Rockingham BTCC: Shedden beats Jackson in race 2

Honda's Gordon Shedden extended his BTCC championship lead with a dominant win from pole in the second race at Rockingham.

Shedden beat Motorbase Performance's Mat Jackson, while Josh Cook took a last-gasp maiden podium for Power Maxed Racing in third.

Shedden made a fine start as Jackson passed Cicely Racing's Adam Morgan for second, and those three positions remained the same until a dramatic final lap.

Cook had made stellar forward progress from 14th on the grid and had been close to the back of Morgan's Mercedes A-Class for three laps. Morgan defended stoutly, before Cook launched his Chevrolet Cruze around the outside of Morgan at the Brook chicane at the final corner.

Morgan had to settle for fourth ahead of Shedden's team-mate Matt Neal, who also made plenty of forward progress after a slow start.

Rob Austin held on to sixth ahead of a charging Jason Plato, the Team BMR man pulling off several demon overtakes on the way to seventh, with Colin Turkington, Jack Goff and Tom Ingram rounding out the top 10.

Ingram's endeavours also landed him pole position for the final race, after the reverse grid draw made by series director Alan Gow.

After a formation start, Jackson passed Morgan in a decisive move at Yentwood, before Cook started making his forward charge on the fourth tour by passing Jeff Smith at Deene.

Neal also passed Smith on lap four after deposing of Hunter Abbott on lap three, before Cook passed Austin at Deene on lap six.

Fortunes were not so great for Cook's team-mate Dave Newsham, who retired his crabbing car after contact with West Surrey Racing's Nick Foster at Deene on the same lap.

The Chevrolet then passed Turkington at Deene on lap eight and Goff at Yentwood on lap nine, before Abbott was turned around at Pif Paf and Rob Collard had to take to the grass in avoidance.

Neal continued his charge, passing Austin, Turkington and Goff in consecutive laps to take fifth by lap 11, before Support Our Paras Racing's Derek Palmer Jr was turned around unceremoniously by Team Parker Racing's Alex Martin.

As the race entered its closing stages, Plato made a demon move on West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff and team-mate Turkington in one move at Deene, before quickly catching and passing Goff.

The drama continued right up to the final corner, with Shedden's win extending his championship lead to 20 points.

Ian Gallagher/TouringCarTimes

Pos  Driver  Car Time/Gap
Gordon Shedden Honda 22'42.190 
Mat Jackson Ford 2.778
Josh Cook Chevrolet 5.185
Adam Morgan Mercedes 5.434
Matt Neal Honda 6.765
Rob Austin Audi 7.203
Jason Plato Volkswagen 17.303
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 20.753
Jack Goff MG 20.936
10  Tom Ingram Toyota 20.955
11  Árón Smith Volkswagen 21.514
12  Andrew Jordan MG 22.660
13  Aiden Moffat Mercedes 22.711
14  Sam Tordoff BMW 22.805
15  Jeff Smith Honda 24.144
16  Nick Foster BMW 24.728
17  James Cole Ford 25.836
18  Martin Depper Honda 31.682
19  Daniel Welch Proton 35.127
20  Warren Scott Volkswagen 35.701
21  Mike Bushell Ford 38.368
22  Robb Holland Toyota 38.774
23  Hunter Abbott Audi 44.972
24  Nicolas Hamilton Audi 49.152
25  Derek Palmer Jr. Infiniti 50.519
26  Alex Martin Ford 56.968
27  Stewart Lines Toyota 1'06.529
28  Rob Collard BMW  
Dave Newsham Chevrolet  
Kieran Gallagher Toyota
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Event Rockingham
Track Rockingham Motor Speedway
Drivers Gordon Shedden
Teams Team Dynamics
Article type Race report