No. 1 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 victorious at Spa

This year, an Audi won overall at Le Mans, the Nuburgring, and now at Spa-Francorchamps.

The No. 1 Audi R8 LMS Ultra of Rene Rast, Laurens Vanthoor and Markus Winkelhock has survived 24 grueling hours at Spa-Francorchamps to win the legendary race from pole position, completing 527 laps.

This is Rast's second overall victory here and the maiden Spa triumph for his co-drivers. Rast and Winkelhock were also a part of the winning Audi team from the 24 Hours of Nuburgring earlier this year.

The No. 77 BMW Sports Trophy Team BMW Z4, driven by Luhr, Werner, and Paltalla came home second. Taking home the final spot on the podium was the No. 3 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 LMS Ultra of Mies, Stippler, and Nash.

Behind them, it was the No. 26 Sainteloc Racing Audi R8 LMS, No. 86 HTP Motorsport Mercedes SLS AMG, No. 53 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia, No. 79 Ecurie Ecosse BMW Z4, No. 52 AF Corse Ferrari 485 Italia, No. 84 HTP Motorsport Mercedes SLS AMG, and the No. 38 MP Motorsport AMR Aston Martin Vantage rounding out the top ten.

The fastest lap of the race went to Bernd Schneider in the No. 84 Mercedes, despite only finishing ninth overall.




Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Blancpain Endurance
Event Spa-Francorchamps
Sub-event Sunday race
Track Spa-Francorchamps
Drivers Bernd Schneider , Markus Winkelhock , René Rast , Laurens Vanthoor
Teams AF Corse , MP Motorsport , Audi Sport Team WRT
Article type Race report