Eastern Creek summary

SUNNY DAYS AT EASTERN CREEK The Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) has just completed a successful weekend of racing at the renowned Eastern Creek Raceway circuit west of Sydney and during the weekend a number of milestones were reached ...


The Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) has just completed a successful weekend of racing at the renowned Eastern Creek Raceway circuit west of Sydney and during the weekend a number of milestones were reached and three lap records were smashed.


The Kumho Tyres Australian Formula 3 Championship provided some of the best racing with that man from Western Australia Aaron Caratti in his Dallara F304 claiming a maximum of 41 points from the weekend and an Eastern Creek lap record of 1:25.3852.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Challenge saw Andrew Gillespie take out race three but it was Terry Wyhoon who claimed the weekend's honours right in front of Mr Gulf Western Peter Vicary even after a disastrous third race where he finished 11th. Hauling in 129 points from the weekend, Terry finished 6 points ahead of Peter Vicary. Following them is the quartet of Luke Searle, Chris Smerdon, Andrew Gillespie and Garry Wilmington who added 108, 105, 102 and 102 to their series points respectively.

2005 Holden Australian Formula 4000 Championship witnessed the brilliance of Peter Hackett in the Ralt Australia entry power away from Ty Hangar and Ash Lowe. But it was Terry Clearihan who showed great promise in race one dropped one place behind Derek Pingel in overall placings.

The powerhouse Peter Hackett again proved he can jump from F4000 into the Lamborghini Australia Diablo GTR to take three out of three in the Speed Energy Drink Australian GT Championship and Australian Porsche Drivers Challenge. Bryce Washington pipped Dave Stevens form second with Queensland standout Ian Palmer flashing home ahead of Mark Eddy.

Osborne, Colin Osborne! Shannon's Australian Production Car Championship proved that the Toyota Celica of Colin Osborne has the outright points result well and truly within his reach with 184 points, ahead of Drew Russell on 145 with Scott Anderson just 4 points ahead of Trevor Keene on 134. Leader in class A is Russell, with class B leader Osborne and class C points leader Daniel Natoli.

Kerrick TranZam Sports Sedan Series has been dominated by the fastest man from the West -- Tony Ricciardello. With his 6lt Alfa Romeo GTV taking a maximum of 60 points from the weekend after three straight victories what will it take to stop this guy? Oh, did I mention the lap record of 1:30.7301 to add to his lap record from Phillip Island? Kerry Baily in the Nissan 300ZX proved his consistency to finish second with 45 points for the weekend ahead of the Chev Corvette of Des Wall on 40 who just held off Dean Randle with 39.

The Australian Superkart Championship saw Queenslander Carlo Chermaz claim the overall victory with consistency throughout the weekend with a good haul of 68 points. Robert Oakley and Warren McIIveen followed closely with 62 and 60 points respectively but both drivers would have claimed the overall win had they not had poor results in race 2 and 1 respectively. Another weekend of lap records tumbled, this time at the hands of Warren McIIveen with an outstanding lap of only 1:30.2940 which was amazingly half a second faster than the 6lt Chev of Tony Ricciardello. That's fast!


Unfortunately, Formula 4000 did not provide the AMRS with a category Press Release as requested.


The AMRS Show and Shine went off with a bang as 42 cars turned up at Eastern Creek on the Sunday morning under blue skies. Supported by XBOX launching their new game Forza Motorsport, the AMRS Show and Shine was well supported by Port a Shade, Auto shine, High-tech oil, Hocking Racing Shop who were also proudly supported by the HSV Car Club of NSW and the Commodore Car Club of NSW who came along in force for the day.

Next AMRS Show and Shine will be at round six of the AMRS at Phillip Island on August 20th -- 21st. Expect to see the A9X Car Club, HSV Car Club, Commodore Car Club of Vic and the Holden Sporting Car Club of Victoria. More information contact Richard McLean on rich.mac@bigpond.net.au

The next chance for Corporate Box packages is Phillip Island on the 21st of August with a very reasonable entry fee of $95 per person; for more information contact Peter Nelson on 0419 394 631 or peter.nelson@piarc.com.au


Round six of the AMRS from Eastern Creek Raceway will be shown on SBS Speedweek and Fox Sports -- Inside Speed respectively.

Log onto the Phillip Island Auto Racing Club's website for all pre-event ticket purchases www.piarc.com.au with entry only $20 for the entire weekend. For more detailed information about the entire AMRS 2005 season jump online and visit www.amrs.net.au


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CAMS
Drivers Des Wall , Peter Hackett , Andrew Gillespie , Ian Palmer , Luke Searle , Colin Osborne , Trevor Keene , Bryce Washington , Tony Ricciardello , Mark Eddy , Terry Wyhoon , Aaron Caratti , Drew Russell , Scott Anderson , Phillip Island