2004 post-season awards announced

Champion Fogarty, Pacific Coast Motorsports Highlight Toyota Atlantic Championship Post-Season Awards INDIANAPOLIS (September 17, 2004) -- Satisfaction and the feeling of a job well done weren't the only things that 2004 Toyota ...

Champion Fogarty, Pacific Coast Motorsports Highlight Toyota Atlantic Championship Post-Season Awards

INDIANAPOLIS (September 17, 2004) -- Satisfaction and the feeling of a job well done weren't the only things that 2004 Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama champion Jon Fogarty (#96 Pacific Coast Motorsports/Umbrella Entertainment) and his Pacific Coast Motorsports team were able to bring home from the season finale in Monterey, California last weekend.

Fogarty won his second Toyota Atlantic crown by capturing his sixth win of the season at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on Sunday (tape-delayed on SPEED Channel, Sunday, September 26 - 2 p.m. ET). The 29-year-old 2002 Atlantic title-winner, again earned the right to hoist the championship trophy and he was also presented the keys to a brand new Toyota passenger vehicle and well as several other special prizes for realizing his title dreams this season.

As the Toyota Atlantic and Champ Car community gathered on Sunday evening to celebrate the 31st season of Atlantic competition at the annual season-ending banquet, Fogarty certainly wasn't the only one honored for his accomplishments on and off the track in 2004. The best and brightest in the series were recognized at the Monterey Hyatt Regency as another truly memorable Toyota Atlantic season was brought to a fitting conclusion.

First-year Canadian sensation Andrew Ranger (#27 Tide/Charmin/Mr. Clean/Snugabye) of Sierra Sierra Enterprises was presented the $10,000 BG Products Rookie of the Year award after producing six podium finishes in 12 starts this season.

The driver that battled Fogarty for the Atlantic crown every step of the way before finishing second in the championship, Ryan Dalziel (#28 ProWorks), also of Sierra Sierra Enterprises, was presented with a prestigious award of his own at the season-ending celebration. Dalziel won the Gilles Villeneuve Award, presented annually to the driver who possesses extraordinary ability and star quality and who has distinguished themselves through sportsmanship, dedication and perseverance in the face of disappointment.

After producing his fifth podium result of the season by finishing second on Sunday, rookie Ronnie Bremer (#4 PaySystems) of Denmark was presented the BBS of America Rising Star award, which recognizes the talent that Bremer showed on track this season and acknowledges him as one of the future stars of open-wheel racing.

The Michael Rosen trophy, named in honor of the former Atlantic competitor, was presented to third-year driver Alex Figge (#69 Pacific Coast Motorsports/Umbrella Entertainment) for showing dedication, perseverance and the desire to succeed this season.

Second-year driver Bryan Sellers (#19 Lynx Racing) finished sixth in the championship and he was honored with the Jovy Marcelo Sportsmanship Award. Marcelo, the former series champion from the Philippines, was a great friend to many drivers and a true sportsman. The award named in his honor is given annually to the driver who best exemplifies Marcelo's spirit.

Third-place championship finisher Danica Patrick (#24 Argent Mortgage Company) earned the Argent Mortgage Most Laps Completed Award as she was the only driver to finish all 417 laps of competition in her Argent-sponsored car for Rahal-Letterman Racing this season.

Toyota Atlantic series veteran Cam Binder (#65 Avmax/Western Avionics) returned to competition this year and Binder was recognized as the champion of the C2 class competitors in 2004 at Sunday's banquet.

Post-season awards were also presented to the top people behind the scenes who work so hard at their craft all year long in the Atlantic series. Jethro Austin of Sierra Sierra Enterprises earned the Lincoln Electric Company Mechanic of the Year award for his outstanding work on the #28 car driver by Dalziel this season.

The man who was the engineer on the title-winning car driven by Fogarty - Tim Lewis of Pacific Coast Motorsports - was presented with Engineer of the Year award.

One of the pioneers of shock technology in the Atlantic series, Polestar Racing Group team owner Jim Griffith, was honored as the recipient of the Ohlins USA Shock Technician of the Year.

For serving as the chief mechanic on the #96 championship-winning car for Pacific Coast Motorsports, Alex Roberge was presented with the Snap-On Top Wrench Award.

All of the team owners in the 2004 Toyota Atlantic Championship Presented by Yokohama were also lauded for their participation and support of the series as they all equally shared the Owner of the Year award.

The series also took a few moments to recognize the accomplishments of Lynx Racing and longtime team owners Peggy Haas and Jackie Doty. As the team completed its 14th and final season of Atlantic competition, those in attendance at Sunday's celebration gave Lynx a standing ovation in support of the team's stated goals of giving talented, young open-wheel racers an opportunity to shine and showcase their skills. The most successful team in the history of the Toyota Atlantic series, Lynx produced 33 wins and 23 pole positions under the direction of Haas and Doty since its inception in 1991.

For the latest news on the top open-wheel development series in North America, log on to www.toyotaatlantic.com.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Atlantic
Drivers Ryan Dalziel , Jon Fogarty , Gilles Villeneuve , Alex Figge , Ronnie Bremer , Bryan Sellers , Andrew Ranger , Tim Lewis , Danica Patrick