AARWBA 2006 All-America Team nominations

BALLOTS ARE OUT FOR 2006 AUTO RACING ALL-AMERICA TEAM BURBANK, Calif. - Voting has begun among more than 300 members of the motorsports press to select the 2006 Auto Racing All-America team. The annual vote is conducted among the membership...


BURBANK, Calif. - Voting has begun among more than 300 members of the motorsports press to select the 2006 Auto Racing All-America team.

The annual vote is conducted among the membership of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association. Two nominees from each of seven categories will be named to the first team, to be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 13 in Indianapolis. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award honors the team's top driver -- the one earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category.

Among those on the ballot is former Jerry Titus Award John Force (1996, 1999, 2000, 2002) who has been voted first team 13 times, plus two others who are among the top-10 with the most All-America first-team honors -- Tony Stewart (eight times) and Scott Pruett (seven times). Also on the ballot seeking selection in one of seven categories -- Open Wheel, Stock Car, Road Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track, Touring Series and At Large -- are 19 drivers who could be making their first-ever All-American appearance.

The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote. AARWBA members have annually chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970.

The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.

The drivers listed below are on the 2006 All-America ballot. In endurance road racing, teammates sharing the same car are nominated as a single entity. Numbers in parentheses indicate previous times elected to first team/second team/honorable mention; *** indicates first time on ballot.


A.J. Allmendinger (1/0/0) - Third in Champ Car, five wins

Sebastien Bourdais (2/0/1) - Champ Car champion, seven wins

Helio Castroneves (0/2/0) - Third in IndyCar, four wins

Sam Hornish (2/1/1) - IndyCar champion, four wins including Indy 500

Dan Wheldon (1/1/0) - Second in IndyCar, two wins, also won Rolex 24 at Daytona

Justin Wilson (***) - Second in Champ Car, one win


Denny Hamlin (***) - Nextel Cup Rookie of the Year, third in points, two wins; fourth in Busch points, two wins

Kevin Harvick (1/0/1) - Busch Series champion, nine wins; fourth in Nextel Cup, five wins

Jimmie Johnson (2/1/1) - Nextel Cup champion, five wins including Daytona 500, Brickyard 400

Kasey Kahne (0/2/0) - Eighth in Nextel Cup, six wins (most in the series), two Busch wins

Matt Kenseth (1/0/1) - Second in Nextel Cup, four wins, three Busch wins

Tony Stewart (8/0/0) - Top non-Chase driver, five wins, one Busch win, IROC champion with two wins


Max Angelelli (1/0/0) - Third place Grand-Am Daytona Prototypes, one win

Olivier Beretta/Oliver Gavin (0/3/0 - 0/1/0) - ALMS GT1 champions, four wins, Le Mans class winner

Jorg Bergmeister (1/0/0) - Grand-Am Daytona Prototype champion, three wins; ALMS GT2 champion three wins

Colin Braun (***) - fourth place Grand-Am Daytona Prototypes, two wins (missed three races)

Rinaldo Capello/Allan McNish (*** - 1/0/0) - ALMS P1 champions, record eight wins

Scott Pruett/Luis Diaz (7/1/1 - 1/0/0) - Second in Grand-Am Daytona Prototypes, five wins


John Force (13/1/0) - NHRA Funny Car champion for record 14th time, three wins

Robert Hight (***) - Second in NHRA Funny Car, three wins

Doug Kalitta (0/1/1) - Second in NHRA Top Fuel, five wins

Jason Line (***) - NHRA Pro Stock champion, four wins

Clay Millican (0/2/3) - IHRA Top Fuel champ (sixth straight), four wins

Tony Schumacher (3/0/0) - NHRA Top Fuel champion (third straight), five wins


Jerry Coons Jr. (***) - Points leader, USAC National Midgets, three wins (one race left), two USAC Sprint wins

Bud Kaeding (***) - USAC Silver Crown champion, three wins, one USAC Sprint win

Danny Lasoski (1/2/0) - National Sprint Tour champion, 10 wins, two World of Outlaws wins

Tim McCreadie (***) - World of Outlaws late Models champion, two wins, also won Chili Bowl midget race

Donny Schatz (***) - World of Outlaws champion, 17 wins, also won Knoxville Nationals

Josh Wise (0/1/0) - USAC Sprint Car champion, 4 wins; second place USAC Midgets, two wins, sixth USAC Silver Crown, one win


Todd Bodine (***) - NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion, three wins

Benny Gordon (***) - USAR Northern Champion, five wins; second in championship series, 1 win

Eric Holmes (***) - NASCAR AutoZone West champion, 1 win; second (by 1 point) in NASCAR Southwest, 3 wins

Frank Kimmel (2/1/4) - Won eighth ARCA championship (seven in a row), four wins

Mike Olsen (***) - NASCAR Busch East Series champion, 2 wins

Clay Rogers (***) - USAR Hooters Pro Cup champion, 3 wins; USAR Southern champion, 3 wins


Troy Herbst (0/1/0) - SCORE Desert Series overall and Class 1 champion, four wins

J.R. Hildebrand (***) - Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 champion, 12 wins

Andy Lally/Marc Bunting (*** - ***) Grand-Am Rolex Series GT champions, 5 wins

Frank Manzo (1/1/1) - NHRA Top Alcohol Funny Car champion (his 10th), 6 wins; NHRA Div. 1 TAFC champion, 4 wins

Travis Pastrana (***) - Rally America champion, 2 wins; also won X Games Rally, one U.S. Rally Championship win

Carl Renezeder (0/0/1) - Champion CORR Pro 2, runner-up CORR Pro 4, 10 wins

-credit: aarwba

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Automotive
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Tony Stewart , Todd Bodine , Clay Millican , John Force , Tony Schumacher , Doug Kalitta , Justin Wilson , Rinaldo Capello , Allan McNish , Kevin Harvick , Clay Rogers , Helio Castroneves , Scott Pruett , Colin Braun , Jimmie Johnson , Frank Kimmel , Luis Diaz , Dan Wheldon , Andy Lally , Oliver Gavin , Jörg Bergmeister , Danny Lasoski , Kasey Kahne , Sébastien Bourdais , Travis Pastrana , Donny Schatz , Max Angelelli , Frank Manzo , A.J. Allmendinger , Bud Kaeding , Marc Bunting , Olivier Beretta , Eric Holmes , Jason Line , Josh Wise , Denny Hamlin , Robert Hight , J.R. Hildebrand , Tim McCreadie , Sam Hornish Jr. , Troy Herbst , Jerry Coons Jr.