Thruxton BTCC: Morgan wins shortened Race 1 amid tyre drama

Thruxton BTCC: Morgan wins shortened Race 1 amid tyre drama
May 8, 2016, 12:33 PM

Adam Morgan became the first driver to take two BTCC victories in 2016 after a frantic first race at Thruxton ended early after a huge incident on the start/finish straight.

Aiden Moffat, Laser Tools Racing
Andrew Jordan, Motorbase Performance
Hunter Abbott, Power Maxed Racing
Jake Hill, Tony Gilham Racing
Tom Ingram, Speedworks Motorsport
Kelvin Fletcher, Power Maxed Racing
Matt Simpson, Speedworks Motorsport
Robert Collard, West Surrey Racing
Matt Neal, Team Dynamics
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance

The race began with Honda’s Matt Neal jumping to the top of the field off the line, despite carrying 75kg of weight ballast, keeping Tom Ingram behind in second.

Aiden Moffat, who started from the front row for the first time of his BTCC career, had a terrible opening lap, going off at the complex and plummeting down the order.

The action continued on the next lap as Ashley Sutton’s MG6 went into the barriers at Goodwood, while Moffat, who had clawed his way back up the order, battled with Ingram for fourth place.

Morgan, then, began his charge, working his way up from fifth to take the lead on lap five at the front of a huge group of at least six cars, all vying for the same patch of tarmac.

Moffat continued his fight back, taking second place from Neal a lap later. It all went downhill from lap ten onward, however, as Moffat went straight on at the complex for the second time, this time for a left-front puncture.

His tyre giving way was the first of many, with Mat Jackson and Mark Howard also losing their left-front on the same lap.

Neal suffered the same fate a lap later, with his tyre giving way on the entry to the chicane, and leaving him stranded on the outside of the circuit as he attempted to make his way to the pits.

As he tried to get across he was collected by Josh Cook’s MG, which resulted in a number of cars being collected, including Gordon Shedden, Jake Hill and Jeff Smith.

The resulting damage across the start line was so severe that the officials were left no choice but to call the race, with Morgan taking his second of the year and Ingram and Andrew Jordan filling the podium positions.

The incident and red flag promoted many people up the field, with Martin Depper taking fourth, before the West Surrey Racing trio of Rob Collard, Sam Tordoff and Jack Goff taking fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Dan Welch, Jake Hill and Mike Epps rounded out the top ten, with series newby Dan Lloyd taking eleventh place.

The final points positions went to Matt Simpson, Rob Austin, Hunter Abbott and Alex Martin.

Race 1 results - Top 10:

PosDriver CarTime/Gap
 Adam Morgan Mercedes 14'41.826
 Tom Ingram Toyota 3.310
 Andrew Jordan Ford 3.820
 Jeff Smith Honda 5.115
 Martin Depper Honda 5.824
 Rob Collard BMW 6.464
 Sam Tordoff BMW 6.932
 Jack Goff BMW 8.179
 Daniel Welch Proton 8.672
10   Jake Hill Toyota 8.809

James Charman / TouringCarTimes

Next article
Subaru withdraws from Thruxton on safety grounds

Previous article

Subaru withdraws from Thruxton on safety grounds

Next article

Hot weather forces BTCC to shorten Thruxton races

Hot weather forces BTCC to shorten Thruxton races
Load comments

About this article

Series BTCC
Event Thruxton
Location Thruxton
Be first to get
breaking news