HPROP: Madison Regatta: Race report

Nate Brown captures win at Madison, Ind. Brown secures third Unlimited Hydroplane win in four races over past two seasons. (Madison, Ind.) - Nate Brown, Preston, Wash., won today's Budweiser Madison Regatta presented by Cruisin' Auto at Madison,...

Nate Brown captures win at Madison, Ind.
Brown secures third Unlimited Hydroplane win in four races over past two seasons.

(Madison, Ind.) - Nate Brown, Preston, Wash., won today's Budweiser Madison Regatta presented by Cruisin' Auto at Madison, Ind., the second race of the Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane Series.

Brown, driving the U-16 Miss Elam Plus for the Ellstrom family, won his third career race and third in four consecutive races. Brown won the final two races of the 2001 season at Seattle and San Diego. The win also marked the fourth career victory for the Ellstrom family.

"I was definitely one driver who did not want last season to end," said Brown. "This team is on an incredible roll and hopefully we can continue this streak for another few weeks. Last year we only competed on the West Coast and that hurt our chances in the championship. This season that will be different as we will compete at every venue and will challenge for the championship."

The start of the Budweiser Madison Regatta presented by Cruisin' Auto was perfect as four boats crossed the starting buoy at the same time. Terry Troxell in the U-99 Miss Troxzilla led the group into the first turn and held the lead for the first three laps. Brown finally overtook Troxell on the third lap and did not relinquish his lead. Troxell was able to hold off defending series champion Dave Villwock in the U-1 Miss Budweiser for second place as Villwock finished in third.

Rounding out the top five was Michael Hanson in the U-9 Miss Bello's Pizza and Mike Weber in the U-10 Miss EMCOR.

* Nate Brown Tops in Qualifying

Nate Brown, driving the U-16 Miss Elam Plus, earned the top qualifying spot in Madison with a speed of 151.819 mph. Brown has been the top qualifier for three consecutive races which includes the last race of the 2001 season at San Diego and last week in Evansville.

* O'Doul's National High Points World Championship Standings

With his third place finish today, Dave Villwock continues to lead in the O'Doul's National High Points Championship standings. Villwock leads the championship with 291 points over Michael Hanson with 239 points and Nate Brown with 237 points. Terry Troxell currently sits in fourth with 230 points and Mark Tate has 194 points.

* Budweiser Madison Regatta presented by Cruisin' Auto Results:
1. U-16 Miss Elam Plus, Nate Brown
2. U-99 Miss Troxzilla, Terry Troxell
3. U-1 Miss Budweiser, Dave Villwock
4. U-9 Miss Bello's Pizza, Mike Hanson
5. U-10 Miss EMCOR, Mike Weber
6. U-2 Miss Trendwest, Mark Tate

The Budweiser Madison Regatta presented by Cruisin' Auto race will be televised on ESPN2 on Saturday, July 27 at 6:30 PM (EDT).

* Unlimited Fleet Travels to Detroit For APBA Gold Cup

Unlimited Hydroplane teams will pack up after today's race and head to Detroit, Mich. for the prestigious Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup (July 11-14) on the Detroit River. Considered the crown jewel for powerboat racers, the APBA Gold Cup, which dates back to 1904, is the oldest active motorsports trophy in the world.

"The series has produced two exciting weeks of competitive racing and it will only get better next weekend in Detroit," said Gary Garbrecht, Chairman of Hydro-Prop. "The APBA Gold Cup is the Stanley Cup for hockey players or the Heisman Trophy for college football players. The Gold Cup typically brings out the best in every driver and has produced some of the most thrilling races in the history of the sport. As evidenced last season from the increased competition, this weekend should be no different as a handful of drivers are capable of raising the Gold Cup on Sunday afternoon."

The APBA Gold Cup has been known to define the greatest Unlimited drivers of all-time. The legendary Bill Muncey won eight APBA Gold Cups and Chip Hanauer won an unprecedented 11 APBA Gold Cups. In addition, Miss Budweiser team owner Bernie Little has 13 APBA Gold Cups to his credit.

* Defending APBA Gold Cup Champion Michael Hanson

Michael Hanson returns to the Detroit River as the defending APBA Gold Cup Champion after winning a thrilling battle on the rough waters last season. Hanson secured his first career APBA Gold Cup and won the first career race for team owners Mike and Lori Jones. "Since the beginning of the year, I have been looking forward to returning to Detroit as the defending champion," said Hanson. "Last year was very special for myself, Mike and Lori and the entire team. The Detroit River is always ready and willing to test each driver with many obstacles. This year will be no different and we must be prepared for all four heats and the final."

* Expected Entries

Reigning APBA Gold Cup champion Michael Hanson will be in Detroit to defend his APBA Gold Cup. Challenging Hanson will be defending series champion Dave Villwock, Mark Tate, Mitch Evans, Steve David, Mike Weber, Jimmy King, Ken Muscatel, Nate Brown, Terry Troxell and Greg Hopp.

* Local Drivers Aim for Ultimate Goal

Mark Tate, Canton, Mich., Jimmy King, Richmond, Mich. and Mike Weber, a Detroit, Mich. native currently living in Dawsonville, GA. will have added support from family and friends as they compete on the Detroit River. Having all been raised in Michigan, the Detroit APBA Gold Cup race has sentimental meaning to all the drivers. "There would be nothing better than to win another Gold Cup here in Detroit," said Tate, who has two career APBA Gold Cup victories. "Winning the Gold Cup is similar to winning any major sporting championship but winning it in my hometown can't compare to anything. I returned to Unlimited racing for a variety of reasons, one of which was to challenge for the Gold Cup."

* Former APBA Gold Champion Returns to Detroit

Chip Hanauer, an 11-time APBA Gold Cup Champion, will return to Detroit for the Gold Cup but not to compete in the Unlimiteds. Hanauer and Trent Ling are the television broadcasters for all the Unlimited Hydroplane races that are shown on ESPN2.

In addition to the Unlimited Hydroplanes, many other powerboat races will highlight the Spirit of Detroit Thunderfestival including, Jersey Speed Skiffs, Inflatables and Vintage boats.

Practice and qualifying for the Unlimited Hydroplanes will begin on Thursday, July 11 with the finals scheduled for Sunday, July 14. The Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup will be televised on ESPN2 on Saturday, August 10 at 12:00 PM (EDT).

Headquartered in Lake Hamilton, Fla., HYDRO-PROP combines Unlimited Hydroplanes, the biggest, fastest racing boats in the world, with Formula One, the most versatile, fastest accelerating and fastest turning boats in the world. HYDRO-PROP events are held throughout North America and are the only forms of Professional Powerboat Racing televised on ESPN2. For more information on HYDRO-PROP, visit www.hydroprop.com


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Boat
Drivers Mitch Evans