SRO Motorsports Group Award Ceremony celebrates series champions

Blancpain GT Series victors front and center.

The 2014 season came to a festive end in London last Friday, when the SRO Motorsports Group Award Ceremony, held at The Brewery celebrated the champions of all the Series promoted by the SRO Motorsports Group.

Attended by more than 400 people from all series and championships organised by the SRO Motorsports Group, the annual Award Ceremony was the perfect occasion to put this year’s excellent performances in the spotlight.

The champions of the Blancpain GT Series were of course present to collect their well-earned trophies. Maximilian Götz (Blancpain Sprint Series) and Laurens Vanthoor (Blancpain Endurance Series Pro Cup and the overall Blancpain GT Series) took the most coveted drivers’ trophies, while the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT received three trophies for the team’s victory in Sprint, Endurance as well as the overall Blancpain GT Series. They even added the team trophy in the Silver Cup of the Sprint Series. Götz, Vanthoor and Belgian Audi Club Team WRT team principal Vincent Vosse each received a magnificent timepiece from the representative of Series title sponsor Blancpain.

The top-three teams of the overall Blancpain GT Series – Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, HTP Motorsport and Grasser Racing Team – were awarded with trophies and prizes from Pirelli, the official tyre supplier of the Series. The winning team receives 42 sets of tyres to be used in the 2015 Blancpain GT Series, with 28 sets for the second-placed team and 14 for the third.

Endurance Series

In the Endurance Series the Scuderia Villorba Corse and its drivers Stefano Gai and Andrea Rizzoli were honoured as winners of the Pro-Am Cup, while Francesco Guedes, David Mann and AF Corse received the Gentlemen Trophy’s cups. Further Blancpain Sprint Series trophies were handed over to Alessandro Latif, Marc Basseng and Phoenix Racing (Pro-Am Trophy) and the duo Vincent Abril-Mateusz Lisowski for winning the Silver Cup.

SRO Motorsports Group also introduced the Sean Edwards Trophy, which from 2015 onwards will be awarded to the best under-25 GT-driver in the Pro-Am category of the Blancpain Sprint Series. The 100.000 euros cheque that comes with the trophy should help the youngster to make the step to the Silver Cup the following season.

Now that the entertaining 2014 season has come to a close, the SRO Motorsports Group turns its attention to 2015, for the second season of the Blancpain GT Series and the inaugural editions of the GT Sports Club and Ultracar Sports Club. Action starts with the official test days of the Blancpain Endurance Series at Paul Ricard Circuit, on March 11-12th. We wish everybody a well-deserved and happy winter break and see you all in 2015!

2015 Blancpain GT Series Calendar

11th-12th March: Official Blancpain Endurance Series Test Days Paul Ricard
18th -19th March: Official Blancpain Sprint Series Test Days Misano
4th -6th April: Nogaro (FRA) – Sprint
11th -12th April: Monza (ITA) – Endurance 3 hours
9th -10th May: Brands Hatch (GBR) – Sprint
23rd -24th May: Silverstone (GBR) – Endurance 3 hours
5th -7th June: Zolder (BEL) - Sprint
19th -20th June: Paul Ricard 1000 (FRA) – Endurance 1000 kms.
24th June: Official Test Day Total 24 Hours of Spa (BEL) – Endurance
3rd -5th July: Moscow City (RUS)* - Sprint
23rd -26th July: Total 24 Hours of Spa (BEL) – Endurance 24h hours
4th -6th September: Algarve (PRT) – Sprint
19th -20th September: Nürburgring (DEU) – Endurance 3 hours
2nd -4th October: Misano (ITA) – Sprint
24th – 25th October: Baku World Challenge (AZE) - Sprint

* Pending event promoter agreement


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Blancpain Endurance
Drivers Vincent Vosse , Sean Edwards , Marc Basseng , Stefano Gai , Laurens Vanthoor , Andrea Rizzoli , Alessandro Latif , Maximilian Götz , Vincent Abril , Mateusz Lisowski
Teams AF Corse , Audi Sport Team WRT , Grasser Racing , Scuderia Villorba Corse , Phoenix Racing
Article type Special feature
Tags blancpain gt, sro, the brewery