Houston GP final qualifying report

Originally-From: Nicole Lascelle <mcracing@videotron.ca> HOUSTON, Tx., September 29, 2000 -- Canadians Andrew Bordin (PPI Motorsports/WorldCom/Team Player's/Swift 008.a) and David Rutledge (Lynx Racing/Swift 008.a) will line up on the...

Originally-From: Nicole Lascelle <mcracing@videotron.ca>

HOUSTON, Tx., September 29, 2000 -- Canadians Andrew Bordin (PPI Motorsports/WorldCom/Team Player's/Swift 008.a) and David Rutledge (Lynx Racing/Swift 008.a) will line up on the front row for Sunday's CART Toyota Atlantic Championship finale on the 1.527 mile temporary street course in Houston, Texas.

Bordin, who recorded a 1:06.491 (82.676 mph) set the fastest time of the day and marked a new qualifying record for this circuit, bettering the 1:07:038 (82.001 mph) set by Buddy Rice (DSTP Motorsports/Swift 008.a) here on Friday. Rutledge was right behind Bordin, posting a 1:06.539 (82.616 mph). Rice will start third after marking a 1:06.586 (82.558 mph).

Bordin last qualified on pole at the Molson Indy in Toronto this past July, and went on to win the event after exchanging leads with Buddy Rice for several laps.

"The car is great," said Bordin who retired 10 minutes into the session after hitting the tire wall in Turn 5. "I got on my brakes a little hard and they were really hot, and I lost it. To have achieved the pole that early in the session was pretty good. I am especially pleased since it is our last race. This is it for PPI's Atlantic program, so I would like to do very well for Cal Wells (team owner), Nick (Harvey -- team manager), for Kyle (Brannan -- engineer) and for Michael (Harvey -- crew chief) and the guys on the team. They have all dedicated so much to this program and to Dan and I. We really owe them only the best."

This is Rutledge's second front row start this season. His other appearance was in Montreal in June, where he earned his first career Atlantic pole and victory on the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

"The Lynx team gave me an even better car today than yesterday," said Rutledge, "and yesterday's was really good. We made a few changes that really gripped up the car, but with the red flags at the end of the session, we didn't get a chance to explore what the car could do. We have a really good car for the race, and I won the last time I was on the front row at Montreal. We want to end the season on a high note and we've got the car and the team to do it."

Two other drivers also set times quicker that the track record established Friday. Rookies Martin Basso (Michael Shank Racing/3b Engine Valve/Swift 008.a) and Daniel Wheldon (PPI Motorsports/Jayhard Products/Swift 008.a) , who are both vying for Rookie of the Year honors, will start fourth and fifth, after recording 1:06.645 (82.485 mph) and 1:06.779 (82.319 mph) respectively. Wheldon leads Basso by 18 points going into Sunday's Round 12.

"The session was real exciting," remarked Basso. "In the beginning of the session I made a lot of mistakes and spun after the long straight. I hit the wall with the right tires and after that the car was no good. The car was better than in the morning, but we still need to make some improvements because the car is losing too much in the first corner."

Sunday's 43 lap Toyota Atlantic race is schedule to start at 9:40 a.m. local time. ESPN2 will televise the race on Sunday, October 8 at 7:00 p.m. eastern with a repeat broadcast on Tuesday, October 10 at 5:00 a.m. Viewers in Canada can watch the race on CTV Sportsnet on Monday, October 9 at 7:00 p.m. in all regions.

[TX] The starting lineup for Sunday's 64.987 mile CART Toyota Atlantic Championship race number 12, at Houston, with starting position, driver and fast lap with speed.

1. Andrew Bordin, 1:06.491, 82.676 2. David Rutledge, 1:06.539, 82.616 3. Buddy Rice, 1:06.586, 82.558 4. Martin Basso (R), 1:06.645, 82.485 5. Daniel Wheldon (R), 1:06.779, 82.319 6. Alex Gurney, 1:07.216, 81.784 7. Hoover Orsi (R), 1:07.466, 81.481 8. T.J. Bell (R), 1:07.534, 81.399 9. Bob Perona, 1:07.574, 81.351 10. Mike Conte,1:07.612, 81.305 11. Rocky Moran Jr., 1:07.671, 81.234 12. Frederic Gosparini (R), 1:07.917, 80.940 13. Akihiro Asai (R), 1:08.001, 80.840 14. William Langhorne, 1:08.302, 80.484 15. Masaoki Nagashima, 1:08.663, 80.061 16. Andy Lally (R), 1:08.899, 79.786 17. Stephan C. Roy (R), 1:09.378, 79.235 18. Eric Jensen, 1:09.403, 79.207 19. Christophe Beauvais, 1:09.957, 78.580 20. David Cutler, 1:10.331, 78.162

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Atlantic
Drivers Alex Gurney , Martin Basso , Hoover Orsi , David Rutledge , Stephan C. Roy , Christophe Beauvais , T.J. Bell , Rocky Moran Jr. , Andy Lally , Gilles Villeneuve , David Cutler , Buddy Rice , Eric Jensen , Andrew Bordin , Masaoki Nagashima , Akihiro Asai , Michael Shank
Teams Michael Shank Racing