Barber Dodge Pro Series, Round 4, Lime Rock Park

<pre> What: Round 4 of 12 of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series When: May 26-29, 2000. Qualifying Sat., May 27 at 11:10 a.m. (30 minutes) RACE START Mon., May 29 at 11:40 a.m. (40 minutes) Where: ...

<pre> What: Round 4 of 12 of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series

When: May 26-29, 2000. Qualifying Sat., May 27 at 11:10 a.m. (30 minutes) RACE START Mon., May 29 at 11:40 a.m. (40 minutes)

Where: Lime Rock Park, Lakeville, Conn.

Who: Twenty-four drivers from eight different countries

Television: Monday June 12, 2000 at 6:00 p.m. EDT on ESPN2.


* Last year's winner Townsend Bell is currently racing in the CART Dayton Indy Lights Series with Team Dorricott. * Fastest Race Lap in 1999: Rocky Moran Jr. at 00:54.972 sec (100.851 mph) * Fastest Qualifier in 1999: Rocky Moran Jr. at 00.54.920 sec (100.947 mph) * Rocky Moran Jr. is currently racing in the CART Toyota Atlantic Series with P-1 Racing. * Current CART driver Kenny Brack won the Lime Rock Park round of the 1993 Barber Pro Series

</pre> (LAKEVILLE, Conn.) May 23, 2000 -For the 14th straight year, the Barber Dodge Pro Series will take its place on the line up for the long running Memorial Day sports car racing tradition at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville, Conn. The fourth round of the 2000 Pro Series will take the start at 11:40 a.m. prior to the start of the Grand American Road Racing Dodge Dealers Grand Prix.

Two-race winner Nilton Rossoni and Jon Fogarty, who are tied for the championship lead with 40 points each after the first three rounds, are carrying the momentum going into the weekend. Picking up a full head of steam however are Sepp Koster and Ryan Hunter-Reay. Koster comes to Lime Rock Park with his first career Barber Dodge victory at the last round at Nazareth Motor Speedway in his back pocket. With 38 points in his championship account, Koster is only 2 off of the lead. Barber Dodge Big Scholarship winner Hunter-Reay leads all rookies in points, and is coming off of his best finish in his young Pro Series career with a close second place to Koster in Nazareth.

Sebring pole winner Michael Valiante lies fourth in the championship, only six points shy of the lead. The 1999 Barber Dodge Co-Rookie of the Year is looking for his first Pro Series win after finishing a close second to Rossoni earlier this year in Sebring.

Less than 23 points separate the balance of the Top-10 overall. Matt Plumb in sixth has 30 points to his tally and he is followed by Andy Lally (28pts.), Alexandre Sperafico (25), Barber Dodge Co-Rookie of the Year Roger Yasukawa (23) and rookie Thed Bjork (17). A win in the Barber Dodge Pro Series is worth 20 points withan additional point awarded to the pole winner.


Round 4 Entry List as of Thursday, May 25, 2000 The Barber Dodge Pro Series Race at The Dodge Dealers Grand Prix Lime Rock Park, Lime Rock, Connecticut

May 29, 2000

Car# Driver/Hometown Sponsor(s) Color

4 Brent Sherman/ North Barrington, Ill. Dk. Blue

5 Sepp Koster/Heemskerk, The Netherlands Blue Bay Curacao Golf Resort; Stora-Drain; Uitert; IR Productions; Respons Black/Silver

7 Jamie Menninga/Pella, Iowa Event Marketing Enterprises, Inc.; Lee's Grinding White

8 Peter Boss/Narragansett, R.I. ITIS, Inc.;; Cross Pens; Lacoste Clothing; gadzoox; Hitachi Blue/Silver/Red

9 Roger Yasukawa/Santa Monica, Calif. "99 BDPS Co-Rookie of the Year"; Tokyo Ueno Clinic; Kenwood Black

11 Thed Björk/Vretstorp, Sweden Corechange; Maskinflishing; Tenab; Ebcon; Etab Data; Svensk ; Nolato Blue

17 Matt Plumb/Unionville, Penn. CAM 2; Arnette; Mid-Atlantic Trading;; Bowlmore Lanes Red/White

19 Sara Senske/Kennewick, Washington Lynx Racing; Team Simpson Black/Aqua

20 Alexandre Sperafico/Toledo Parana(,Brazil Iveco Fiat; Sperafico Group White/Green

21 Jon Vannini/Hillsborough, California Copart, Inc; Conservation Partners Silver

22 Jay Ricci/Grosse Pointe, Michigan J.D. Byrider; on-time; C.N.A.C.; Miss Tradewinds Blue/Orange

23 Marc Breuers/Gladwyne, Penn. The Guard House; Penn Hospital; Dr. Detail White/Red

25 Kip Gulseth/Manitowoc, Wisc. Gulseth Construction; Total Control Racing; Racing For Kids Dk. Blue

27 Charles Putt/London, England The Taxi Marketing Co. Blue

28 Andre Nicastro/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Coppertone White/Teal/Blue

31 Ryan Hunter-Reay/Boca Raton, Fla. "Big Scholarship Winner";; Simpson Red/Blue/Yellow

33 Milka Duno/Caracas, Venezuela MRW; MLP Productions; Pits 39 Blue/Silver

36 Nilton Rossoni/Curitiba, Brazil Foster Group; Humm!; Fox; Oil Extreme Blue/White

44 Sam Hancock/London, England Loop; Eurasia Motorsport Mgt.; Matthew Clark Wholesale; Walton Meats Silver

52 Jon Fogarty/Portola Valley, Calif. Three Arch Partners; Thomas Fogarty Winery & Vineyards Copper/Grey

53 Tom Fogarty/Copco Lake, Calif Copart Inc.; XYZ Clothing; ITAC; E-Racing Blue/Yellow

62 Andy Lally/Northport, N.Y. Oberto Beef Jerky White/Black

82 Jonathan Macri/Gormley, Ontario, Canada Mopal Construction Ltd.; Cobra Power Inc.; Con Lawn White/Blue/Red

95 Michael Valiante/Vancouver, B.C.,Canada "99 BDPS Co-Rookie of the Year"; Sguerzoni; Italian Motors; Oil Extreme Red

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Barber Pro
Drivers Milka Duno , Peter Boss , Kenny Brack , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Jonathan Macri , Rocky Moran Jr. , Townsend Bell , Jay Ricci , Andy Lally , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Brent Sherman , Tom Fogarty , Marc Breuers , Roger Yasukawa , Jon Vannini , Nilton Rossoni , Thed Björk , Sepp Koster , Matt Plumb , Sam Hancock