Road Racing Drivers Club PRI show news 2009-11-09

SLATE OF SPEAKERS FOR RRDC/FIA YOUNG DRIVERS SYMPOSIUM ANNOUNCED Registration for event available on HILLIARD, Ohio (Nov. 9, 2009) - The Road Racing Drivers Club (RRDC) announced today its slate of industry experts who will speak at...

Registration for event available on

HILLIARD, Ohio (Nov. 9, 2009) - The Road Racing Drivers Club (RRDC) announced today its slate of industry experts who will speak at the RRDC/FIA Young Drivers Symposium at the 22nd annual Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 11.

The goal of this first of a series of free RRDC/FIA workshops, supported by a grant from the FIA Motor Sport Safety Development Fund, is to help young drivers raise their awareness of safety by teaching them to effectively manage their racing vehicles and themselves in all aspects of their careers.

The workshop is open to drivers from all motorsports disciplines and participants may register for the symposium on .

Leading the "class" as moderator will be Indy 500 winner, Rahal Letterman Racing principal and president of the RRDC, Bobby Rahal. He will be joined by other RRDC members (to be announced later) and the following panel of experts (full bios of each industry expert are attached):

Townsend Bell, Sponsorship Coaching, Beverly Hills, Calif. - SPONSORSHIP/BRANDING

The 2001 Indy Lights champion and fourth-place finisher in this year's Indy 500 has raised over $10 million in motorsports sponsorship. His proven track record includes sponsor relationships with companies such as Rock and Republic, Toshiba, Toyota, Maxim, Herbalife and Intel. He has used his talents and experience to help young drivers maximize their personal sponsorship portfolios.

Jacques Dallaire, Ph.D., Founder and President, Performance Prime, Concord, N.C. - MENTAL PREPARATION

For over 30 years, Dr. Dallaire has helped thousands to improve their mental skills and achieve their performance goals. More than 650 racers from 40 countries - including Helio Castroneves and Ron Fellows - have benefited from Dr. Dallaire's Performance Enhancement process that helps to develop a broad set of mental skills to perform in challenging situations and underlies championship performance.

Jim Leo, C.S.C.S., President, PitFit Training, Inc., Indianapolis - PHYSICAL FITNESS

Leo is renowned as one of auto racing's premier fitness trainers. With a client list that includes Scott Dixon, Kasey Kahne, Dario Franchitti, and rising stars such as J.R. Hildebrand, PitFit Training has grown into a worldwide operation. In 1993 Leo designed a training program and cutting-edge fitness center for Penske Racing. He founded PitFit Training in 1997, offering driver training, pit crew performance training and sports nutrition programs.

Stephen Olvey, M.D., Associate Professor/Vice Chairman for Clinical Affairs Department of Neurological Surgery, University of Miami School of Medicine - SAFETY

Dr. Olvey has been a pioneer in improving driver safety and safety measures for over 30 years. He was Director of Medical Affairs for IndyCar/CART (Championship Auto Racing Teams) and also served as the Medical Director for USAC (United States Auto Club). For over a decade, Dr. Olvey has been co-director (alongside Emerson Fittipaldi) of the International Motorsports and Vehicular Injury Research Center (IMVIRC). He is a Founding Fellow of the FIA Institute for Motorsports Safety and former Chairman and Founding Member of the International Council of Motorsports Sciences (ICMS). He is an author of numerous medical publications.

Michael Zimicki, President, Sliderule Motorsport Inc., Bondville, Vt. - INTEGRATED DRIVING

Zimicki has been providing the tools for success on and off the race track to young drivers for over 25 years. An accomplished racer in his own right, claiming the 1981 Skip Barber Formula Ford championship and serving as both a lead instructor and head test driver at the Skip Barber Racing School for over a decade, he founded Sliderule Motorsport in 1991. Combining driver coaching, data analysis and engineering to maximize a driver's and team's success, his roster of proteges has included Graham Rahal, Danica Patrick, Jon Fogarty, Ryan Hunter-Reay and 2009 Cooper Tires Atlantic Series champion John Edwards.

"I am thrilled with our lineup of speakers who will lend their expertise to our first symposium," said Rahal. "Our objective is to assist young drivers in their growth in racing to reach the levels they aspire. The education and expertise we will provide covers a broad range because racing is not just about driving the car. We are confident that the lessons we provide can be put to good effect."

The free symposium is scheduled for Friday, Dec. 11, 8:30 a.m.-noon, in Meeting Room S 330 E and F (third level), at the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla. The PRI Trade Show age restriction of 18 years has been waived for The RRDC/FIA Young Drivers Symposium, and each participant will receive a PRI show credential. However, registration is required and space is limited. Participants are asked to register early at . Any questions may be directed to . All course material will be provided free of charge.

Two additional symposiums are planned: in April, in conjunction with the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, and in May, around the Indianapolis 500.

The Road Racing Drivers Club was formed in 1952 as a way to give champion drivers a say in their sport, particularly in the areas of safety, and has evolved to serve the future of road racing by mentoring new drivers on both amateur and professional levels. The Club now has more than 150 active members, including leading industry professionals, race officials and motorsports journalists, in addition to prominent racing names.

President Bobby Rahal is the 1986 Indy 500 winner and is co-owner, with David Letterman, of the 2004 Indianapolis 500 winning Rahal Letterman Racing team. Six-time SCCA National Champion John Fergus is the Club's Vice President/Treasurer, and five-time Formula Super Vee champion Tom Davey is the Secretary. In addition to RRDC members lending their expertise to up-and-coming drivers, the Club presents three annual awards: the Phil Hill Award for rendering outstanding service to road racing; the Mark Donohue Award for personal spirit and performance at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs; and the Bob Akin Award for speed with style, passion, sportsmanship and contribution to motorsports.

The RRDC also supports the Team USA Scholarship, which has been assisting young Americans in the early stages of their careers since 1990.

Membership in the RRDC is by invitation only.

-credit: rrdc

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Automotive
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Bobby Rahal , Scott Dixon , Jon Fogarty , Ron Fellows , Graham Rahal , Phil Hill , Townsend Bell , Kasey Kahne , Ryan Hunter-Reay , John Fergus , Emerson Fittipaldi , Skip Barber , Bob Akin , J.R. Hildebrand , John Edwards , Mark Donohue , Danica Patrick
Teams Team Penske