Formula E
27 Feb
29 Feb
Event finished
Berlin E-prix
20 Jun
21 Jun
Next event in
80 days
Formula 1
11 Jun
14 Jun
FP1 in
72 days
25 Jun
28 Jun
FP1 in
86 days
14 May
17 May
Next event in
43 days
Italian GP
28 May
31 May
Next event in
57 days
06 Mar
08 Mar
Event finished
07 May
09 May
Next event in
36 days
29 May
31 May
Next event in
58 days
04 Jun
06 Jun
Next event in
64 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
12 Mar
15 Mar
Event finished
05 Jun
07 Jun
Next event in
65 days

Snetterton BTCC: Turkington wins again as Hondas collide

Snetterton BTCC: Turkington wins again as Hondas collide
Aug 9, 2015, 2:14 PM

Despite carrying maximum success ballast after his race one victory, Colin Turkington comfortably converted another pole position into a win in race two at Snetterton.

Colin Turkington, Team BMR
Colin Turkington, Team BMR
Colin Turkington, Team BMR
Adam Morgan, WIX Racing
Andy Priaulx, Team IHG Rewards Club
Jason Plato, Team BMR
Sam Tordoff, Team JCT1600 With Gardx

While it was another stellar launch off the line for the poleman, the BMW of Sam Tordoff struggled to get away from second and slipped behind both the Mercedes of Adam Morgan and teammate Andy Priaulx.

Further down the field, there was drama for Honda as Matt Neal made contact with Gordon Shedden  heading into the Hamilton corner, which sent the Scotsman spinning and put him out of the race with damage to his left rear wheel.

Shedden wasn't the only casualty of the race's hectic start, with seven other cars ruled out of contention - race one runner-up Aron Smith among them, his car badly crabbing after contact.

As the race finally settled into a rhythm, Turkington maintained a safe distance to Morgan, while Priaulx, Tordoff and Jason Plato all lined up close behind the Ciceley driver.

The pressure from those behind eventually saw Morgan's pace drop, allowing Turkington to almost double his advantage in no time.

The BMR driver went on coast to the chequered flag and the intrigue in the final minutes was all contained in the fight for second place.

But the podium would stay as it was, Morgan narrowly keeping Priaulx at bay for the runner-up spot.

Plato, running the soft tyre, claimed fourth after overtaking Tordoff early in the race, while Jack Goff brought the car home in sixth ahead of MG teammate Andrew Jordan.

Tom Ingram was all set for an eighth place when a last-lap puncture took him out of contention, promoting Mat Jackson, Rob Austin and Mike Bushell.

Nic Hamilton recorded his best finish in BTCC yet with a 16th place, one spot away from a maiden point, having started from the pits.

Despite early contact with Shedden, Neal had managed to hang on to a top-ten spot early in the race when he was shown a black-and-orange flag due to excessive damage to the front of his car.

Shedden himself, having started the weekend as the points leader, now sits third, with Turkington moving past him and trailing leader Plato by eight points.

Pos. Driver Car Time/Gap
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 23'51.149
Adam Morgan Mercedes 3.140
Andy Priaulx BMW 3.320
Jason Plato Volkswagen 3.502
Sam Tordoff BMW 3.757
Jack Goff MG 5.280
Andrew Jordan MG 14.236
Mat Jackson Ford 21.381
Rob Austin Audi 24.378
10  Mike Bushell Ford 25.172
11  James Cole Ford 28.777
12  Hunter Abbott Audi 32.120
13  Barry Horne Ford 42.334
14  Robb Holland Toyota 42.939
15  Derek Palmer Jr. Infiniti 43.814
16  Nicolas Hamilton Audi 1'20.842
17  Josh Cook Chevrolet 1'25.093
18  Jeff Smith Honda 1 Lap
19  Tom Ingram Toyota 1 Lap
Ret Rob Collard BMW -
Ret Matt Neal Honda -
Ret Aron Smith Volkswagen -
Ret Dave Newsham Chevrolet -
Ret Martin Depper Honda -
Ret Kieran Gallagher Toyota -
Ret Gordon Shedden Honda -
Ret Warren Scott Volkswagen -
Ret Stewart Lines Toyota -
Next article
Snetterton BTCC: Turkington dominates opening race

Previous article

Snetterton BTCC: Turkington dominates opening race

Next article

Snetterton BTCC: Goff keeps Plato at bay for maiden win

Snetterton BTCC: Goff keeps Plato at bay for maiden win
Load comments

About this article

Series BTCC
Event Snetterton
Sub-event Sunday race 2
Location Snetterton
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Colin Thompson , Adam Morgan
Teams Team BMR
Author Valentin Khorounzhiy