HPROP: Gold Cup: Race report

Dave Villwock and Miss Budweiser win APBA Gold Cup. Villwock claims 5th Gold Cup and team owner Bernie Little's 14th. (Detroit, Mich.) - Dave Villwock piloted the U-1 Miss Budweiser to victory today at the Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup...

Dave Villwock and Miss Budweiser win APBA Gold Cup.
Villwock claims 5th Gold Cup and team owner Bernie Little's 14th.

(Detroit, Mich.) - Dave Villwock piloted the U-1 Miss Budweiser to victory today at the Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup at Detroit, Mich., the third race of the Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane Series. Villwock secured his 38th career Unlimited victory and 133rd for team owner Bernie Little. The win also marked Villwock's 5th Gold Cup and 14th Gold Cup for Little.

Villwock, timing the start perfectly in lane one, took the lead at the first turn and never looked back. The battle behind Villwock was heated with Terry Troxell in the U-99 Fox Hills Chrysler Jeep and the defending Gold Cup Champion Michael Hanson in the U-9 Tubby's Grilled Submarines battling for the second position during the first few laps. Troxell was able to separate himself from Hanson but could not catch Villwock.

Troxell ended up finishing in second with Hanson in third. Rounding out the top five were Steve David in the U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto in fourth and Mark Tate in the U-2 Miss Trendwest in fifth.

"The Detroit River is always very challenging and this year it showed its teeth again," said Villwock. "The River owed me for last year's rough ride and we are ecstatic to bring the Miss Budweiser team another Gold Cup victory. We definitely missed Bernie being here in Detroit and we really wanted to win this one for him."

Little was released from the hospital in Louisville, Kent. earlier today and returned to his home in Lakeland, Fla. in time to hear his son, Joe, give him a play-by-play description of the final heat and to describe his 14th Gold Cup victory.

"Each year Bernie sets three goals for the team; to win the first race of the season, to win the APBA Gold Cup and to win the championship," continued Villwock. "So far we are on track to make Bernie very happy."

"It will be a challenge all season long to win with the increased competition," continued Villwock. "We are just fortunate to get two early wins under our belt. Our main goal is to win the championship and the points we have gained at these first three races are very important for us in attempting to accomplish that goal."

* Thrilling Heat Action at Gold Cup
The eight preliminary heats at this year's Gold Cup produced some of the most thrilling and competitive races this season. Six different drivers produced heat victories with Nate Brown, Michael Hanson, Steve David and Terry Troxell each winning one heat while Dave Villwock and Mark Tate won two a piece.

*       O'Doul's High Point World Championship Standings

With his victory today, Dave Villwock increased his lead in the O'Doul's National High Points Championship standings. Villwock leads the championship with 466 points over Michael Hanson with 385 points and Terry Troxell with 370 points. Nate Brown currently sits in fourth with 327 points and Mark Tate has 326 points.

* Troxell Continues Podium Streak
Terry Troxell finished second at today's Gold Cup, the third consecutive time this season that Troxell has finished in second place. Troxell also added a heat victory and currently sits in third place in the points standings, only 15 points out of second place.

*       Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup Results:

1. U-1 Miss Budweiser, Dave Villwock
2. U-99 Fox Hills Chrysler Jeep, Terry Troxell
3. U-9 Tubby's Grilled Submarines, Mike Hanson
4. U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto, Steve David
5. U-2 Miss Trendwest, Mark Tate
6. U-10 Greektown Casino presents Miss DYC, Mike Weber

Did Not Make Final:
U-16 Miss Elam Plus, Nate Brown
U-100 Miss U.S. Chrysler Jeep, Greg Hopp
U-3 Master Tire, Mitch Evans
U-25 AIM Plastic, Dr. Ken Muscatel
U-8 LLumar Window Film, Jimmy King

The Chrysler Jeep Superstores APBA Gold Cup race will be televised on ESPN2 on Saturday, August 10 at 12:00 PM (EDT).

Next stop on the Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane Series is the Budweiser Columbia Cup at Tri-Cities, Wash. on July 26-28.

Headquartered in Lake Hamilton, Fla., HYDRO-PROP combines Unlimited Hydroplanes, the biggest, fastest racing boats in the world, with Formula One, the most versatile, fastest accelerating and fastest turning boats in the world. HYDRO-PROP events are held throughout North America and are the only forms of Professional Powerboat Racing televised on ESPN2. For more information on HYDRO-PROP, visit www.hydroprop.com


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Boat
Drivers Mitch Evans