Queensland Racing Drivers Association pointscore 2002-04-15

Sports Sedans The M.R. Automotive Sports Sedan Championship is still tight after the second round of racing at Queensland Raceway on the 13th and 14th of April. Geoff Gillespie (Fiat), who took a clean sweep at the opening round, came under fire...

Sports Sedans
The M.R. Automotive Sports Sedan Championship is still tight after the second round of racing at Queensland Raceway on the 13th and 14th of April. Geoff Gillespie (Fiat), who took a clean sweep at the opening round, came under fire from Trent Young (newly rotary powered 20B Toyota Levin), Wayne Parmenter (Supra) and Chris Donnelly (Falcon). Brad Seagrove continued his good form in his for-sale Alfa, with him having some good duels with Colin Smith (Rover). Kaye Woodward continued her good form in her Gemini, and is the top running Under 2 Litre car.

Pointscore: Geoff Gillespie- 194, Colin Smith- 169, Chris Donnelly- 162, Kaye Woodward- 141, Andrew Forsdick- 115, Michael Uebergang- 113, Wayne Clift- 109, Brad Seagrove- 101, Wayne Parmenter- 97, Gary Hamilton- 92, Shane Bradford- 84, Laurie Smith- 80, Damien Meneguzzo- 75, Trent Young- 72, David Waldon- 65, Scott Hunter- 65, Tim Pettitt- 64, Bob McLoughlin- 39, Rod Lynch- 14.

Two time Gemini Champion Ron Lange continues to lead the class, after another good weekend where he picked up two hard fought second places and a win in the final event for the weekend. Kandice Walker trailed Lange home, with three thirds and a second. The only other QRDA member racing on the weekend was Tony Chapman, who had a best finish of eighth.

Pointscore: Ron Lange- 192, Kandice Walker- 182, Tony Chapman- 137, Jason Halliday- 33.

Improved Production
Adam Uebergang once again proved to be unbeatable, stretching his winning streak in his Mazda RX7 to eight victories. Warrick Penfold also raced hard, with a best finishing position of fourth. Chris O^ÒShannessy and Rachel Smeaton fought for Under 2 Litre honours, while Troy Marinelli suffered a setback in the second race, when he struck a spun car on the opening lap. Fortunately, the TAFE crew was on hand to ready the car for the afternoon races.

Pointscore: Adam Uebergang- 200, Warrick Penfold- 144, Chris O^ÒShannessy- 67, Rachel Smeaton- 63, Troy Marinelli- 46.

Historic Touring Cars
Matt Jackson (Torana) once again proved near impossible to beat, taking out three of the four races, and placing second in the other race to John English. Matt McGrath (Morris Cooper S) secured his best finish of the season, with third in the final event, after battling Ken Nelson all weekend. Luke Spark (Morris Cooper S) and John Sorraghan (Datsun 1600) both enjoyed healthy racing throughout the weekend.

Pointscore: Matt Jackson- 174, Matt McGrath- 149, Luke Spark- 125, John Sorraghan- 107.

Sports Cars
Chris Hatfield extended his lead in his GT40 replica, while Gerry Geltch had his first run of the year in his Datsun 2000 Coupe, and was quite spectacular in picking up a pair of fourth places.

Pointscore: Chris Hatfield- 154, Gerry Geltch- 82.

Formula Vee
Shane Hart fought hard all weekend with Trent Usher and Russell White, and picked up the win in the Championship race.

Pointscore: Shane Hart- 183.

Racing Cars
Even though he had a miss-handling car, Troy Chaplin steered his Ralt RT34 to four dominant wins in the Racing Car class.

Pointscore: Troy Chaplin- 197.

HQ Holdens
In 11 races this season, Dave Blunt has taken out nine of them, with four of them coming on the weekend in convincing fashion. Team-mate Rowan Stanfield was busy, not only did he leave with a best finish of fifth, but also prepared his old car for Country music star Adam Brand in his first circuit racing appearance.

Pointscore: Dave Blunt- 267, Rowan Stanfield- 198.

Saloon Cars
Current National Saloon Car Championship leader Scott Nicholas continued the good form, which took him to victory recently at Wakefield Park, by posting three wins and a second placing. The ever-improving Danielle Argiro raced hard all weekend, with a best finish of fifth.

Pointscore: Scott Nicholas- 198, Danielle Argiro- 147.

Overall Club Championship
The Overall Club Champion is the driver in any class who is the most consistent throughout the season. That is, a driver's total Pointscore is divided by the number of races, which have been held for that class throughout the year. Points are awarded on a 25-1 scale, from first position down to 25th, with no points awarded for DNFs.

Pointscore: Adam Uebergang- 25, Matt Jackson- 24.86, Scott Nicholas- 24.75, Troy Chaplin- 24.63, Dave Blunt- 24.27, Geoff Gillespie- 24.25, Ron Lange- 24, Shane Hart- 22.88, Kandice Walker- 22.75, Matt McGrath- 21.29, Colin Smith- 21.13, Chris Donnelly- 20.25, Chris Hatfield- 19.25, Danielle Argiro- 18.38, Warrick Penfold- 18, Rowan Stanfield- 18, Luke Spark- 17.86, Kaye Woodward- 17.63, Tony Chapman- 17.13, John Sorraghan- 15.29, Andrew Forsdick- 14.38, Michael Uebergang- 14.13,


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CAMS
Drivers Adam Brand , Colin Smith , Scott Nicholas , Shane Bradford