Plato holds off Shedden to double up at Oulton

Jason Plato became the first driver this season to secure back-to-back BTCC wins at Oulton Park, resisting a strong challenge by Gordon Shedden to seal the victory.

Having secured pole by dint of setting the fastest lap in race one, Plato led away at the start from Shedden, Andrew Jordan and Rob Collard, who vaulted from his grid slot of eighth to fourth ahead of WSR teammate Andy Priaulx.

But, laden with 75kg of success ballast, Plato was unable to make good his escape as he did earlier in the day, Shedden's Honda stalking the two-time champion's Volkswagen for most of the race.

Some expert defending allowed Plato to retain the lead throughout despite his weight penalty, Shedden getting right on the leader's bumper at the Island hairpin on multiple occasions but never quite looking like passing.

That was until the very last lap of the race, as Shedden managed to close in once more, getting a superior run out of the final corner and very nearly pipping his rival to the post - ultimately missing out by just 0.063s in a drag race to the chequered flag.

Behind, Jordan was a comfortable third, never able to trouble the leading duo but remaining clear of the two BMWs of Collard and Priaulx behind.

But there was disaster for the WSR squad on the final lap as Priaulx made contact with Collard while trying to pass at Island, breaking his teammate's rear-left suspension and putting himself out of points contention to add insult to injury.

That allowed Matt Neal's Honda to come through for fourth and the third BMW of Sam Tordoff to take fifth, having earlier dispatched Adam Morgan and Aron Smith in an entertaining scrap for what had been seventh place.

Morgan completed the top half-dozen finishers ahead of Smith, who was forced to defend from his recovering BMR teammate Colin Turkington in the closing stages.

Jack Goff's MG and the Eurotech Honda of Jeff Smith completed the top 10, while Priaulx limped home in 15th.

Race results:

 Pos Driver Car Time/Gap
Jason Plato Volkswagen 21'55.812
Gordon Shedden Honda 0.093
Andrew Jordan MG 1.520
Matt Neal Honda 7.403
Sam Tordoff BMW 8.369
Adam Morgan Mercedes 9.822
Aron Smith Volkswagen 11.536
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 11.787
Jack Goff MG 12.276
10  Jeff Smith Honda 15.654
11  Tom Ingram Toyota 16.116
12  Martin Depper Honda 16.865
13  Aiden Moffat Mercedes 23.715
14  Rob Austin Audi 23.809
15  Andy Priaulx BMW 26.437
16  Warren Scott Volkswagen 29.363
17  Daniel Welch Proton 31.528
18  Alex Martin Ford 32.011
19  Stewart Lines Toyota 34.507
20  Derek Palmer Infiniti 36.549
21  Simon Belcher Toyota 40.226
22  Mike Bushell Ford 40.785
23  Hunter Abbott Audi 40.902
24  Andy Wilmot Proton 51.121
25  Kieran Gallagher Toyota 1 Lap
26  Josh Cook Chevrolet 1 Lap
Ret Rob Collard BMW -


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Event Oulton Park
Track Oulton Park Circuit
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Jason Plato , Rob Collard , Gordon Shedden , Andrew Jordan
Teams Team BMR
Article type Race report