Ahmed Yaseen to compete in 2016 Asia Talent Cup

The Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup revealed the names of the 21 riders who will be competing for the title in the 2016 season.

The list has 13 new names while seven riders will continue racing after finishing the 2015 season. For the first time in the Talent Cup history, an Indian rider will compete in the championship.

19-year-old Ahmed Kadai Yaseen will be one of the 13 new riders to participate in the 2016 season in a bid to get closer to his dream of racing in MotoGP.

In September, the Talent Cup committee shortlisted 126 hopefuls for the two-day test held at Sepang International Circuit in October where the riders went through an intensive selection process.

After the tests, 13 riders were selected with five on stand-by who underwent further training along with the 2015 riders, after which the final list was announced.

Full rider list:

Returning riders:

Kazuki Masaki (Japan)
Ai Ogura (Japan)
Ryusei Yamanaka (Japan)
Shengjunjie Zhou (China)
Gerry Salim (Indonesia)
Andi Izdihar (Indonesia)
Somkiat Chantra (Thailand)
Azroy Anuar (Malaysia)

New riders:

Shogo Kawasaki (Japan)
Yuki Kunii (Japan)
Riku Sugawara (Japan)
Alif Utama (Indonesia)
Irfan Ardiansyah (Indonesia)
Faldhan Mardani (Indonesia)
Basyiruddin Mashuri (Indonesia)
Dwiki Suparta (Indonesia)
Hakim Rizal (Malaysia)
Khairul Ajis (Malaysia)
Izam Ikmal (Malaysia)
Tom Edwards (Australia)
Ahmed Kadai Yaseen (India)

With seven riders Indonesia has the highest number of the participants while Japan has six, Malaysia has four and China, Australia, India and Thailand all having one each.

Yaseen is the eldest rider in the list while 12-year-old Yuki Kunii from Japan is the youngest.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other bike , Shell Asia Talent Cup
Article type Breaking news