NA-F2000: CHAMPCAR/CART: ACRL: Mid-Ohio fact sheet

<pre> WHAT: Miller Lite 200 Round 13 of 21 in the CART FedEx Championship Series WHO: Defending Miller Lite 200 champion Helio Castroneves and Champ Car drivers including Michael Andretti, ...


WHAT: Miller Lite 200 Round 13 of 21 in the CART FedEx Championship Series

WHO: Defending Miller Lite 200 champion Helio Castroneves and Champ Car drivers including Michael Andretti, Kenny Brack, Gil de Ferran, Dario Franchitti, Bryan Herta, Max Papis, Paul Tracy and Jimmy Vasser are all scheduled to race.

WHERE: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course 7721 Steam Corners Rd. Lexington, Ohio 44904

WHEN: Thursday, August 9 - Sunday, August 12

PROMOTER: TrueSports, Inc.

SANCTIONING BODY: Championship Auto Racing Teams, Inc.

EVENT SPONSORS: American Honda Motor Co., Inc. Miller Brewing Company WorldCom, Inc.

SERIES SPONSOR: Federal Express Corp.

RACE LENGTH: 83 laps/187.40 miles

COURSE: 2.258-mile, 13-turn permanent road course

DEFENDING               Helio Castroneves - Honda/Reynard
CHAMPION:                       1:44:59.029 / 106.558 mph

TRACK RECORD: One Lap (2.25 miles) Dario Franchitti (08/99) Gil de Ferran (08/00) 1:05.347 / 124.394 mph

EVENT HISTORY: The first CART event held at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course took place in 1980. This year marks the 20th CART FedEx Championship Series event (no race in 1981 and 1982) during Mid-Ohio's historic 40th Year of Racing.

Past race winners are Mario Andretti (1984), Michael Andretti (1990, 1991), Helio Castroneves (2000), Teo Fabi (1983, 1989), Adrian Fernandez (1998), Emerson Fittipaldi (1988, 1992, 1993), Roberto Guerrero (1987), Juan Montoya (1999), Bobby Rahal (1985, 1986), Johnny Rutherford (1980), Al Unser, Jr. (1994, 1995) and Alex Zanardi (1996, 1997). Two of the past four victors (Zanardi in 1997 and Montoya in 1999) went on to win the series point championship.

Last year at the Miller Lite 200 Gil de Ferran, 2000 CART FedEx Championship Series champ, captured the pole and held off the field for 28 laps until teammate Helio Castroneves used pit strategy to take the lead, which he maintained for the victory. The battle for fourth place was fierce with Max Papis edging out teammate Kenny Brack by less than eight-tenths of a second.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship (34 laps/76.78 miles)

The Dayton Indy Lights Championship will race for the second consecutive year at Mid-Ohio. It is CART's top-level development series, and is internationally recognized as one of the most competitive top-tier training ground series in the world. All drivers race Lola T97/20 chassis powered by 450-horsepower GM V6 engines that are sealed to prevent modifications. Indy Lights machines are capable of reaching speeds in excess of 190 mph. The Mid-Ohio race is Round 8 on the Dayton Indy Lights schedule.

Barber Dodge Pro Series (40 minutes)

Similar to the Dayton Indy Lights Championship, the Barber Dodge Pro Series is a training ground for CART. The series features a "spec" format, placing emphasis on driver development and skill rather than equipment. Competitors race identically prepared cars owned, maintained and transported by the Barber Dodge Pro Series. The open-wheel chassis are manufactured by Reynard and are powered by 3.5-liter V6 Dodge engines capable of producing 265 horsepower. The Barber Dodge Pro Series is now in its 16th year of competition.

U.S. F2000 National Championship (approximately 50 miles)

In 1995 when Formula Motorsports blended the SCCA's American Continental Championship with its own USAC FF2000 National Championship they created a training ground for open-wheel competition, the US F2000 National Championship. This series has produced such drivers as Memo Gidley, Alex Tagliani and the late Greg Moore.

American City Racing League (30 minutes)

The American City Racing League was created in 1988 to provide high quality recognition for cities and sponsors through motorsports. Teams from Akron, Atlanta, Chicago, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Detroit, Miami, Milwaukee, Palm Beach, Philadelphia, New York, Reading, St. Louis and Tampa score points based on the team's top three leading drivers' points. Drivers race for both individual and team prizes in Sports 2000, Classic Sports 2000 and Sports 1600 vehicles. Similar to football, a team effort can often outweigh an individual performance to help a city claim victory.

TICKETS: Call 1-800-MID-OHIO or 419-884-4000, Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. or visit the track's web site at <>.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Barber Pro , IndyCar , Indy Lights , Other open wheel , SCCA