Citroen Racing Trophy 2011 preview

Citroen Racing Trophy 2011 announced

The Citroen Racing Trophy (CRT) enters its fifth year as part of the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship with the announcement of a fantastic 85,500 total prize money for the UK's richest one make rally championship.

This year the CRT will feature two cars eligible for points and prize money, the stunning new Citroen DS3 R3 joining the existing C2R2 Max in the fight for the title. Prize money will be paid to CRT drivers who finish in the top five of the FIA homologated Group R runners on each event, adding an incentive to push hard against the other makes of car. Points will be allocated to the CRT finishers in order, the top three taking further cash prizes at the end of the season as the winner is crowned 2011 Citroen Racing Trophy champion.

The series will follow all seven rounds of Britain's premier rally championship, starting in just six weeks on Rallye Sunseeker International, with the Irish Citroen series coinciding on the Toddsleap Rally NI in August.

While Citroen UK is now focusing on the World stage, Citroen Racing, Total and Pirelli have pledged their support to Charles Hurst Motors, which will continue as the sole UK supplier of parts to the series, providing on event parts and technical backup for the fourth year.

C2R2 Max kits and second hand cars, some freshly upgraded from the basic R2 specification, are available via Charles Hurst Motors which is now taking orders for the DS3 R3.

Citroen Racing Trophy prize money per round*: 1st - 4000 2nd - 3000 3rd - 2000 4th - 1000 5th - 500

Citroen Racing Trophy end of season prize money 1st - 6000 2nd - 4000 3rd - 2000

2011 Citroen Racing Trophy scoring rounds 26 Feb - Rallye Sunseeker International 2 Apr - Bulldog International Rally North Wales 29/30 Apr - Pirelli International Rally 27/28 May - Jim Clark International Rally 19/20 Aug - Toddsleap International Rally NI 23/24 Sep - International Rally Yorkshire 28/29 Oct - Isle of Man International Rally**

*Paid to CRT drivers in FIA Group R overall event classification ** Double points scoring round

-source: brc

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series BRC
Drivers Jim Clark
Teams Citroën World Rally Team