Snetterton BTCC: Turkington dominates opening race

Reigning BTCC champion Colin Turkington converted pole position into a dominant victory in the first race of the Snetterton weekend, leading an all-Team BMR podium.

Having locked out the top three spots on the grid, the Volkswagens of Turkington, Aron Smith and Jason Plato led away from the start in that order, with Andrew Jordan's MG the only man able to keep pace in the early stages.

Turkington wasted no time in edging away from Smith, quickly establishing a two second cushion after four laps, setting the fastest lap in the process to bag race two pole.

The Ulsterman was able to keep up his pace out front, despite running the less favoured soft tyre, and seal a second victory of the season by 1.7s from Smith.

As the top four broke away, a queue of cars steadily formed in the wake of fifth-placed Matt Neal (Honda), led by Andy Priaulx's BMW.

While Neal struggled on the soft tyre, carrying 57kg of success ballast, Priaulx made the move for fifth just after half-distance and proceeded to catch the top four - arriving on Jordan's tail by the final lap.

But there was nothing the triple World Touring Car champion could do to improve his position, as Smith took second from Plato, Jordan and Priaulx.

Neal hung on to sixth place, with Adam Morgan (Mercedes), Dave Newsham (Chevrolet), Jack Goff (MG) and Tom Ingram (Toyota) all in close company as the chequered flag fell.

From 16th on the grid, points leader Gordon Shedden had made his way up as high as 11th before a combination of soft tyre degradation and maximum success ballast saw him fall to 14th.

The Scotsman ceded the lead of the championship to the Plato by three points, with Turkington now a further 13 back in third.

Rob Collard was an early casualty after having the rear of his BMW hit by WSR teammate Sam Tordoff at the start, while the first race of Nic Hamilton's second-ever BTCC meeting came to a premature end after late contact with Stewart Lines.

Full results

Pos. Driver Car Time/Gap
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 23'46.381
Aron Smith
Volkswagen 1.706
Jason Plato Volkswagen 2.651
Andrew Jordan MG 3.442
Andy Priaulx BMW 3.732
Matt Neal Honda 8.340
Adam Morgan Mercedes 9.372
Dave Newsham Chevrolet 9.848
Jack Goff MG 10.045
10  Tom Ingram Toyota 11.206
11  Sam Tordoff BMW 15.928
12  Mat Jackson Ford 18.271
13  Warren Scott Volkswagen 18.322
14  Gordon Shedden Honda 23.640
15  Josh Cook Chevrolet 24.482
16  Mike Bushell Ford 24.919
17  Martin Depper Honda 25.357
18  Hunter Abbott Audi 25.603
19  Robb Holland Toyota 29.191
20  Barry Horne Ford 29.855
21  James Cole Ford 31.690
22  Derek Palmer Jr. Infiniti 42.713
23  Kieran Gallagher Toyota 1'06.737
24  Stewart Lines Toyota 1'17.497
25  Rob Austin Audi 2'08.449
26  Jeff Smith Honda 1 lap
Nicolas Hamilton Audi  
Rob Collard BMW  


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Event Snetterton
Track Snetterton
Drivers Jason Plato , Colin Turkington , Aron Taylor-Smith
Teams Team BMR
Article type Race report