BUSCH: IRL: CHAMPCAR/CART: F2000 Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

FAIRFIELD, N.J. (February 11, 2000)—The U.S. F2000 National Championship presented by Speedvision has announced the nominees for the U.S. F2000 Hall of Fame Class of 2000. Established in 1999, the Hall of Fame recognizes the ...

FAIRFIELD, N.J. (February 11, 2000)—The U.S. F2000 National Championship presented by Speedvision has announced the nominees for the U.S. F2000 Hall of Fame Class of 2000. Established in 1999, the Hall of Fame recognizes the accomplishments of F2000 graduates in the motorsports industry. Hall of Fame nominees are selected by series organizers, and can include drivers, team or staff members. The list of nominees is voted on by a panel including staff, competitors, sanctioning body presidents, media representatives and previous inductees. Nominees receiving more than 50 percent of the votes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The nominees for the 2000 class include Alex Barron, Mike Borkowski, Steve Challis, Memo Gidley, Robby McGehee, Sam Schmidt and Jeret Schroeder. After finishing seventh in the 1996 U.S.F2000 National Championship, Barron graduated to the CART Toyota Atlantic Championship. In his rookie year, he scored five wins, four poles and nine podiums to take the title. In 1998, Barron made his FedEx Championship Series debut with Dan Gurney's All American Racing team, finishing 27th in the standings. Last year, Barron ran a limited FedEx Championship Series schedule with AAR and Penske Racing. The SCCA Pro Racing ACC Champion in 1994, Borkowski went from open-wheel cars to closed-wheel cars upon graduation. In 1997, Borkowski took the SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Rookie of the Year award, winning two races and breaking Tommy Kendall's record 11-straight win streak. The following year, Borkowski returned to open-wheel cars, competing in the Dayton Indy Lights Championship with Team Rahal, finishing 21st in the standings. That same year he finished third at the Rolex 24 at Daytona in GT1. This year, Borkowski plans a full NASCAR Busch Grand National season. Challis is the first non-driver nominee. An accomplished race engineer, Challis’ career has mirrored that of the late Greg Moore. With Moore as a driver, Challis captured the USAC FF2000 West Championship in 1992. In 1993, Challis accompanied Moore into Indy Lights, were the two would compete for three years, culminating with the Championship in 1995, winning a record 10 races, and setting the all-time record for career wins with 13. The past four years, Challis continued his association with Moore as his race engineer for the Player's Forsythe Racing team, winning five races. Runner-up and Rookie of the Year in the 1995 U.S. F2000 National Championship, Gidley has been a winner at various levels of racing. As a rookie in the CART Toyota Atlantic Championship, Gidley won twice in 1997. He followed that up the next year with three more wins and a third place finish in the championship. Last year, Gidley made his FedEx Championship series debut with the Walker Racing team, filling in for the injured Naoki Hattori. Gidley, performed beyond expectations scoring five top-15 finishes. Gidley has also driven sports cars with Panoz and the Johansson Racing Reynard. A two-time winner in the 1998 U.S. F2000 National Championship, McGehee made the jump from F2000 to the Northern Light Indy Racing League look easy. In his first year after competing in F2000, McGehee made his IRL debut at the 1999 Indy 500. Starting 27th, McGehee finished fifth and won the Bank One Rookie of the Year honors. McGehee finished the season with three more top-10 finishes, and finished second in the IRL Rookie of the Year standings. In 2000, McGehee has moved from Conti Racing to Treadway Racing. Schmidt paved the way for F2000 drivers to move up to the IRL. After finishing fourth in the 1996 U.S. F2000 National Championship, Schmidt became the first F2000 to make the jump to the IRL. In his first IRL season, Schmidt competed in six races, including the Indy 500, and captured a top-10 finish. In 1998, running a full IRL schedule, Schmidt captured three top-10 finishes, including a career- best second at Las Vegas. Last year marked his breakthrough year in the series, as Schmidt captured his first career pole and win en route to finishing fifth in the standings. Schroeder, the 1995 U.S. F2000 National Champion, has worked his way into a full 2000 IRL ride. In 1996, Schroeder competed in the CART Toyota Atlantic Championship, winning the Rising Star and Gilles Villeneuve awards. The following year, he made his IRL debut, competing in two races. In 1998, Schroeder began racing in various sports car races, including the prestigious Rolex 24 at Daytona, 12 Hours of Sebring and the Petit Le Mans. Last year, Schroeder made a return to open-wheel cars, and was fastest in the Indy 500 rookie orientation program, subsequently qualifing for the Indy 500. Schroeder signed with Tri-Star Motorsports for his 2000 IRL full rookie campaign. The U.S. F2000 Hall of Fame Class of 2000 will be announced after the series’ opening round at Phoenix International Raceway, March 19. The new class will join the inaugural class of Steve Knapp, Greg Moore and Greg Ray in the Hall. Enshrinees receive a beautiful award commemorating their place in U.S. F2000 history.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Atlantic , IndyCar , NASCAR XFINITY , Other open wheel , SCCA
Drivers Robby McGehee , Greg Ray , Memo Gidley , Jeret Schroeder , Alex Barron , Sam Schmidt , Dan Gurney , Steve Knapp , Greg Moore , Tommy Kendall
Teams Team Penske