Cort Wagner, Los Angeles, Calif., GT3, Porsche 911, 84. 8. (12), Aspen Knolls Racing, Shane Lewis, Stewart, Fla., Andy Pilgrim, Cooper City, Fla., GT3, BMW M3, 84. 9. (5), Intersport Racing, Jon Field, Dublin, Ohio, Ryan Jones, Honeoye Falls, N.Y., CA, Lola Ford, 84. 10. (13), Reiser/Callas Rennsport, Joel Reiser, Mendon, N.Y., Craig Stanton, Seal Beach, Calif., GT3, Porsche 911, 82. 11. (14), Spencer Pumpelly Racing, Spencer Pumpelly, Baltimore, Md., Josh Rehm, Plymouth, Mass., GT3, Porsche 911, 82. 12. (15), Paragon Motorsports, Scott Brunk, Frederick, Md., Keith Fisher, Hamburg, N.Y., GT3, Porsche 964, 80. 13. (19), Team Tech Racing, Scott Bove, Avon Lake, Ohio, Joe Nonamaken, Massilor, Ohio, GT3, Porsche 993, 76. 14. (20), G & W Motorsports, Danny Marshall, Danville, Va., Steve Marshall, Christiansburg, Va., GT3, Porsche 911, 76. 15. (18), Dura Motorsports, Michael DeFontes, Baltimore, Md., Chris Thompson, Trumbull, Canada, Jerry Thompson, Manhiem, Pa., GT2, Chevy Camaro, 76. 16. (17), Fahlgren Racing, Lester Fahlgren, Schaumburg, Ill., Dick Greer, Columbus, Ohio, GT3, Mazda RX-7, 51, Mech. 17. (16), Kryderacing, Reed Kryder, Canal Fulton, Ohio, Steve Ahlgrim, Elmhurst, Ill., GT3, Nissan 240 SX, 45. 18. (6), Mosler Engineering, Joao Barbosa, Portugal, Loic Depailler, France, Stephane Roy, Canada, GT2, Mosler Intruder, 43, Mech. 19. (4), Robinson Racing, Jack Baldwin, Marietta, Ga., George Robinson, Houston, Texas, CA, R & S Chevy, 32, Trans. 20. (7), Downing/Atlanta Inc, Chris Ronson, Modesto, Calif., CA, Kudzu DLY Mazda, 32, Debris. 21. (21), Racing Technologies, Jon Engle, Naples, Fla., Mark Knepper, Forest Lake, Minn., GT2, SSZ Stradale, 5, Mech.

Time of race: 2 hours, 15 minutes, 54.080 seconds. CA/OA Average speed: 90.396 mph CA/OA Margin of victory: 0.591 seconds CA/OA Fastest race lap: No. 20 Leitzinger, 1:17.723 (104.216 mph) CA/OA Fastest qualifier: No. 16 Weaver, 1:16.478 (105.91 mph) CA/OA Lap leaders: Laps 1-30, No. 16 Weaver; Laps 31-33, No. 20 Leitzinger; Laps 34-64, No. 16 Wallace; Laps 65-66, No. 20 Forbes-Robinson; Laps 67-73, No. 20 Leitzinger; Laps 74-91, No. 16 Weaver.

GT2 Average speed: 83.310 mph GT2 Margin of victory: 8 laps, 1:19.79 GT2 Fastest race lap: No. 30 Roy, 1:26.272 (93.889 mph) GT2 Fastest qualifier: No. 30 Barbosa, 1:22.716 (97.925) GT2 Lap leaders: Laps 1-16, No. 30 Depallier, Laps 17-23, No. 30 Roy, Laps 24-47, No. 99 O'Steen; Laps 48-84, No. 99 Schumacher.

GT3 Average speed: 83.217 mph GT3 Margin of victory: 3.752 seconds GT3 Fastest race lap: No. 02 Murry, 1:28.918 (91.095 mph) GT3 Fastest qualifier: No. 02 Mowlem, 1:26.736 (93.386 mph) GT3 Lap leaders: Laps 1-47, No. 02 Mowlem, Laps 48-84, No. 02 Murry.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Can-Am , GT
Drivers Andy Wallace , Shane Lewis , Butch Leitzinger , James Weaver , Andy Pilgrim , David Murry , Jon Field , Elliott Forbes-Robinson , Jack Baldwin , Darren Law , George Robinson , Joao Barbosa , Simon Gregg , Spencer Pumpelly , Johnny Mowlem , Danny Marshall , Henry Camferdam , Michael DeFontes , John Mirro , Keith Fisher , Dick Greer , Cort Wagner
Teams Dyson Racing