Atlantic television package announced

TOYOTA ATLANTIC SERIES ANNOUNCES 2005 SPEED CHANNEL BROADCAST LINEUP INDIANAPOLIS (March 28, 2005) --SPEED Channel will once again broadcast all 12 Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama events this season, beginning with the...


INDIANAPOLIS (March 28, 2005) --SPEED Channel will once again broadcast all 12 Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama events this season, beginning with the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, which will be run April 8-10 on the streets of Long Beach. Toyota Atlantic officials today unveiled the full 2005 broadcast schedule.

Atlantics returns to SPEED Channel for the third consecutive season as North America's premier open-wheel development series continues to be showcased on television's top motorsports network. Mullin Production Group, based in Los Angeles and operated under the direction of John Mullin, also returns to the Atlantic broadcast team in 2005. This marks the 12th consecutive season that the Mullin Production Group will produce Toyota Atlantic race broadcasts.

"We're very proud of the Toyota Atlantic broadcast lineup for 2005," said Vicki O'Connor, Managing Director of the Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama. "With all 12 of our races aired on SPEED Channel, our drivers, teams and sponsors will experience tremendous exposure and race fans know the place to find the most comprehensive coverage of the Atlantic Championship is on SPEED. With the Mullin Group returning to provide high-quality production of our race broadcasts, we know the series will once again have one of the top television packages in all of motorsports."

All 12 of this season's Toyota Atlantic events will be aired on Saturdays on SPEED Channel. Typically, each event will be broadcast on tape-delay on the Saturday following the given race weekend. With a pair of doubleheader race weekends scheduled on the Atlantic calendar, SPEED will take that opportunity to air both races back-to-back, essentially creating a two-hour block of Atlantic action on separate summer Saturday afternoons (June 25 and July 9). Additional highlights on this season's Atlantic SPEED schedule include the season-opening Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, slated to air April 16 at 2 p.m. ET. The 2005 season finale at Montreal will feature a prime-time Saturday evening broadcast beginning at 9 p.m. ET on September 3. Toyota Atlantic Championship race re-broadcasts will also air on SPEED this season. The full 2005 Toyota Atlantic/SPEED Channel broadcast schedule is detailed below.

"SPEED Channel and the Mullin Production Group have done a tremendous job of bringing the exciting action and personalities of the Toyota Atlantic Championship to racing fans over the years," said Les Unger, Toyota national motorsports manager. "We're happy to be back with these trusted broadcast partners and we're looking forward to once again seeing some great Toyota Atlantic racing on SPEED in 2005."

Experienced series television announcers Greg Creamer, Jan Beekhuis, Rick DeBruhl and 1990 Toyota Atlantic -- Atlantic Division champion Brian Till will lead the SPEED Channel broadcast team this season.

"The hallmark of SPEED Channel has always been its commitment to the best motorsports coverage on television," said Rick Miner, SPEED Channel's Sr. VP Programming/Production and Executive Producer. "Having the competitive Toyota Atlantic Championship series back on SPEED in 2005 continues that tradition, as undoubtedly some of the most exciting open-wheel racing stars of tomorrow will come directly from this series."

In addition to the outstanding season-long coverage on SPEED Channel, all 2005 Atlantic events will also be aired once again on the American Forces Radio & Television Service (AFRTS). Through the ongoing relationship with AFRTS, Atlantic races will be seen by U.S. service men and women in 77 countries throughout the world.

The Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama continues to be the premier open-wheel development series in North America. The championship is noted for its long history of graduating its stars into Champ Car competition and has helped produce past Champ Car champions Paul Tracy, Jimmy Vasser, Bobby Rahal, Danny Sullivan, Michael Andretti and Jacques Villeneuve. Current Champ Car competitors Alex Tagliani, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Andrew Ranger are also established Toyota Atlantic graduates along with 2004 Champ Car Rookie of the Year A.J. Allmendinger. For more information on the Atlantic series, please visit


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Atlantic
Drivers Jacques Villeneuve , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Bobby Rahal , Alex Tagliani , Paul Tracy , Danny Sullivan , A.J. Allmendinger , Andrew Ranger
Tags TV