Barber Dodge Pro Series Round 1 Preview

Barber Dodge Pro Series Fact Sheet <pre> WHAT: Round 1 of 12 -2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series WHEN: Sat., Mar.18; RACE START 8:35 a.m. 40 minute race. Fri., Mar.17; FINAL QUALIFYING 8:30-9:00 a.m. WHERE: Sebring ...

Barber Dodge Pro Series Fact Sheet

<pre> WHAT: Round 1 of 12 -2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series

WHEN: Sat., Mar.18; RACE START 8:35 a.m. 40 minute race.

Fri., Mar.17; FINAL QUALIFYING 8:30-9:00 a.m.

WHERE: Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, Fla. Supporting the Exxon Superflo 12 Hours of Sebring

WHO: Twenty-nine different drivers from seven different countries competing in identically prepared Barber Dodge Reynard 98E carbon fiber open-wheel race cars powered by 3.5-liter Dodge V6 engines and riding on Michelin Pilot SX racing slick tires.

</pre> Round One Of the Barber Dodge Pro Series Kicks Off at Sebring International Raceway

(SEBRING, Fla.) Mar. 14, 2000 -The Barber Dodge Pro Series kicks off its 15th season on March 18 at Sebring International Raceway in support of the Exxon Superflo12 Hours of Sebring. 2000 promises to be one of the best seasons ever for the Barber Dodge Pro Series which will be making at least eight stops in conjunction with the CART FedEx Series. The series will also venture north of the border for the first time, making a stop in Vancouver, Canada.

The field is young and hungry. With last year's top-three in points moving on, Nilton Rossoni and Jon Fogarty are the only race winners returning for 2000. But with 1999 Rookies of the Year Michael Valiante and Roger Yasukawa, 1999 "Big Scholarship" winner and Formula Dodge National Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay as well as Jaime Menninga and Peter Boss, top-10 finishers in '99 slated to drive, the competition may be closer than ever. The Barber Dodge Pro Series will also have three women drivers competing for a full season. Sara Senske and Milka Duno drove in the 1999 Women's Global GT Series and are making the switch to single-seaters for 2000, and Rhonda Trammell who has had previous outings in the Barber Dodge Pro Series is switching from the CART FedEx Series pace-car team to run all out in the Pro Series.

New to the Barber Dodge Pro Series in 2000 are several young rookies who all come the North America with extensive international racing experience. Among them are Sam Hancock from England who has previously raced in the Formula Palmer Audi series, Andre Nicastro from Brazil who has driven Formula Three in Italy, and Thed Bjork, a protégé of Indy 500 winner and current Champ Car driver Kenny Brack who was Barber Pro Series Champion in 1993. Bjork also has some F3 experience under his belt.

All 12 rounds of the 2000 Barber Dodge Pro Series will again be televised on espn2 as well as ESPN International. New for this year, you will be able to follow the Barber Dodge Pro Series even closer than ever before on the new and exciting set to be launched this March.

<pre> Round 1, The Season Opener Entry List as of Thursday, March 14, 2000 The Barber Dodge Pro Series Race at The 12 Hours of Sebring, Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, Florida

March 18, 2000

Car# Driver/Hometown Sponsor(s) Color

4 Brent Sherman/ North Barrington, Ill.

Dk. Blue

5 Sepp Koster/Heemskerk, The Netherlands Blue Bay Curacao Golf Resort; Stora-Drain; Uitert; IR Productions; Respons Black/Silver

7 Jamie Menninga/Pella, Iowa Event Marketing Enterprises, Inc.; Lee's Grinding White

8 Peter Boss/Narragansett, R.I. ITIS, Inc.;; Cross Pens; Lacoste Clothing; gadzoox; Hitachi Blue/Silver/Red

9 Roger Yasukawa/Santa Monica, Calif. "99 Barber Dodge Pro Series Co-Rookie of the Year";Tokyo Ueno Clinic; Kenwood Black

11 Thed Björk/Vretstorp, Sweden Corechange; Maskinflishing; Tenab; Ebcon; Etab Data; Svensk ; Nolato Blue

12 Keith Dusko/Red Bank, New Jersey DSO Sunglasses Dk. Blue

17 Matt Plumb/Unionville, Penn. CAM 2; Arnette; Mid-Atlantic Trading;; Bowlmore Lanes Red

19 Sara Senske/Kennewick, Washington Lynx Racing; Team Simpson Black/Aqua

20 Alexandre Sperafico/Toledo Parana(,Brazil Iveco Fiat; Sperafico Group White/Green

21 Jon Vannini/Hillsborough, California Copart, Inc. Silver

22 Jay Ricci/Grosse Pointe, Michigan J.D. Byrider; on-time; C.N.A.C.; Miss Tradewinds Blue/Orange

23 Marc Breuers/Gladwyne, Penn. The Guard House Inn; From Racing to the Road White/Red

25 Kip Gulseth/Manitowoc, Wisc. Gulseth Construction; Total Control Racing; Racing For Kids Dk. Blue

26 Rhonda Trammell/Pittsboro, Ind. Klein Tools White

27 Charles Putt/London, England The Taxi Marketing Co. White

28 Andre Nicastro/Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Coppertone White/Teal/Blue

31 Ryan Hunter-Reay/Boca Raton, Fla. "2000 Big Scholarship Winner"; Simpson Red/Blue/Yellow

33 Milka Duno/Caracas, Venezuela MRW; MLP Productions; Pits 39 Blue/Silver

36 Nilton Rossoni/Curitiba, Brazil Foster Group; Humm!; Fox Blue/White

44 Sam Hancock/London, England Loop; Eurasia Motorsport Mgt.; Matthew Clark Wholesale; Walton Meats Silver

52 Jon Fogarty/Portola Valley, Calif. Three Arch Partners; Thomas Fogarty Winery & Vineyards Copper/Grey

53 Tom Fogarty/Copco Lake, Calif Copart Inc.; XYZ Clothing; Fogarty Bros. Blue/Yellow

63 Craig Duerson/St. Petersburg, Fla. Tampa Bay Endodontics White/Teal/Purple

66 Ryan Vella/Nobleton, Ontario, Canada Strada Harbour Aggregates; United Independent Operators; Wirsbo Black

77 Scott Mayer/Franklin, Wis. Vision Group International; QPS Staffing Service Blue

82 Jonathon Macri/Gormley, Ontario, Canada Mopal Construction Ltd.; Cobra Power Inc.; Con Lawn White/Blue/Red

95 Michael Valiante/Vancouver, B.C.,Canada "99 Barber Dodge Pro Series Co-Rookie of the Year"; Italian Motors Red

Tentative. Vanderlan Jr./Goiania, Brazil Saucha & Schafer Trading Co. Yellow

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Barber Pro
Drivers Milka Duno , Peter Boss , Kenny Brack , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Jay Ricci , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Brent Sherman , Tom Fogarty , Marc Breuers , Roger Yasukawa , Jon Vannini , Nilton Rossoni , Thed Björk , Sepp Koster , Rhonda Trammell , Scott Mayer , Craig Duerson , Ryan Vella , Matt Plumb , Sam Hancock