Knockhill BTCC: Priaulx leads all-WSR front row

Andy Priaulx took pole in a West Surrey Racing one-two at Knockhill, beating teammate Sam Tordoff by just 0.152 seconds.

The West Surrey Racing trio made some late session leaps up to the top of the timesheets, with Priaulx and Tordoff's times coming with just 90 seconds until the drop of the chequered flag.

Rob Collard was also on form for the BMW squad, taking fourth behind the Ford Focus of Mat Jackson.

Jackson held the top spot for the majority of the session, holding back various challenges from the Priaulx, Tordoff and Collard, as well as the two Honda Civic Type Rs of Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden.

Shedden would have to settle for fifth, while Neal ended in seventh place, the Audi of Rob Austin splitting the pair of red-and-white Hondas.

Andrew Jordan was right on the ragged edge in the final flurry of laps, getting incredibly sideways out of the Arnold Clark Chicane, before being able to improve his time up to eighth on the final lap.

Reigning champion and two-time winner at Snetterton Colin Turkington took ninth, while Adam Morgan rounded out the top ten.

Besides from Turkington's ninth place, it was a session to forget for Team BMR, with Aron Smith taking 14th, Warren Scott taking 17th and Jason Plato having to settle for 22nd, only 0.771 seconds behind the polesitter.

The session was punctuated by two red flags, the first being for the stricken Dan Welch and Jeff Smith, both suffering completely unrelated incidents at the same time. Welch's right front suspension failed with 18 minutes remaining in the thirty minute session, while Jeff Smith went off into the gravel trap.

The second red flag came with just five minutes to go when Neal lost his car going through Duffus Dip and ended up in the gravel trap on the outside of Leslie's.

Kieran Gallagher's session also ended early, pulling his Toyota Avensis in to the pits after just 10 laps in a plume of smoke.

James Charman / TouringCarTimes

 Pos   Driver   Car Time   Gap 
Andy Priaulx BMW 51.671  
Sam Tordoff BMW 51.823 0.152
Mat Jackson Ford 51.835 0.164
Rob Collard BMW 51.919 0.248
Gordon Shedden Honda 51.924 0.253
Rob Austin Audi 51.979 0.308
Matt Neal Honda 52.054 0.383
Andrew Jordan MG 52.061 0.390
Colin Turkington Volkswagen 52.134 0.463
10  Adam Morgan Mercedes 52.135 0.464
11  Aiden Moffat Mercedes 52.165 0.494
12  Tom Ingram Toyota 52.169 0.498
13  Jack Goff MG 52.206 0.535
14  Árón Smith Volkswagen 52.283 0.612
15  Jeff Smith Honda 52.320 0.649
16  Mike Bushell Ford 52.391 0.720
17  Warren Scott Volkswagen 52.400 0.729
18  James Cole Ford 52.401 0.730
19  Josh Cook Chevrolet 52.413 0.742
20  Martin Depper Honda 52.430 0.759
21  Hunter Abbott Audi 52.437 0.766
22  Jason Plato Volkswagen 52.442 0.771
23  Dave Newsham Chevrolet 52.524 0.853
24  Derek Palmer Jr. Infiniti 52.904 1.233
25  Robb Holland Toyota 53.359 1.688
26  Stewart Lines Toyota 53.379 1.708
 27  Alex Martin Ford 53.669 1.998
28  Daniel Welch Proton 54.381 2.710
29  Kieran Gallagher Toyota 54.513 2.842
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BTCC
Event Knockhill
Sub-event Saturday qualifying
Track Knockhill Racing Circuit
Drivers Andy Piaulx
Teams West Surrey Racing
Article type Qualifying report