Laguna Seca: Dorricott Racing preview

Dorricott Racing returns to its "home track" at the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Toyota Atlantic MONTEREY, Calif. (June 13, 2003) - Dorricott Racing is looking to "kick start" its season and returning to its home track at the ...

Dorricott Racing returns to its "home track" at the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for Toyota Atlantic

MONTEREY, Calif. (June 13, 2003) - Dorricott Racing is looking to "kick start" its season and returning to its home track at the Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca for round four of 12-race Toyota Atlantic Championship this Saturday, June 14, may be what the proverbial doctor ordered..

The 30 lap/67.140 mile Atlantic sprint around the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course will be the 27th running of an Atlantic race at Laguna Seca since 1976. The green flag is scheduled to drop at 4:00 p.m. (PT). It is the featured support race for the CART Championship Grand Prix of Monterey Champ Car race on Sunday.

Dorricott Racing's premise for Laguna Seca is simple. Its driver duo of Luis Diaz and Kyle Krisiloff are eighth and ninth place with 23 and 20 points, respectively. The weekend's objective is to begin another championship drive that has similarly led Dorricott Racing to three racing series championships in the last four years. This includes being the defending Toyota Atlantic champions.

The addition of Kyle Krisiloff, of Carmel, Ind., to Dorricott Racing has delivered immediate dividends. Krisiloff, who debuted with Dorricott Racing at Milwaukee in the US Grand Prix F1 Swift 014.a, finished an uncontested second place at The Milwaukee Mile. Krisiloff started fourth but improved to second place within four laps of the 70-lap race start. He was always an "eye wink" away from winning the race but crossed the finish line a mere 0.399-seconds behind Scottish driver Ryan Dalziel. It was Krisiloff's career-best Atlantic finish and significantly higher than his previous Atlantic best of ninth at Long Beach in April when he drove for Cameron Motorsports.

The 17-year-old Indiana resident made his Atlantic debut at Toronto last season and competed in the final six Atlantic races earning a season best finish of 13th place in the finale at Denver.

Diaz, of Mexico City, returns to Laguna Seca seeking better luck than he had last year or, for that matter, the first three races of this season. Last year, Diaz finished 15th place after suffering multiple contacts with others cars through no fault of his. His final incident occurred on lap 21 when he was struck by Eduardo Figueroa.

The 2003 season hasn't been kind to Diaz yet. He opened at Monterrey, Mexico, with a pole position (his third career $1000 Toyota "Pole Award") but as he crossed the Start-Finish line at the race start he was struck from behind by rookie A.J. Allmendinger. Allmendinger was attempting to quickly improve his post-green flag position by sweeping right-to-left from his third place grid position behind Diaz. Unfortunately, Allmendinger's nose cone struck Diaz's right rear tire in the process. The contact punctured the tire and forced Diaz to return to pit lane.

Diaz dropped from first place to 15th during the pit but then passed four cars in the next 27 laps and claimed the race's fastest lap on Lap 27. He then bettered that time on Lap 30. Diaz was the only driver in the field who had descending lap times as the race progressed. If one excludes time lost during the pit stop, Diaz clearly ran the fastest overall race.

Diaz was victimized again in round two at Long Beach. After starting fourth, Diaz's ambitions were laid aside on lap seven of the 32-lap race when Marc DeVellis rear-ended his Sierra Sierra Racing teammate, Ryan Dalziel. Both were forced to retire from the race but that didn't help Diaz, who struck DeVellis from behind in a nose-to-gearbox collision while exiting a blind corner. Diaz dropped to 12th before mounting another aggressive to finish sixth place.

Milwaukee was equally unkind and unfair when Diaz was sidelined midway in the race with a "blown motor." To add insult to injury, Diaz's was running the third fastest lap times of any car on the track.

The 2003 Toyota Atlantic Championship is the 14th year that Dorricott Racing has fielded an open-wheel racing team. It has evolved into one of motorsports most successful organizations and proudly holds series' championships in three of the past four years. Besides claiming runner-up honors in the 2000 Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Dorricott Racing won the 1999 and 2001 Dayton Indy Lights Championship and the 2002 Toyota Atlantic Championship. Detailed race results, team, and sponsor information are available on Dorricott Racing's official web site,

Dorricott Racing alumni have succeeded worldwide in open-wheel racing and other highly regarded motorsports series. Former drivers include current CART Champ Car star Oriol Servia (Patrick Racing), Casey Mears (NASCAR Winston Cup), Townsend Bell (F3000), Jason Bright (Australian V8 Supercar), Robbie Buhl (IRL), 2002 Toyota Atlantic Champion Jon Fogarty, Luiz Garcia Jr., Shigeaki Hattori, Sports Car standout Philipp Peter, Damien Faulkner, Alex Gurney, Bob Dorricott Jr., and IRL driver and former Motocross champion Jeff Ward.

Speed Channel will provide a delayed telecast of the Toyota Atlantic Championship at Laguna Seca on Monday, June 16, 1:00 p.m. ET (10:00 a.m. PT). Encore telecasts are scheduled for Saturday, June 21, at 8:00 p.m. ET (5:00 p.m. PT) and Sunday, June 22, at 1:00 a.m. ET (10:00 p.m. PT).


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Atlantic
Drivers Alex Gurney , Ryan Dalziel , Casey Mears , Robbie Buhl , Shigeaki Hattori , Jeff Ward , Oriol Servia , Jon Fogarty , Townsend Bell , Kyle Krisiloff , Luis Diaz , Damien Faulkner , A.J. Allmendinger , Eduardo Figueroa , Jason Bright , Philipp Peter , Luiz Garcia