SUPERCROSS: AUS: Round one summary

Marmont strikes first supercross blow KTM rider Jay Marmont's defence of his Australian Supercross Championship -- aka Supercross Masters - got off to the most emphatic of starts with a resounding victory in round one at the...

Marmont strikes first supercross blow

KTM rider Jay Marmont's defence of his Australian Supercross Championship -- aka Supercross Masters - got off to the most emphatic of starts with a resounding victory in round one at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre on August 21.

The 21-year-old from Wollongong (NSW), aboard the Motorex-backed 250SX, displayed his full repertoire at the same venue where he clinched the 2003 title, claiming the holeshot in the 20-lap Pro Open final before scoring an all-the-way victory over a dogged Danny Ham (Shift Motul Suzuki RM250). Tory Carroll, last year's Pro Lites champion, was third aboard his CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ250.

For KTM, it was the all-conquering outfit's third successive supercross victory in the city of churches, with Craig Anderson taking the chequered flag in 2002. Marmont said of his outing: "The changes the guys made to the bike before the semi-final paid dividends and helped me to get the holeshot in the semi and then the main.

"In the final, Hammy (Danny Ham) was the only one within striking distance, but I managed the gap so he couldn't get close enough to mount a challenge.

"The 'Rock' (American champion Mike LaRocco) is coming over for the next event, so I am keen to go head-to-head with him at the Sydney Superdome."

In front of 6000 spectators, Marmont's teammate Cheyne Boyd (250 SX) failed to make the final after a faultless run through the qualifying heats, but the eight-man final still included the likes of reigning number two Troy Dorron (No Fear Honda CR250), Pro Open debutante Daniel McCoy (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ250), Robbie Marshall (Serco Yamaha YZ250) and 1998 Pro Lites champion Craig Carmichael (Bill's Motorcycles Honda CRF450R).

Dorron, himself a three-time winner in the Pro Lites division, was shaping up as the biggest challenger to the Marmont-Ham duopoly in the early stages before a big crash on lap three saw his chances extinguished in one hit. Despite the torrid bingle, Dorron emerged with nothing more than the obligatory aches and bruises.

With passing at a premium on the typically tight indoor layout -- which had a huge triple jump as its centerpiece -- Carroll consolidated third after the Dorron incident, eventually finishing ahead of McCoy, Carmichael, Marshall and privateer Brad Hibberd (YZ250).

In Pro Lites, 30-year-old Cameron Taylor (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ250F) made good on his return to the smaller division for the first time since the late 1990s with a brilliant victory over Red Bull KTM's Danny Anderson (125 SX). Taylor, who only qualified for the 12-lap final through a last chance event, timed his charge to perfection, relegating Anderson to second on the final circuit with a brilliant mid-air passing move.

"I had a shay start to the day, coming off my bike twice... but it all came together and I really enjoyed myself out there," said Taylor. "Some of the younger guys are really fast, but I think fitness and experience got me through in the end."

With reigning number two Mitch Hoad (Shift Motul Suzuki RM-Z250) out of the equation with injury -- he crashed heavily in the preliminaries -- 18-year-old Reardon (Whales Kawasaki KX250F) welcomed a return to the more frenetic atmosphere of supercross in claiming the final podium position, ahead of the surprise packet of the evening - Victorian Blake Williams (Powerhouse Kawasaki KX250F). The 19-year-old completed proceedings ahead of some fancied names, including the trio of Adam Cini (Team Husqvarna), Jye Harvey (No Fear Honda CRF250R) and Team Kawasaki's Brent Landman (KX250F), who finished from 5-7. Championship rookie Wade Thompson (Serco Yamaha YZ250F) was eighth in a field that started 29-strong in the heats.

In the fledgling junior supercross title, South Australian Gianni Dalle-Molle (Fly Racing KX250F) dominated proceedings.

Round two of the Australian Supercross Championship will be held at the Sydney SuperDome on Saturday, September 4, with LaRocco bolstering the Pro Open ranks and Pro Lites star Ryan Marmont returning to the Pro Lites fray on his Motorex KTM 125 SX. <pre> Results Pro Open 1 Jay Marmont KTM 2 Danny Ham Suzuki 3 Troy Carroll Yamaha 4 Daniel McCoy Yamaha 5 Craig Carmichael Honda 6 Robbie Marshall Yamaha 7 Brad Hibberd Yamaha DNF Troy Dorron Honda

Pro Lites 1 Cameron Taylor Yamaha 2 Danny Anderson KTM 3 Daniel Reardon Kawasaki 4 Blake Williams Kawasaki 5 Adam Cini Husqvarna 6 Jye Harvey Honda 7 Brent Landman Kawasaki 8 Wade Thompson Yamaha

-Motorcycling Australia

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other bike
Drivers Mike LaRocco
Teams Williams