MOTO-ST: Iowa race summary

Aprilia USA 2 Wins Iowa Speedway 500K NEWTON, Iowa (July 14, 2007) & ...

Aprilia USA 2 Wins Iowa Speedway 500K

NEWTON, Iowa (July 14, 2007) – The No. 6 Aprilia USA 2 entry of Troy Green, Ty Howard and Henry Wiles won the inaugural Iowa Speedway 500K with a dominating ride on their Aprilia Tuono 1000R at Round 5 of the 2007 SunTrust MOTO-ST Series, winning by one lap over the second place team of the No. 69 team of Mark Crozier and Nathan Dressman on their Suzuki SV1000. Third place went to the No. 55 Team Motorrad Touring Sport team of James Chance III and Brad Hendry on their BMW R1200. The top three teams finished in that order in the Buell Motorsports Company SST class.

Ty Howard on the No. 6 Aprilia jumped out to an early lead ahead of the No. 32 Vallely Racing entry with Mike Himmelsbach on board their Suzuki SV1000 and the No. 69 SV1000 with Mark Crozier at the controls, all three riders turning 48-second lap times.

Himmelsbach and Crozier battled for the next hour until they both pitted for fuel and tires. The No. 21 Team Florida entry of Armando Ferrer, Gustavo Laya and Rodolfo Ramirez systematically moved their way to second place by lap 80, but a small crash set them back three laps later. This allowed the No. 55 Team Motorrad Touring Sport BMW XPLOR team to move into third place.

The No. 69 Suzuki solidified second place when the No. 32 Vallely bike encountered problems with their lighting system, eventually pushing their bike behind the wall. The No. 55 BMW held onto third place for their first podium of the season.

The battle for the ST class was fierce, with the No. 9 Pair-A-Nines Kawasaki EX650 of Jimmy Filice and Jay Springsteen slicing through the field and the No. 87 Suzuki SV650 entry of Scott Ryan and Brian Kcraget hot on their heels. The No. 9 bike finished an amazing fourth overall, eventually pulling a lap ahead of the No. 87 Suzuki, who finished a lap ahead of the No. 16 Suzuki SV650 of Justin Filice and Robert Fisher.

Eighth overall and first in the BMW GST class went to the No. 8 Richie Morris Racing Buell XB12 of Shawn Higbee and Dan Bilansky, who finished three laps ahead of the No. 70 James Gang Racing Buell XB12 of Paul James and Jeff Johnson, one lap ahead of the Ducati Supersport 1000 of the No. 77 Touring Sport Ducati team.

The race was called on lap 166 with about 30 minutes remaining after an accident involving Higbee, of Oconomowoc, Wis., and the No. 87 Suzuki SV650 of Brian Kcraget, of Danville, Va.

Injury report

-credit: garra/moto-st

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other bike
Drivers Ryan Scott , Mark Crozier , Shawn Higbee , Brad Hendry , James Paul , Armando Ferrer , Justin Filice , James Chance , Gustavo Laya , Robert Fisher , Brian Kcraget