Bathurst 12: Wilson Brothers Racing gets ready for 2009

Subaru's Triple Trouble for Bathurst Competition Gold Coast based Wilson Brothers Racing are in overdrive preparing a massive three car Subaru WRX Sti assault on the WPS Bathurst 12 Hour, to be held on the famed Mount Panorama circuit on...

Subaru's Triple Trouble for Bathurst Competition

Gold Coast based Wilson Brothers Racing are in overdrive preparing a massive three car Subaru WRX Sti assault on the WPS Bathurst 12 Hour, to be held on the famed Mount Panorama circuit on February 22.

After bringing two cars home in the top ten at the 2008 12 Hour classic, Wilson Brothers Racing went on to dominate the Production Car series with driver Lee Castle.

Castle will be back, teamed with the highly experienced duo of Craig Baird and Rodney Forbes, in the car which brought the team much success last season.

The second entry will feature a trio of Porsche experts, New Zealander Paul Kelly with Australians Dean Grant and Max Twigg, while the third entry will feature regular Production Car racer Chris Delfsma, Queenslander David Wood, and experienced tarmac rally driver Gary Tierney.

For team principal Cameron Wilson, the 2009 WPS Bathurst 12 Hour will be the culmination of a massive effort since the conclusion of the 2008 season.

"Ever since this event last year, we have kept our eye on the ball, and really built our Production Car program around the 12 Hour," said Wilson.

"With Lee on board for the season last year, we really developed the package well, and Lee showed that he had the pace to beat anyone.

"Craig Baird and Rodney Forbes need no introduction, both are massively experienced at Bathurst and in endurance races, and I really think this car should be a front runner.

"Craig has won this event before, as has Charlie O'Brien, who will be helping out with strategy in the pits, so that should put us in great stead.

"That said, the drivers in the other two cars should be on the front running pace no worries at all, the cars are all identical, and they will be able to share data between all of the drivers."

From a logistical standpoint, Wilson Brothers Racing has gained the use of a transporter for the event, which will also double as the dining area for the 28 crew members on hand.

"Being a three car effort, we really had to cover all of our bases," said Wilson.

"Each car will have its own dedicated crew, including refuelers, just in case all three cars have to stop simultaneously under safety car.

"From competing in the previous two Bathurst 12 Hours, we have learnt a lot of tricks with car and driver setup as well as strategy, so we are really looking forward to putting them into practice this year."

All three of the cars are currently undergoing a massive ground up rebuild at the Wilson Brothers Racing base on the Gold Coast, which has also seen the trio receive a new blue and black paint scheme.

The WPS Bathurst 12 Hour kicks off on Friday February 20 with practice, before qualifying on Saturday and the once around the clock race starting at 6:30am local time on Sunday.

2009 Wilson Brothers Racing Line Up

Car #25

Craig Baird
V8 Supercars, Carrera Cup, Endurance Racing, British Touring Car Championship
Long and distinguished career in all manner of racing cars, won the Bathurst 12 Hour in 2007, has won 25% of all races contested throughout his career.

Lee Castle
Production Cars, Go Karts
Revelation of 2008, won four out of the last five races of the year in the WBR Subaru on the way to winning the John Bowe Drivers Award.

Rodney Forbes
V8 Supercars, Carrera Cup, Endurance Racing, Formula Ford
Vastly experienced around Bathurst and in endurance racing, former winner of Privateers Cup in the Bathurst 1000.

Car #26

Max Twigg
Carrera Cup, Endurance Racing, Supercross/Motorcross
Spent the last three seasons in Carrera Cup, has competed in many international endurance races, former Australian Supercross and Motorcross Champion.

Dean Grant
Carrera Cup, Endurance Racing
Two time Pilatus Challenge winner in Carrera Cup, raced in the 2007 12 Hour in a BMW to finish in the top 10.

Paul Kelly
NZ Porsche GT3 Championship, Endurance Racing
Vastly experienced Kiwi, has raced in international endurance races such as Nurburgring, Dubai and Sepang.

Car #22

Chris Delfsma
Production Cars
Former class winner in Bathurst 12 Hour, was a regular front running in the Production Car championship in 2008, including second to Lee Castle in the final round at Sandown.

David Wood
Formula Ford, Improved Production, Queensland Geminis
Greatly experienced state racer from Queensland, has been a front runner in everything he has ever raced.

Gary Tierney
Tarmac Rallying
Regular on the tarmac rally scene, has competed in the past 13 Targa Tasmanias, Classic Adelaides, Rally Tasmania and Dutton Rallies to name a few.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series CAMS
Drivers Craig Baird , John Bowe , Rodney Forbes , Max Twigg , Paul Kelly , Dean Grant , Chris Delfsma , David Wood , Gary Tierney , Lee Castle