Two-time champions Plato and Turkington team up at BMR

Heavyweights join Volkswagen squad to take on best of British tin-top racers.

Colin Turkington and Jason Plato will team up in the 2015 British Touring Car Championship after joining the Team BMR Volkswagen squad.

The duo, who finished first and second in last year's championship, will drive the team's Volkswagens CCs alongside team boss Warren Scott and Aron Smith.

Plato drove for the Triple Eight-run MG squad for the past three seasons, taking 28 victories in total.

"The decision for me to get involved with the outfit just became easier and easier," said Plato. "It's a fantastic team of people, it's well funded and it has the right ingredients to bake the best cake there is. 

"It's something quite serious that Warren has put together, he's not playing games. 

"The driver line-up is right up there (with any I've been in), we've got two heavyweights in the same team from a technical point of view and the two guys who were the focus last year on track. I think it's going to be amazing. 

"The performance push that both of us will give will help everybody."

Turkington to defend title after BMW switch

Turkington won his second BTCC title last year with West Surrey Racing's BMW and will be able to try to defend his crown for the first time after being left without a seat in 2010.

"I'm delighted to be defending my BTCC crown with Team BMR," said Turkington. "Getting behind the wheel of the Volkswagen is a fresh challenge after seven seasons in rear-wheel drive machinery. 

"I know that I'll need to work harder than ever to get up to speed, but I'm extremely motivated to succeed. 

"Team BMR is still a relatively young outfit in the BTCC, however there is a strong team of experienced personnel behind the scenes working incredibly hard to make sure we can challenge at the front from the off. The collective ambition, motivation and hunger to win made this the perfect opportunity for me."

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Drivers Jason Plato , Colin Turkington , Warren Scott , Aron Taylor-Smith
Article type Breaking news
Tags bmr, btcc champions, volkswagen