Plato repels Collard for second Thruxton win

Jason Plato took a second BTCC win of the season in Thruxton's second race, hanging on ahead of Rob Collard in a race-long scrap at the head of the field.

From second on the grid, it was Collard that led at the start of the race, leapfrogging polesitter Plato as the lights went out as chaos ensued behind.

Contact between Andy Priaulx and Adam Morgan as the field swept through Allard at the start put the West Surrey Racing driver sideways; Priaulx was able to recover, only to get tangled up with Warren Scott and Stewart Lines at the complex immediately afterwards to end his race.

As Jeff Smith and Josh Cook went off track in avoidance, both getting advertising hoardings stuck to the front of their respective cars, Morgan got away relatively unscathed, dropping to 10th as Collard led from Plato’s BMR Volkswagen.

Collard’s lead proved brief however, as Plato was able to pass the WSR BMW man approaching Club chicane on the second lap. Collard was able to stay on the tail of the two-time champion for the remainder of the race, but Plato afforded no opportunity to pass and duly hung on for the win.

There was a similarly close scrap for third between Gordon Shedden and Jack Goff. The MG driver reeled off the final laps right on Shedden’s tail, the Honda Civic Type-R laden with maximum success ballast, but was unable to find a way through as the Scot clinched the final podium place.

Goff was helped by a mid-distance clash at the complex between Matt Neal’s Honda and Aron Smith’s VW that gave the former a puncture and triggered a steady descent through the order for the Irishman.

The pair’s misfortunes also allowed Colin Turkington’s BMR-run machine to come home fifth, from WSR BMW driver Sam Tordoff, Andrew Jordan in the second of the factory MGs and Morgan’s Mercedes.

Smith ended up finishing 11th behind Rob Austin’s Audi and Aiden Moffat’s Mercedes, while Infiniti’s Martin Donnelly finished his second ever BTCC race down in 19th.

Race Results:

Pos Driver Car Time/Gap
Jason Plato Volkswagen 21m05.521
Rob Collard BMW 0.442
Gordon Shedden Honda 3.475
Jack Goff MG 4.022
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 6.962
Sam Tordoff BMW 10.385
Andrew Jordan MG 10.833
Adam Morgan Mercedes 12.963
Rob Austin Audi 13.755
10  Aiden Moffat Mercedes 14.339
11  Árón Smith Volkswagen 17.095
12  Dave Newsham Chevrolet 18.046
13  Martin Depper Honda 20.161
14  Hunter Abbott Audi 27.429
15  Kieran Gallagher Toyota 40.166
16  Stewart Lines Toyota 40.667
17  Derek Palmer Jr. Infiniti 47.743
18  Josh Cook Chevrolet 47.915
19  Martin Donnelly Infiniti 58.602
20  Jeff Smith Honda 1m02.093
21  Andy Wilmot Proton 1 Lap
Ret Warren Scott Volkswagen
Ret Tom Ingram Toyota
Ret Andy Priaulx BMW
Ret Matt Neal Honda

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Event Thruxton
Track Thruxton
Drivers Jason Plato , Robert Collard , Gordon Shedden
Teams Team BMR
Article type Race report