Impressive numbers for the 2015 Blancpain GT Series

One week before the official prize giving of the 2015 Blancpain GT Series in London, it is time to take a look back at what turned out to be a unique edition of the best GT championship on the motorsports planet.

0: number of laps the victorious #46 BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS Z4 had led in the Total 24 Hours of Spa before taking the lead in lap 406 and staying for the remaining 130 laps.

0.017 sec: the smallest margin to take pole position this year. It came at the longest race of the season, when Frank Stippler was fastest in the Superpole for the Total 24 Hours of Spa, at the wheel of the #2 Audi Sport Team WRT R8 LMS.

0.368 sec: the smallest gap between winner and second placed car in the Blancpain Sprint Series (#77 BMW Sports Trophy Team Brasil BMW and #3 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi at Nogaro)

1 pole position, that is all the champions in Sprint (Maxi Buhk and Vincent Abril) and the champions in Endurance (Wolfgang Reip, Katsumasa Chiyou and Alex Buncombe) needed on their way to their respective drivers titles.

2: number of laps led by Andy Meyrick, Guy Smith and Steven Kane with their #7 M-Sport Bentley during the Blancpain Endurance Series season. They still finished second in the championship.

3 drivers managed to score class points in every race of the Blancpain Endurance Series: it gave Jürgen Häring, Frank Schmickler and Dimitrios Konstantinou the runners-up spot in the Am Trophy.

3: number of Blancpain Endurance Series pole positions (out of 5 races) for the Lamborghini Huracan.

4 main races of the Sprint season : that was all Laurens Vanthoor was able to participate in during 2015. He won three of them.

4: number of occasions a driver pairing claimed a perfect score of 34 points in a round of the Blancpain Sprint Series: Frijns-Vanthoor in Brands Hatch and Zolder, Seefried-Siedler in Misano and Buhk-Abril in Zandvoort.

6 different drivers claimed pole position in the seven rounds of the Blancpain Sprint Series.

8 different models of car have taken at least one win during the 2015 Blancpain GT Series (BMW Z4 GT3, Lamborghini Huracan GT3, Audi R8 LMS ultra, McLaren 650S GT3, Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3, Lamborghini Gallardo GT3, Bentley Continental GT3, Ferrari 458 Italia)

7,988 sec: smallest gap between winner and second placed car in the Blancpain Endurance Series (#23 Nissan GT Academy Team RJN Nissan and #7 M-Sport Bentley at Paul Ricard)

11: average number of lead changes during the five rounds of the Blancpain Endurance Series

11 prestigious car brands were represented during the 2015 Blancpain GT Series

14: highest number of cars within the same second after a qualifying session of the Sprint Series (Q2 in Misano)

23: number of times the lead in the Total 24 Hours of Spa changed hands during the course of the race

24 different cars have led at least one lap during the Blancpain Endurance Series

24 cars qualified within one second after night qualifying in the Total 24 Hours of Spa

30,2°C was the highest air temperature for a Blancpain GT Series session at the Moscow Qualifying Race. Track temperature was 45,2°C.

35 different driver nationalities were represented during the Blancpain GT Series

61 cars were on the largest grid of the year, at the Silverstone round

311 drivers have participated in at least one round of the Blancpain GT Series

1496 laps were raced in the Blancpain GT Series, 524 in the Sprint Series, 972 in the Endurance Series

That makes for 8368,187 km of racing in 2015, 2167,749 km in the Sprint Series and 6258,749 in the Endurance Series (3754,144 of those in the Total 24 Hours of Spa)

2016 Blancpain GT Series Calendar

8th-10th March Official Blancpain GT Series Test Day Paul Ricard
08th-10th April Italy – Sprint
23rd-24th April Monza (ITA) – Endurance 3 hours
07-08th May Brands Hatch (GBR) – Sprint
14th-15th May Silverstone (GBR) – Endurance 3 hours
24th-25th June Circuit Paul Ricard (FRA) – Endurance 1000kms
01st-03th July Nürburgring (DEU) – Sprint
05th July Official Test Day Total 24 Hours of Spa (BEL)
28th-31st July Total 24 Hours of Spa (BEL) – Endurance 24 hours
26th-28th August Budapest (HUN)* - Sprint
17th-18th September Nürburgring (DEU) – Endurance 3 hours
01st-02nd October Barcelona (ESP) - Sprint

*subject to event promotor agreement

Blancpain GT Series

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Blancpain Endurance , Blancpain Sprint
Drivers Guy Smith , Steven Kane , Frank Stippler , Alex Buncombe , Andy Meyrick , Laurens Vanthoor , Robin Frijns , Frank Schmickler , Jürgen Häring , Dimitrios Konstantinou , Maximilian Buhk , Wolfgang Reip , Vincent Abril
Teams Audi Sport Team WRT , BMW Sports Trophy Team Brasil
Article type Breaking news
Tags audi r8, bentley continental, bmw z4, ferrari 458, lamborghini gallardo, lamborghini huracan, mclaren 650s, nissan gt-r nismo