Sumo Power GT drivers earn the Tourist Trophy

Hughes and Campbell-Walter presented with Tourist Trophy At the Royal Automobile Club yesterday (15th December), in London's Park Lane, Sumo Power GT drivers Warren Hughes and Jamie Campbell-Walter were presented with the Tourist Trophy. The...

Hughes and Campbell-Walter presented with Tourist Trophy

At the Royal Automobile Club yesterday (15th December), in London's Park Lane, Sumo Power GT drivers Warren Hughes and Jamie Campbell-Walter were presented with the Tourist Trophy. The award is regarded as one of the most prestigious in motor racing and, having first been presented in 1905, is internationally acknowledged to be the longest standing perpetual trophy in the sport.

Driving their Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-R, Hughes and Campbell-Walter originally secured the Tourist Trophy on 1st May, when they won round two of the FIA GT1 World Championship at Silverstone.

Although crossing the line in third, after the podium celebrations had been held it was announced that the second-placed drivers were given a 15-second penalty for not coming into the pits early enough to serve a drive-though penalty. Then, a few minutes later, it was revealed that at post-event scrutineering, the under-floor plank on the winner's car was found to measure less than the regulation thickness and was therefore excluded from the results.

The allocation of these two penalties subsequently catapulted Hughes and Campbell-Walter into first place, providing the drivers, Sumo Power GT and Nissan with its first ever victory in the FIA GT1 World Championship and consequently, they were declared winners of the Tourist Trophy. Since then, the Royal Automobile Club and the team have made a number of attempts to re-present the award but, due to circumstances beyond their control, it was not possible until yesterday.

Following a formal luncheon, the coveted Trophy was handed over by Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, Sir David Prosser. Also attending the event was seven-times previous winner and motorsport legend Sir Stirling Moss OBE, who congratulated Hughes, Campbell-Walter and the Sumo Power GT team on their impressive achievement.

It was noted that this success had taken place in the team's first season of competition and in only its second event. In addition, it was highlighted that Sumo Power GT are the only UK-based operation fielding cars in the FIA GT1 World Championship and that Nissan are only the second Japanese manufacturer to ever have won the Tourist Trophy. The presentation closed with the team being wished continued success for 2011.


Sir Stirling Moss OBE (Racing Legend)

"To win the Tourist Trophy has always been a real challenge, It certainly was in my day and this is what has made it a very important and prestigious award to receive. I therefore congratulate Jamie and Warren and their team on this fantastic achievement."

Ben Cussons (Chairman of the RAC motoring committee)

"It is great to see some new names on the trophy, especially as they were driving for a British team in its first season of competition. It is a shame the award could not have been presented at the race, or sooner but, as the history books will show, it was due to circumstances beyond anyone's control. I am therefore delighted that the worthy winners have now finally been presented with the award."

Warren Hughes (Driver)

"It's a real honour to be presented with the Tourist Trophy and to have my name added to the legendary list of winners that goes back as far as 1905. I would like to thank everyone who made this and our other successes this year possible. All in all, this season has surpassed our expectations."

Jamie Campbell-Walter (Driver) "I have to thank the team for giving Warren and I the opportunity to win the Tourist Trophy - as well as thank the Royal Automobile Club for putting up this award. We've had a fantastic year and have now been presented with the most famous trophy in motorsport. You couldn't ask for a better way to round off the season."

James Rumsey (Team Principal)

"When we first heard that the race for the Tourist Trophy was going to be included in the calendar this year, I didn't think that we would actually win it, bearing in mind it was going to be our second ever event. Therefore, to be here accepting this prestigious award on behalf of the team and NISMO is a very proud moment and a measure of the effort everyone involved has put into our first ever season."

Nigel Stepney (Team Manager)

"Ever since I was old enough to follow motorsport I remember hearing about the Tourist Trophy. It is something I've always wanted to win. I've come close in the past, but it has always alluded me, so it's great to finally be part of a team that has achieved this goal."

-source: sumo power gt

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Blancpain Sprint
Drivers Jamie Campbell-Walter , Warren Hughes , Stirling Moss
Teams Nissan Motorsport